Hyperion Stakes 2022

Saturday June 11th, 2022

Ladbrokes Tip: Hyperion Stakes form has held up in tougher Melbourne races over the spring

First contested in 1972, the Hyperion Stakes is a Group 3 ace held in early or mid June during the Perth Winter Racing Carnival. Contested at Belmont Racecourse – which is the other key Perth track outside of Ascot – the event is contested over 1600m and offers a total of  $200,000 in prize money.

The weight-for-age race began as a 1000m sprint but has gradually had its distance increased to a mile and is open to horses aged two and above.

It serves as a nice next-up options for graduates out of the Group 3 Belmont Sprint (1400m) and Perfect Jewel (2020) was the last horse to do the double.

Many top Perth horses have won the Hyperion Stakes over the years including Asian Beau (1979), Luckygray (2012), Scales Of Justice (2017) and that year’s subsequent Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes winner in Melbourne Gatting (2019).

The next edition of the Hyperion Stakes runs on Saturday June 11th, 2022.  


Hyperion Stakes Race Info

  • Date: 2022
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse
  • Distance: 1600m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1972

2022 Hyperion Stakes Results

The full Hyperion Stakes 2022 results and finishing order will be available below once the race takes place on Saturday June 11th, 2022.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Hyperion Stakes Betting

The Hyperion Stakes betting odds are usually led by the season’s top performing Perth horses, especially in-form mares as the female gallopers have a strong recent record in the event with wins by the likes of Elite Belle (2014), Fuchsia Bandana (2015), Wink And A Nod (2016) and Perfect Jewel (2020).

Proven form in the traditional Perth lead-up races is good, especially those coming off a Group 3 Belmont Sprint run over 200m shorter a fortnight prior. 

Favourites in Hyperion Stakes markets only have a fair recent strike rate so backing the longer priced chances that ran well in the lead-up is a good bet.

Material Man ($1.75 in 2018) is the latest Hyperion Stakes favourite to win. 

2022 Hyperion Stakes Odds

Hyperion Stakes Winners - Gatting (2019) | Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos | Ladbrokes.com.au
Gatting (pictured at Flemington winning the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes) is one of the best known

The latest Hyperion Stakes 2022 betting odds will be available right here once released the week of the race so check back for the updated prices on your favourites to win this season’s Hyperion Stakes race in Perth.

Hyperion Stakes Field

The Hyperion Stakes race field is made up of classy local and interstate gallopers, many gearing up for similar features over the winter in Perth including the Group 3 Strickland Stakes (2000m). In recent years, Material Man completed the Belmont Sprint – Hyperion Stakes – Strickland Stakes treble in 2018.

Horses trained outside of Perth rarely make the trip east for the race, so the Hyperion Stakes field and results have been dominated by the local stables. 

Fillies and mares have a very strong recent record in the race with four wins in the seven years from 2014-2021.

Nominations for the Hyperion Stakes are taken on the Tuesday of race week followed by final acceptances on the Wednesday at midday.

2022 Hyperion Stakes Field

The official Hyperion Stakes 2022 race field and barriers are set for release on the Wednesday of race week and will be published below showing the top middle-distance horses engaged to face off in the popular Perth Winter Racing Carnival feature. 

2022 Hyperion Stakes Nominations

The Hyperion Stakes 2022 nominations close on the Tuesday of race week, just a day prior to final acceptances. 

Hyperion Stakes Betting Tips

The key Hyperion Stakes betting tips are to back in-form mares who have an excellent strike-rate over the past decade and backing the best performers out of the Belmont Sprint lead-up race.

2022 Hyperion Stakes Tips

The Ladbrokes’ insider Hyperion Stakes 2022 betting tips and Belmont race selections on the June showdown will be detailed right here the week of the race so stay tuned for the top runners to back for a win in the Group 3.

  • To Win: TBC

Hyperion Stakes Form Guide

The Hyperion Stakes race form guide revels to punters all the relevant information they need to place a successful bet on the race like the barriers, jockeys, trainers and lead-up form of all the runners in the field.

Locally-trained mares have a strong record in the race, so looking at the in-form female gallopers from the WA stables on the Hyperion Stakes form is a top tip. 

The Hyperion Stakes form has stacked-up in the later Perth winter Group races including the Strickland Stakes. In 2018 Material Man completed the treble winning all three races, while in 2019 the Belmont Sprint winner Galaxy Star ran a next-up second in the Hyperion before taking out the Strickland. 

Perfect Jewel (2020) was the last runner to complete the Belmont Sprint – Hyperion Stakes double. 

Hyperion Stakes Form Facts

  • The favourites have a solid strike rate in the race with Material Man ($1.75 in 2018) the last to salute for the punters
  • The mares have dominated the recent Hyperion Stakes results with four wins from 2014-2021 

2022 Hyperion Stakes Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Hyperion Stakes 2022 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Hyperion Stakes Race Results

The Hyperion Stakes results have been dominated by single-figure mares in recent years with notable winners including Scales Of Justice (2017), Material Man (2018) and Gatting (2019).

Winners of the Hyperion Stakes

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2021 Valour Road Simon Miller Brad Rawiller 59 kgs 1:38.56
2020 Perfect Jewel Adam Durant Patrick Carbery 57 kgs 1:38.60
2019 Gatting Darren McAuliffe Lee Newman 59 kgs 1:38.21
2018 Material Man Justin Warwick Lucy Warwick 59 kgs 1:36.55
2017 Scales Of Justice Lindsey Smith Daniel Staeck 59 kgs 1:37.53
2016 Wink And A Nod Justin Warwick Lucy Warwick 57 kgs 1:38.16
2015 Fuchsia Bandana Darren Mcauliffe Jarrad Noske 57 kgs 1:38.52
2014 Elite Belle Grant Williams William Pike 57 kgs 1:39.77
2013 Black Tycoon Justin Warwick Troy Turner 59 kgs 1:38.14
2012 Luckygray Gino Poletti Shaun O’Donnell 59 kgs 1:38.35
2011 King Kool Kat Ian Glading Duncan Miller 59 kgs 1:36.71
2010 Marasco Fred Kersley Daniel Staeck 59 kgs 1:23.30
2009 Tarzi Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 59 kgs 1:22.15
2008 Marasco Fred Kersley Paul Harvey 59 kgs 1:22.60
2007 No Questions Trevor Andrews Jason Brown 56.5 kgs 1:23.26
2006 Local Legend John Price Paul Harvey 58 kgs 1:22.53
2005 Ambers Halo +Lakeside Rhythm Alan Mathews +Paula Wagg Jason Whiting +Shaun O’Donnell 55.5 kgs58 kgs 1:25.34
2004 Dedicated Miss Geoff Durrant Jason Miller 55.5 kgs 1:24.42
2003 Tribula Arthur Mortimer Jason Brown 55.5 kgs 1:23.31
2002 Old Fashion Vernon Brockman Stephen Miller 58 kgs 1:24.11
2001 Country Blazer Jim Taylor Jason Brown 58 kgs 1:24.91
2000 Devilish Dealer Paul Jordan Mark Sestich 56 kgs 1:23.80