Aurie’s Star Handicap 2018

Saturday August 11th


Ladbrokes Tip: Recent Aurie’s Star Handicap winners have won next-up in Sydney Group races

The Aurie’s Star Handicap is the first Group race of the new racing season and runs on the first Saturday of August at Flemington Racecourse. Holding Group 3 status the open handicap sprint is contested over 1200m and offers a total of $150,000 in total prize money.

Held officially during the winter, the Aurie’s Star Handicap makes a good starting point for Melbourne and Sydney Spring Racing Carnival hopefuls.

The next edition of the Aurie’s Star Handicap runs on Saturday August 11th, 2018.

Aurie’s Star Betting & Odds

The Aurie’s Star Handicap odds are now available below.

Proven sprinters with a strong record over the distance (1200m) sit high up the Aurie’s Star Handicap betting markets, especially those with past experience down the famous Flemington straight. Favourites have a dominant recent record in the race including odds-on favourites in the Aurie’s Star Handicap betting markets.

Aurie’s Star Handicap Field

In 2015 the Aurie’s Star Handicap winner Shiraz came off a Rosehill win and went on to win Sydney’s Group 3 Concorde Stakes (1000m) a month later at Randwick. The previous year Tiger Tees (2014) won the Aurie’s Star first-up before success in Sydney’s Group 2 Warwick Stakes (1400m) next start. The race nominations close the Monday of race week with the final field and barrier draw released the Wednesday before the race takes place that Saturday.The Aurie’s Star Handicap field attracts a mix between winter runners coming to the end of their preps and new season sprints kicking off spring campaigns. Horses come into the race via a number of different lead-ups and go on to contest a variety of next-up races.
The Aurie’s Star Handicap field has been released and can be found below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x0x1x1230x HOME OF THE BRAVE (IRE) James Cummings Damian Lane 2 59kg 107
2 7x145x0012 VOODOO LAD Darren Weir Damien Oliver 7 59kg 107
3 32442×1151 CHAMOIS ROAD Patrick Payne Michael Dee 10 57.5kg 104
4 x411x4614x RICH CHARM Udyta Clarke Patrick Moloney 5 57.5kg 104
5 83x477100x I AM A STAR (NZ) Shane Nichols Mark Zahra 4 56.5kg 106
6 6x11116x88 ABILITY Henry Dwyer Dwayne Dunn 6 56kg 101
7 13173x5x POETIC DREAM (IRE) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Jordan Childs 9 54.5kg 98
8 86125×1751 CAMDUS (IRE) Darren Weir Ben Allen (a) 1 54kg 96
9 x115x80x46 MAN FROM UNCLE Darren Weir Harry Coffey 3 54kg 90
10 15x11375x1 BRAVE SONG Peter & Paul Snowden Regan Bayliss 8 54kg 83

Aurie’s Star Handicap Tips

Good Aurie’s Star Handicap tips to consider each season include looking for the proven Flemington straight track performers in the field coming off a strong lead-up that are well-weighted in the handicap feature.

Another top Aurie’s Star Handicap betting tip is to lock-in the favourites in the markets with punters’ picks boasting a strong recent record in the race.

Aurie’s Star Handicap Form Guide

The Aurie’s Star Handicap form guide is released when the field comes out the Wednesday of race week and details all the information from jockeys, trainers, barriers and weights to the lead-up runs and track / distance records of the sprinters in the field.

Over the years the Aurie’s Star Handicap form has stacked up in later spring Group races in both Sydney and Melbourne including the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) that the 2011 winner Temple Of Boom took out two starts later.

Temple Of Boom also ran second in the 2012 Aurie’s Star Handicap before a second in the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) at the same track next start. The 2012 Aurie’s Star third placegetter Zamorar meanwhile came off a Group 3 Bletchingly Stakes (1200m) second and also ran second in the Group 2 PB Lawrence Stakes (1400m) next s tart.

Results of the Aurie’s Star Handicap

The Aurie’s Star Handicap results have been dominated by single-figure chances and notable recent Aurie’s Star Handicap winners include Tiger Tees (2014), Temple OF Boom (2011) and Mic Mac (2009).

Aurie’s Star Handicap Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Hey Doc Cannyescent Grande Rosso 1:09.9
2016 Sooboog Dibiyani Tashbeeh 1:10.0
2015 Shiraz Play Master Le Bonsir 1:09.4
2014 Tiger Tees Mr Chard Zamorar 1:09.8
2013 Broken Temple Of Boom Cavallo Nero 1:12.5
2012 Shanghai Warrior Golden Archer Zamorar 1:11.4
2011 Temple Of Boom Rekindled Interest Offenders 1:10.5
2010 Elusive Touch Leica Larrikin Beltrois 1:11.1
2009 Mic Mac All American El Segundo 1.09:6
2008 Grand Duels Stavka Valedictum 1.10:4