A-League 2016-17

Soccer betting is one of the most popular sports markets in the country and the premier professional football competition in Australia is the A-League.

Run by the Football Federation Australia (FFA) the annual A-League season runs from late October through until early May the following year. The league was founded in 2004 ahead of the first season in 2005/06 following on from the now defunct National Soccer League (NSL). It is most commonly known as the Hyundai A-League for sponsorship purposes.

There are 10 A-League teams in the current competition, nine from Australia and one New Zealand-based club, which face off over the 27-round regular season leading up to the finals series.

A-League Betting: Round 27 Preview

The A-League Season moves ever closer to its final week with Round 27 kicking off with the 2nd placed Melbourne Victory on Friday night. There is also a top 5 clash between the Perth Glory and Melbourne City which is sure to pack plenty of goals in the west.

  • Round:27
  • Starts: Friday April 14, 2017
  • Ends: Sunday April 16, 2017
  • No. of Games: 5
  • Round Highlight: Perth Glory vs Melbourne City
  • Round Tip: Perth to win at home

The current A-League clubs are:

    • Adelaide United
    • Brisbane Roar
a-league teams

There are currently 10 teams that participate in the Hyundai A-League. Picture courtesy of FFA.

  • Central Coast Mariners
  • Melbourne City
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Wellington Phoenix
  • Western Sydney Wanderers

Each club plays all other teams three times over the regular A-League season for competition points. One point is awarded for a draw and three points for a win, which goes towards positions on the A-League Ladder. The team that finishes at the top of the table are crowded the regular season Premiers and are awarded the Premier’s Plate, which is different to the Minor Premiership on offer in other sporting codes including the AFL and NRL.

The six top placed teams on the ladder then face off in the Finals leading up to the coveted A-League Grand Final, which is the premier match of the season and pits the two teams remaining in the competition post-playoffs fighting to be named the season’s Champion. The Grand Final winners also earn a spot in the continental AFC Champions League competition.

A-League Championship odds

Adelaide United became A-League Champions for the first time in 2015-16. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Melbourne Victory and Brisbane Roar each boast the record of A-League Champions on three seperate occasions, while the former have the advantage being named A-League Premiers three times to the Roar’s two.

A-League betting gives fans the chance to back their tips for the season’s Premiers and Champions with plenty of exciting soccer odds on offer from overall Winners, Top Six Finish markets, Top A-League Goal Scorer and of course head-to-head prices on all matches over the A-League Fixtures.

A-League 2016/17 Season

The 2016/17 A-League season is the 40th edition of Australia’s No. 1 pro-soccer league and the 12th since the A-League was established in 2004. The season kicked off on October 7, 2016. Adelaide United are the competitions defending Champions.

  • 2016/17 A-League Week 1 Starts: Thursday October 7, 2016
  • 2016/17 A-League Finals Series Starts: 21 – 23rd April, 2017
  • 2016/17 A-League Grand Final: Sunday May 7, 2017

At over the half-way point in the season Melbourne Victory hold the highest average attendance record for their home games and forward Besart Berisha from the club is one of the top A-League scorers for the season with 14 goals as of February 13, 2017.

2016-17 A-League Betting

Outright A-League betting is now open for the Australian Hyundai A-League Winner 2016-17. It is a tight battle in outright A-League Championship odds between Melbourne Victory to post their second A-League Grand Final win in two years and Sydney FC whose last Champions title was achieved in 2010.