A-League Grand Final 2017/18

2017 A-League Grand Final Result: Sydney FC defeated the Melbourne Victory 1-1 (4-2 on penalties)

The annual A-League Grand Final runs on a Sunday in early May each year and is the final fixture of the A-League season played between the final two standing teams in the competition.

A-League Grand Final betting is hugely popular with soccer fans and futures markets on the A-League Winner are open all season at juicy all-in prices.

The team that finishes number one on the A-League Ladder at the end of the 27-round regular season are referred to as the Premiers, but markets on this can often be listed as Minor Premiers / Premiership to tie in with other footy codes like the NRL and AFL.

The A-League Grand Final winners are officially known as the season’s Champions and earn a spot in Asia’s premier professional soccer tournament – the AFC

A-League Grand Final Betting

Melbourne Victory boast the biggest A-League Grand Final win defeating Adelaide 6 – 0 in 2007. Photo Credit: The Daily Telegraph.

Champions League. Pitting the best two teams of the season against each other in a thrilling 90 plus minutes of football, the Grand Final of the A-League runs on the third and final week or stage of the A-League Finals.

The A-League Grand Final teams are those that won the two sudden-death Semi Finals and will always feature at least one of the two top-ranked teams on the A-League Table. Usually the club that finished highest on the ladder gets the home ground advantage and hosts the A-League Championship game. This however can be overruled by the FFA if they deem the team’s home ground doesn’t boast a large enough capacity attendance.

The A-League Trophy up for grabs in the Grand Final follows on from the Premier’s Plate awarded to the Number 1 team on the A-League Ladder at the end of the regular season. The A-League Champions Trophy is currently designed by design company D3 design based in Sydney. It is nicknamed the “Toilet Seat” because of its shape, but the model changes each year and is unveiled in a ceremony annually.

2017/18 A-League Grand Final

The A-League Grand Final 2016/17 took place on Sunday May 7, 2017.

2017 A-League Grand Final Result
Team Score
Sydney FC 1 (Grant 69′)
Melbourne Victory 1 (Berisha 20′)
Extra Time & Penalty Shootout Sydney FC won 4-2 on penalties.

A-League Grand Final Results

Eight of the current 10 A-League Teams have appeared in Grand Finals and three share top honours with three wins each. Melbourne Victory won the Grand Final in 2007, 2009 and 2015. Brisbane Roar were award the A-League Champions in 2011, 2012 and 2014. Sydney FC secured their third in 2017 after previous success in 2010 (also over Melbourne Victory) and 2006.

Both A-League grand finalists gain entry to the AFC Champions League, commonly referred to as the Asian Champions League. On a couple of past occasions there has been a total of 3 entrants into the competition from Australia depending on who is crowned minor premiers at the conclusion of the regular season.

The other clubs to make a successful Grand Final appearance are the Central Coast Mariners who won in 2013, the Newcastle Jets who took out the 2008 Championship and Adelaide United who won their first A-League Grand Final in May of 2016. Both the Western Sydney Wanderers (2013, 2014, 2016) and Perth Glory (2012) have played in a Championship decider, but finished runners-up.

2017 SYDNEY FC (won 4-2 on penalties) MELBOURNE VICTORY 1-1 Daniel Georgievski Allianz Stadium, Sydney 41,546
2016 ADELAIDE UNITED WESTERN SYDNEY WANDERERS 3-1 Isaías Sánchez Cortés Adelaide Oval, Adelaide 50,119
2015 MELBOURNE VICTORY SYDNEY FC 3-0 Mark Milligan AAMI Park, Melbourne 29,843
2014 BRISBANE ROAR WESTERN SYDNEY WANDERERS 2-1 Thomas Broich / Iacopo La Rocca Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane 51,153
2013 CENTRAL COAST MARINERS WESTERN SYDNEY WANDERERS 2-0 Daniel McBreen Allianz Stadium, Sydney 42,102
2012 BRISBANE ROAR PERTH GLORY 2-1 Jacob Burns Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane 50,334
2011 BRISBANE ROAR (won 4-2 on penalties) CENTRAL COAST MARINERS 2-2 Matt Ryan Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane 50,168
2010 SYDNEY FC (won 4-2 on penalties) MELBOURNE VICTORY 1-1 Simon Colosimo Etihad Stadium, Melbourne 44,560
2009 MELBOURNE VICTORY ADELAIDE UNITED 1-0 Tom Pondeljak Telstra Dome, Melbourne 53,273
2008 NEWCASTLE JETS CENTRAL COAST MARINERS 1-0 Andrew Durante Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney 36,354
2007 MELBOURNE VICTORY ADELAIDE UNITED 6-0 Archie Thompson Etihad Stadium, Melbourne 55,436
2006 SYDNEY FC CENTRAL COAST MARINERS 1-0 Dwight Yorke Aussie Stadium, Sydney 41,689

A-League Champions

Club Champions Runners-Up Winning A-League Grand Finals
MELBOURNE VICTORY 3 1 2007, 2009, 2015
BRISBANE ROAR 3 0 2011, 2012, 2014
SYDNEY FC 3 1 2006, 2010, 2017