Easter Cup 2022

Saturday April 16, 2022

Ladbrokes Tip: Easter Saturday racing is highlighted by the Easter Cup at Caulfield in Melbourne each April

The Easter Cup is a Group 3 race held at Caulfield Racecourse each April on Easter Saturday.

Run over 2000m the unrestricted handicap event offers $200,000 in prize money and in 2022 runs on the same day as Sydney’s All Aged Stakes Day card at Royal Randwick.

First held back in 1909 it gained Group 3 status in 1980 and from 1949 – 1961 it was known as the Sandown Cup.

It has been contested over both 2000m and 2600m throughout its history but from 1957 onwards has held the current 2000m distance.

Because the Easter Cup date changes to accommodate its Easter Saturday position, the lead-up and next-up options for runners also change year-to-year.

Maldivian (2007), subsequently scratched at the gates as the favourite in that year’s Caulfield Cup, is the most notably Easter Cup winner throughout history going on to win a number of Group 1 races including the 2008 Cox Plate.

The latest edition of the Easter Cup ran on Saturday April 16, 2022 at Caulfield Racecourse and was won by the Michael Moroney-trained Milford ($8.50).

Easter Cup Race Info

  • Date: Saturday April 16, 2022
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Distance: 2000m
  • Conditions: Handicap
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1909

2022 Easter Cup Results

The 2022 Easter Cup results and finishing order will be known on Saturday April 16, 2022 and published below once the race is run and won.

  • 1st: #17e Milford ($8.50)
  • 2nd: #13 Holbien
  • 3rd: #11 Mandela Effect

Easter Cup Betting

Easter Cup betting markets are led by in-form autumn runners coming off similar grade races around Sydney or Melbourne. 

Runners with previous experience in Group 3 or higher company that campaign and those proven over the 2000m distance or further are usually found at shorter Easter Cup odds. 

Plein Ciel ($3.30 in 2019) and Inverloch ($4.20 in 2020) were the last favourites in Easter Cup betting to salute. 

2022 Easter Cup Odds

The Easter Cup 2022 betting odds will be listed below as soon as markets on the Easter Saturday Group 3 event are released.

Early market betting odds on the 2022 Easter Cup will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit ladbrokes.com.au.

Easter Cup Field

Horses in the Easter Cup field may come via a host of different lead-up races depending on when the event falls.

Easter Cup Winners - Plein Ciel | Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos | Ladbrokes

2019 Easter Cup winner Plein Ciel. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Should Easter Saturday run early in April, graduates out of the Easter Cup field may head to Sydney for a shot at an All Aged Stakes Day race like the Group 3 JRA Plate (2000m). In 2021 the Easter Cup winner Hang Man ran a next-up second in the JRA Plate at Randwick. 

Easter Cup nominations close on the Monday before the race with final acceptances taken on the Wednesday.

2022 Easter Cup Field

The official Easter Cup 2022 field is announced by the Melbourne Racing Club the Wednesday leading-up to the race and the full line-up will be announced below once released.

2022 Easter Cup Nominations

The early Easter Cup 2022 nominations close the Monday ahead of the event and will be made available below once released. 

Easter Cup Tips

Easter Cup tips including backing any proven Group 3 staying types from the local Melbourne stables and those with a previous victory over the 2000m distance or further. 

Backing the older horses has been profitable in recent years as from 2013 – 2021 all nine Easter Cup winners were six-years-old or above and all but the entire Jet Away (2013) were geldings. 

In 2022 Milford broke the run of older runners saluting as a four-year-old. 

Before Milford (2022), the last four-year-old Easter Cup winner was Folding Gear (2012). The last five-year-old to win was Paddy O’Reilly (2011) while punters have to look back to Adolescence (2001) to find the last three-year-old to salute. 

Like It Is (2008) and Miss Maren (2009) meanwhile are the only Easter Cup winning mares in the past 20 odd yeas, so backing the boys is another good tip. 

2022 Easter Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Easter Cup 2022 betting tips and exotic selections on the Easter Saturday racing event will be detailed below the week of the race so bookmark this page to see the horses to back and sack in your Melbourne Saturday racing tips.

  • To Win: TBD

Easter Cup Form Guide

The Easter Cup form guide is a must to look over before betting as it gives punters all the essential information like the jockeys, trainers and barriers of the gallopers in the field.

The Easter Cup form shows that six-year-old geldings have the best overall record in the race from the past 20 years, while Hang Man (14 in 2021) was the first winner to jump from a double-digit barrier since Bush Padre (10 in 2003). 

The Easter Cup form in 2021 was franked when the runner-up Persan went on to finish third in that year’s Caulfield Cup trifecta in the spring. 

2022 Easter Cup Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Easter Cup 2022 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Easter Cup Results

Notable recent Easter Cup winners include: Maldivian (2007), Our Voodoo Prince (2014) and Sertorius (2015). 

Easter Cup Winners

A list of Easter Cup winners and place-getters dating back to 1988 can be found below.

In 2021 Hang Man won the Easter Cup in a record time of 2:00.33. 

Year Winner Second Third Time
2022 Milford Holbien Mandela Effect 2:02.7
2021 Hang Man Persan Mahamedeis  2:00.3
2020 Inverloch Midterm Savacool 2:05.4
2019 Plein Ciel Furrion Morton’s Fork 2.02.3
2018 Shoreham Odeon Life Less Ordinary 2:01.7
2017 Observational Second Bullet Double Bluff 2:01.1
2016 Leebaz Guardini Observational 2:02.1
2015 Sertorius Escado Shoreham 2:01.4
2014 Our Voodoo Prince Akzar Stipulate 2:04.0
2013 Jet Away Folding Gear Whisper Downs 2:03.8
2012 Folding Gear Viking Hero Shewan 2:01.5
2011 Paddy O’Reilly Fanjura Launay 2:02.7
2010 Fanjura Light Vision Hissing Sid 2:02.0
2009 Miss Maren Raffaello Light Vision 2:03.9
2008 Like It Is Sand Sweeper Come Fly With Me 2:03.4
2007 Maldivian Douro Valley Spinney 2:02.8
2006 Casual Pass Rubijon Our Spur 2:02.2
2005 Show Barry Lord Erin Pretorius 2:00.4
2004 Tall Timbers Sweet Corn Domine 2:02.9
2003 Bush Padre Gunnamatta Lodger 2:03.3
2002 Thong Classic Adolescence Aquiver 2:01.0
2001 Adolescence Flushed Mr Prudent 2:00.9
2000 Litmus Lady Elsie Royal Caliph 2:03.0
1999 Il Don Royal Caliph Vonanne 2:01.8
1998 Vonanne Miss Tessla Sunny Lane 2:03.3
1997 True Identity Royal Line Bluestone 2:01.9
1996 Sober Suit Toil Cushman 2:04.4
1995 Regal Half Toil Bullwinkle 2:02.9
1994 Idea State Taj Sari Club 2:01.7
1993 Coolong Road Mamzelle Perdu Springhill Lad 2:01.6
1992 Mantlepiece London Bridge Mamzelle Perdu 2:13.0
1991 Ideal Centreman Mantlepiece Gamine 2:03.3
1990 Lord Palmeston Go Timmy Reputed 2:02.6
1989 Go Timmy Kalahari Dial Tone 2:09.0
1988 King Of Brooklyn Black Charleston Hallstrong 2:00.9