Individual Competition Domination


What a year it has already been in tennis.

Not only did Roger Federer wind back the clock to win the Australian Open, but his great rival Rafael Nadal was able to do the same to claim an incredible tenth title at the French Open overnight.

Nadal became the first man to win the same Grand Slam ten times, but he is far from the first athlete throughout history to single-handily dominate a single competition!

Rafael Nadal – 10 French Open Titles

He is known as The King Of Clay for a reason.

Rafael Nadal won the French Open for the first time in 2005 and his victory in 2017 gave him an historic tenth win at the tournament.

His overall record at the French Open is a simply incredible 79-3.

Margaret Court – 11 Australian Open Titles

She has been in the news for all the wrong reasons lately and deservedly so, but Margaret Court was a serious tennis player during her time.

Court had an outstanding record at every single Grand Slam event, but she was particularly dominant at the Australian and won the Women’s Singles event on 11 occasions.

She also won the Women’s Doubles eight times as well as the Mixed Doubles on four occasions!

Eddy Merckx – 5 Tour de France & 5 Giro d’Italia Wins

There are four cyclists that legally won the Tour de France on five occasions – Jacques Anqueteil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain – but what takes Merckx to another level is the fact that his record was just as strong at the Giro d’Italia.

Winning both the Tour De France and Giro d’Italia is the same year is now considered to be close to impossible, but Merckx was able to complete this incredible feat on three occasions.

Phil Taylor – 16 Darts World Championships

Physically, Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor does not fit the mould of a great athlete, but there is no doubt he is exactly that.

Taylor’s domination of professional darts during the 1990s and 2000s was nothing short of extraordinary and from 1990 to 2013 he won the Darts World Champions on 16 occasions – including a streak of eight straight World Titles from 1995 to 2002.

Al Oerter – 4 Olympics Gold Medals In Discus

Al Oerter is far from the most well-known athlete on this list, but he is one of the greatest Olympians in history.

Oerter won the Discus Throw at the 1956 Olympics in Melbourne, the 1960 Olympics in Rome, the 1964 Olympics in Tokyo and the 1968 Olympics in Mexico City to become the first athlete in history to win the same event in four consecutive Olympic Games.

Douglas Whyte – 13 Hong Kong Jockey Premierships

It is all about Joao Moreira in Hong Kong these days, but ‘The Magic Man’ still has a long way to go to match the incredible record of South African Douglas Whyte.

Whyte won the Jockey’s Premiership in Hong Kong for the first time during the 2000/2001 and went on to win 13 consecutive titles before he was finally knocked off by Zac Purton in the 2013/2014 season.

Carl Lewis – 4 Olympics Gold Medals In Discus

Carl Lewis finished his Olympic career with an incredible 9 Gold Medals across four different events and it was the Long Jump in which he had his most success.

Lewis won the Long Jump for the first time in Los Angeles in 1984 and he defended his title on three occasions in Seoul in 1988, Barcelona in 1992 and Atlanta in 1996 to join Oerter as the only Olympian to win the same event on four occasions.

Heather McKay – 16 British Open Titles

Very few athletes have ever dominated a sport like Heather McKay did squash in the 1960s and 1970s.

McKay won the British Open on 16 straight occasions from 1962 to 1977 and incredibly lost only two games during her entire career – going unbeaten in competitive Squash from 1962 to 1981!

Michael Phelps – 4 Olympics Golds In 200m Individual Medley

No athlete has ever won as many Olympic Gold Medals as Michael Phelps and the event that he really made his own was the 200 metres Individual Medley.

Phelps won the 200 metres Individual Medley for the first time at the 2004 Olympics in Athens and went on to taste success in Beijing in 2008, London in 2012 and Rio de Janeiro in 2016.

As part of the American team, he also won the 4×200 metres freestyle and 4×100 metres medley relay on four occasions!

Sebastien Loeb – 9 World Rally Championships

Many would make an argument for the inclusion of Michael Schumacher or Valentino Rossi on this list, but in terms of motorsports Sebastien Loeb has a clear edge on his rivals.

Loeb won 9 World Rally Championships from 2004 until 2012 and holds just about every record there is in the history of the WRC.

Tips, recommendations and commentary are for entertainment only. We provide no warranty about accuracy or completeness. You should make your own assessment before placing a bet.