Australasian Oaks 2019

Saturday May 4, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: The Schweppervescence Stakes held at the same track earlier in the autumn is the key lead-up to the Australasian Oaks

The Australasian Oaks – registered as the Schweppes Oaks – is one of two Group 1 races held at Morphettville Racecourse on Robert Sangster Stakes Day during the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival in late April or early May.

Open to three-year-old fillies the set weights race is conducted over 2000m and attracts a field of both local and interstate talent each season. Offering $500,000 in total prize money the Schweppes Australasian Oaks has been dominated by favourites in recent years and has a capacity of 16 starters.

The Group 3 Schweppervescence Stakes (1800m) held over 200m shorter a fortnight earlier also at Adelaide’s premier track is the key lead-up providing a host of recent Australasian Stakes winners.

The latest edition of the Australasian Oaks ran on Saturday May 4, 2019.

2018 Australasian Oaks Results

  • 1st: #5 Sopressa
  • 2nd: #12 Sheezdashing
  • 3rd: #3 Miss Admiration

Australasian Oaks Race Info

  • Date: Saturday May 4, 2019
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse
  • Distance: 2000m
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $500,000
  • First Run: 1982

2019 Australasian Oaks Results

The official Australasian Schweppes Oaks 2019 Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the race is run and won on Saturday May 4, 2019.

The 2018 Australasian Oaks results saw 22-year-old hoop Harry Coffey salute in his first Group 1 race aboard the one-time Darren Weir-trained favourite Sopressa.

Favourites have a strong recent record with the shortest-priced in Australasian Oaks betting saluting five times from 2006 – 2018, and no double-figure winner scoring a massive upset since Small Minds ($26) in 2010.

Australasian Oaks Odds & Betting

Australasian Schweppes Oaks odds are traditionally dominated by fillies coming off a top four run in the lead-up with the last winner to run worse than fourth in her final start being Anamato (2007) who improve on a 12th in Sydney’s Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m).

Interstate visitors have a strong record against the locals and often feature highly in Australasian Oaks betting markets, including in 2018 when the Darren Weir-trained Sopressa led an all-Victorian Australasian Oaks trifecta.

2019 Australasian Oaks Betting

The season’s top Schweppes Oaks odds online will be available here as soon as Australasian Oaks betting 2019 is open so stay tuned to see the price on your selections for the Group 1 in Adelaide.

Australasian Oaks Field

The Australasian Oaks field has a capacity of 16 starters and from 2003 – 2017 was run under capacity just three with 14 runners in 2009 and 15 in 2011, while the 2017 edition saw two fillies scratched at the barriers leaving 14 to line-up. There were also only 14 fillies in the 2018 Australasian Oaks field after Jungle Fish was scratched at the barriers. The only time the Schweppes Oaks field was run with under 10 starters in the past 30 years was when Episode defeated just eight rivals back in 1999.

Australasian Oaks nominations close the week prior, with the final field of acceptances and barrier draw released on the Tuesday of race week.

Plenty of interstate talent features in the Robert Sangster Stakes field each year and visiting mares from outside of Adelaide boast an excellent record in the race including the 2017 win by the Sydney-trained Egg Tart for trainer Chris Waller and the 2018 victory of the Darren Weir-trained Sopressa who backed-up from a lead-up win in Adelaide’s Group 3 Auraria Stakes (1800m).

2019 Australasian Oaks Field

Schweppes Oaks odds online at

Schweppes Oaks winner Delicacy (2015) went on to beat the boys in that year’s SA Derby. Photo Credit: Jenny Barnes.

The official Schweppes Australasian Oaks 2019 field of fillies is set for release the Tuesday leading-up to Robert Sangster Stakes Day and will be available below so stay tuned.

2019 Australasian Oaks Nominations

The early Australasian Schweppes Oaks 2019 Nominations close on a Tuesday in late April and will be provided below once announced.

Australasian Oaks Form Guide

All of the essential information including jockeys, trainers and barriers are listed in the Australasian Schweppes Oaks form guide each year. Looking for fillies coming off nice lead-up form at the track with the potential to run out a strong 2000m is important.

From 2009 – 2018 five of the 10 winners jumped from a double digit Australasian Oaks barrier and since 1983 the most successful gate producing six winners is eight.

Damien Oliver has ridden three previous Australasian Oaks winners, but none since Tully Thunder (2002), while Lee Freedman has trained four winners with Grand Eschezeaux (2000) the most recent.

Australasian Oaks Form Facts

  • Last-start winners have dominated the Schweppes Oaks results in the past decade including most recently Sopressa (2018)
  • The Auraria Stakes (Schweppervescence Stakes) is the key lead-up to the Group 1 including producing four of the seven winners from 2012 – 2018 with Sopressa (2018) the latest to do the double
  • Single-figure hopes in Australasian Oakes betting make the best bet with double-figure upsets very uncommon

2019 Australasian Oaks Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Australasian Oaks 2019 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Australasian Oaks Tips

Taking a filly coming off a top three run at the track is a top Australasian Oaks tip and from 2008 – 2018 eight of the 11 winners came off a win including Abbey Marie (2016), Egg Tart (2017) and Sopressa (2018).

Some of the top lead-up races to consider when doing the Schweppes Oaks tips in Adelaide include the Group 3 Schweppervescence Stakes and Group 2 SA Fillies Classic both held at the same track earlier in the season. Melbourne’s Group 2 Kewney Stakes (1400m) has also provided two Australasian Oaks winners in the past 10 years with Zarita (2008) and Gallica (2009) both completing the double.

2019 Australasian Oaks Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ exclusive Australasian Schweppes Oaks tips 2019 and best bets on the fillies to back and sack in the Morphettville staying showdown will be detailed right here the week of the race.

Australasian Oaks Results

Favourites have a good recent strike rate in the Australasian Oaks results however some upsets have occurred. The longest priced winners in the past 10 years are Irish Darling (2005) and Small Minds (2010) who both jumped at a $26 starting price.

Some of the most notable Schweppes Oaks winners include Delicacy (2015), May’s Dream (2014), Lights Of Heaven (2011) and Zarita (2008).

Australasian Oaks Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sopressa Sheezdashing Miss Admiration 2:04.3
2017 Egg Tart Kenedna Ana Royale 2:04.3
2016 Abbey Marie Silent Sedition C’est Beau La Vie 2:04.1
2015 Delicacy Fenway Bahamas 2:04.8
2014 May’s Dream Star Fashion Scratchy Bottom 2:04.8
2013 Maybe Discreet Grand Daughter La Zuma 2:07.0
2012 Invest Our Miss Jones Essence 2:06.9
2011 Lights Of Heaven Absolutely Southern Speed 2:05.3
2010 Small Minds No Evidence Needed Ipioga 2:06.4
2009 Gallica Estee Miss Lily Rose 2:03.8
2008 Zarita Moment In Time Queen Of Queens 2:04.3
2007 Anamato Cancanelle Devil Moon 2:02.2
2006 Marju Snip Zenarta Fanciful Bella 2:04.4
2005 Irish Darling Kylikwong Hveger 2:04.4
2004 Rinky Dink Star Of Grechen Dane Belltar 2:04.3
2003 Sound Action Milanova Great Anna 2:05.1
2002 Tully Thunder Shes Archie Arboretum 2:03.3
2001 Tempest Morn South Sea Pearl Glitzy Guru 2:07.1
2000 Grand Echezeaux Umaline Porto Roca 2:04.3