World Cup 2022 Teams

Argentina are the 2022 FIFA World Cup champions after beating previous title holders France 4-2 on penalties in the World Cup Final following a 3–3 draw after extra time

The World Cup Teams are the official FIFA World Cup nations to qualify for the World Cup Finals, the premier professional men’s football tournament that takes place every four years.World Cup Soccer Teams

There are now 32 World Cup Teams or World Cup Nations facing off in the competition.

The number of World Cup teams will increase to 48 for the 2026 World Cup tournament in the United States, Mexico, and Canada.

Throughout history there have been 79 national teams to appear in at least one FIFA World Cup Finals tournament.

Brazil remain the only team to appear in every single World Cup from 1930 – 2022. Five-time World Cup Champions winning the final match in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002 also makes Brazil the most successful World Cup team in history.

Two World Cup teams then share second honours of four winning World Cup Final matches: Germany (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014) and Italy (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006).

Each World Cup one of the teams is also the host nation. From 1930 – 2014, six of the World Cup host nations were also that year’s World Cup champions: Uruguay (1930), Italy (1934), England (1966), West Germany (1974), Argentina (1978) and France (1998).

Teams qualify to play in the World Cup Finals via the qualifying tournaments that take place nearly three years before the big event, which last for two years.

Each of the 32 World Cup Finals Teams belong to one of a possible six continental confederations:

  • AFC (Asia)
  • CAF (Africa)
  • CONCACAF (North, Central America and the Caribbean)
  • CONMEBOL (South America)
  • OFC (Oceania)
  • UEFA (Europe)

The national World Cup Teams are then further divided into Groups for the Group Stage of the World Cup Finals.

2022 World Cup Teams

  • Number of Teams: 32
  • Host Nation: Qatar
  • 2022 World Cup Champions: Argentina
  • 2022 FIFA World Cup Final Teams: Argentina vs France
  • World Cup Debutant Team: Qatar
  • Pre-Tournament Favourites: Brazil

The 2022 FIFA World Cup Teams feature a total of 32 national teams including one on debut with host nation Qatar playing in their first tournament. Qatar are the first Wold Cup hosts to make their debut since Italy in 1934.

There are 24 World Cup Teams in 2022 returning from the 2018 tournament including France who are defending their title and take on Argentina in the 2022 World Cup Final.

World Cup 2022 teams returning having missed the 2018 tournament are The Netherlands, Ecuador, Ghana, Cameroon and the United States.

Canada return after 36 years, their only prior appearance being in 1986, while Wales make their first World Cup appearance since 1968.

Four-time World Cup champions Italy failed to qualify for the second time in a row and were the only former champions that failed to appear in the 2022 World Cup Teams list.

The 2018 World Cup hosts, Russia, were disqualified from competing in the World Cup 2022 due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Other notable nations to miss out on a 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification include Egypt, Panama, Colombia, Peru, Iceland and Sweden.

Ghana (61st) were the lowest ranked World Cup team to qualify.

Below we take a look at all 32 FIFA World Cup Teams in 2022 via their Group allocation.

2022 FIFA World Cup Teams: Final Draw

Group A Group B Group C Group D
 Qatar  England  Argentina  France
 Ecuador  Iran  Saudi Arabia  Australia
 Senegal  United States  Mexico  Denmark
 Netherlands  Wales  Poland  Tunisia
Group E Group F Group G Group H
 Spain  Belgium  Brazil  Portugal
 Costa Rica  Canada  Serbia  Ghana
 Germany  Morocco  Switzerland  Uruguay
 Japan  Croatia  Cameroon  South Korea

Table Credit: Wiki

Qualified World Cup 2022 Teams By Region

The table below lists the qualified 2022 FIFA World Cup teams by region along with their final pre-tournament FIFA Men’s World Rankings.

Table Credit: Wiki