A-League Finals 2016/17

The 2016/17 A League Finals Series starts the weekend of 21 – 23 April, 2017

The A-Leagues Finals series runs at the end of the 27-round regular soccer season and involves the highest-placed professional soccer teams in the Hyundai-sponsored competition in Australia. Overall the A-League season runs from October to May the following year and the end-of-season finals series playoff tournament gives punters some top class soccer betting opportunities.

Betting on the A-League Finals is open before the end of the standard season with futures or all-in markets available, and these are a great way to support your A-League team and get behind them to advance.

A-League Championship betting

The A-League Grand Final winners take out the Championship Trophy. Photo Credit: FFA.

The A-League Winner markets for the season refer to the club that win the Grand Final and are updated based on the weekly A-League results.

The finals culminate with the highly-anticipated A-League Grand Final match, the winner of which is dubbed the season ‘Champion’ and awarded the A-League Trophy. Since the A-League competition formed as a successor to the National Soccer League (NSL) and had its first season in 2005-06 there have been five clubs crowned A-League Champions. The most successful with three titles each are Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory.

The season’s A-League Champions or Grand Final winner also receive a spot in the AFC Champions League, also known as the Asian Football Confederation Champions League (ACL). This is a continental competition first run in 2002 and is the premier soccer club tournament in Asia.

To work out what A-League Teams face off in the finals series the A-League Table or A-League Ladder comes into play and the top six in standings progress onto the finals. Previously the finals were between the top four teams according to rank and the Grand Final is obviously between the last two clubs standing in the competition.

The Finals of the A-League soccer take place in three stages and each match winner progresses onto the next stage while the loser is knocked out of the competition. The current format of the playoffs has been used since the 2012-13 season and is made up of a three-week knockout or sudden-death series. The first and second placed teams on the A-League Ladder are rewarded for their spots to the semi-finals.

In the A-League Grand Final the club that finished highest on the ladder at the end of the regular season, who are dubbed the A-League Premier, get the home ground advantage.

The A-League finals series uses a variation of the top six play-offs system.

2016/17 A-League Finals Series

2016/17 A-League Finals Betting

The 2016/17 A-League Finals series is fast approaching with the regular season more than half-way completed. Current A-League Finals betting favourite to take out the Premiership are the A-League Ladder leaders Sydney FC followed by Melbourne Victory.

Sydney FC look on fire heading into the Australian soccer finals having recorded zero losses up until A-League Round 19 with 14 wins and 5 draws. Melbourne Victory meanwhile have posted 11 wins, 3 draws and 5 losses up until the same stage.

Adelaide United and Central Coast Mariners meanwhile have already kissed an A-League Finals appearance goodbye with 11 and 10 losses respectively and will be battling it out at the bottom of the soccer standings for the Wooden Spoon.

A-League Winner 2016/17

  • Sydney FC ($2.25)
  • Melbourne Victory ($3.25)
  • Melbourne City ($7)

*Top 3 A-League Winner odds subject to change.

A-League Wooden Spoon 2016/17

  • Adelaide United ($1.18)
  • Central Coast Mariners ($6)
  • Wellington Phoenix ($7)

*Top 3 A-League Wooden Spoon odds subject to change.


2016/17 A-League Finals Dates

2016/17 A-League Finals Week One

  • April 21 – 23, 2017

Elimination Semi-Finals – 2 games played

2016/17 A-League Finals Week Two

  • April 29 – 30, 2017

Preliminary Finals – 2 games played

2016/17 A-League Finals Week Three

  • Sunday May 7, 2017

2016/17 A-League Grand Final for the Championship title between the last two football clubs standing.

A-League Finals System

Week One: A-League Elimination Finals

Features two games between the teams that finished third – sixth on the A-League ladder. The A-League clubs that ranked first and second on the table enjoy a bye before hosting matches in the second week of the finals for the chance to secure a spot in the Grand Final.

  • Elimination Semi-Final 1: 3rd vs 6th (elimination match)
  • Elimination Semi-Final 2: 4th vs 5th (elimination match)

Week Two: A-League Preliminary Finals

Features two games with the two winners from the Elimination Finals taking on the top two ranked teams from the regular season. The A-League Premiers  host the lowest-ranked winner of the eliminations in the first Semi. The second-ranked team on the A-League ladder host the highest-ranked winner of the eliminations in the second Semi.

  • Preliminary Final 1: Highest-Ranked Semi-Final Winner vs 2nd (on end-of-season A-League Ladder)
  • Preliminary Final 2: Lowest-Ranked Semi-Final Winner vs 1st (A-League Premiers)

Week Three: A-League Grand Final

The final game of the A-League Fixtures features the winners of the two Semi Finals and decides the season’s A-League Champions.

  • A-League Grand Final: Winners of the 1st Preliminary Final vs Winners of the 2nd Preliminary Final