Australia Stakes 2017

Saturday January 27, 2017

Ladbrokes Tip: The Australia Stakes has provided a number of CF Orr Stakes winners in recent years.

The Australia Stakes is the first Group 2 race of the New Year run in late January each summer season at Moonee Valley Racecourse. The sole Group race on Australia Stakes Day, the weight-for-age clash offers $200,000 in total prize money and is contested over a 1200m sprint distance.

The Australia Stakes provides a nice early Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival lead-up for gallopers heading into a race like the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m). The last horse to complete the Australia Stakes – CF Orr Stakes double in a single season was Black Caviar (2012).

The latest edition of the Australia Stakes ran on Saturday January 27, 2017.

2017 Australia Stakes Results

  • 1st: Malaguerra
  • 2nd: Black Heart Bart
  • 3rd: Sirbible

Australia Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday January 27, 2017
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
  • Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1989

Australia Stakes Odds & Betting

Australia Stakes betting opens the Wednesday before the race after the field and barriers are out. Horses that are resuming and have a good first-up record, proven performers at the tight Moonee Valley circuit and sprinters with a strong record over the distance sit high up the Australia Stakes odds each January. Upsets are not uncommon however and the last winner to jump at double-figures in the Australia Stakes betting markets was Mourinho ($41 in 2015).

2017 Australia Stakes Betting

The market for the Australia Stakes 2017 complete with the latest odds on the sprinters in the mix for the autumn Group 2 sprint race will be published below once released.

Black Caviar dominated Australia Stakes betting for her 2010 and 2012 wins

One of the world’s best mares Black Caviar won the Australia Stakes in 2010 and 2012. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Australia Stakes Field

The Australia Stakes field features a strong line-up of sprinters and middle-distance gallopers either rounding out their summer preps or gearing up for some of the early autumn features in Melbourne. Many of the horses in the Australia Stakes field are running first-up for the season and may have contested a race like the Group 3 Red Anchor Stakes (1200m) at the same track the October before on Cox Plate Day, a double last achieved by Holler (2015).

A more recent lead-up to the Australia Stakes field run on New Year’s Day at Flemington is the Group 3 Standish Handicap (1200m) and in 2015 Churchill Dancer ran third in the Standish and second in the Australia Stakes.

Australia Stakes nominations close the Monday of race week followed by the final field and barrier draw released on the Wednesday before the race runs that Saturday.

2017 Australia Stakes Field

The Australia Stakes 2017 field and barrier draw will be published below as soon as released on Wednesday January 25, 2017 so stay tuned.

The Moonee Valley Racing Club (MVRC) received ten final acceptances for this Friday night’s Australia Stakes field led by three-time Group 1 winner Black Heart Bart and the Peter Gelagotis-trained Malaguerra.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 212x12129x BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 3 58.5kg 113
2 1x4160x88x TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Kerrin McEvoy 1 58.5kg 112
3 11619x215x MALAGUERRA Peter Gelagotis Ben Melham 9 58.5kg 112
4 x1610x703x MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis Craig Newitt 6 58.5kg 110
5 12x451008x PALENTINO Darren Weir Damian Lane 5 58.5kg 111
6 70×4367318 IT IS WRITTEN Robbie Griffiths Matthew Allen 7 58.5kg 92
7 133x1111x CHETWOOD John O’Shea James Doyle 8 58.5kg 105
8 x1500x1720 SIRBIBLE Russell Bell Darren Gauci 4 58.5kg 91
9 x114301612 CAVALOCE Will Clarken Dwayne Dunn 10 56.5kg 97
10 7x21x531x PEACOCK John O’Shea Craig Williams 2 55kg 76

Australia Stakes Tips

Top Australia Stakes tips include looking for proven Moonee Valley performers, past winners over the distance, good Group 1 performers in similar company, horses that have run in Group 1 company and those that finished in the money last time out whether it was the season before or in an earlier summer start.

Favourites have a solid recent record in the race so sticking with the better fancied runners in betting is also a good Australia Stakes betting tip.

2017 Australia Stakes Tips

Stay tuned for our insider Australia Stakes 2017 tips to be published close to the race date.

Australia Stakes Form Guide

The Australia Stakes form guide details for punters all the must know information like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field. In recent years the Australia Stakes form has held up in tougher autumn races during the Melbourne Festival of Racing like the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) at Flemington in March which the 2016 Australia Stakes runner-up Churchill Dancer ran fourth in next start.

The previous year upset Australia Stakes winner Mourinho (2015) ran third to Dissident in that year’s Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield the next month. The CF Orr winner Dissident (2015) came off a third in the Australia Stakes and went on to run third in the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) and win the Group 1 All aged Stakes (1400m) in Sydney over the autumn.

The 2014 Australia Stakes runner-up Moment Of Change went on to complete the CF Orr – Futurity Stakes double at his two next runs.

Australia Stakes Results

The Australia Stakes results have been dominated by single-figure fancies in the past decade and runners that go on to win in Group 1 company during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival. Notable recent Australia Stakes winners include Mourinho (2015), Black Caviar (2012 and 2010), El Segundo (2007) and Super Elegant (2005).

2017 Australia Stakes Results & Finishing Order

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 3 MALAGUERRA Peter Gelagotis Ben Melham 9 58.5kg $4.20
2 1 BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 2L 3 58.5kg $2.50F
3 8 SIRBIBLE Russell Bell Darren Gauci 3.5L 4 58.5kg $31
4 5 PALENTINO Darren Weir Damian Lane 5L 5 58.5kg $21
5 10 PEACOCK John O’Shea Craig Williams 5.5L 2 55kg $31
6 7 CHETWOOD John O’Shea James Doyle 6.5L 8 58.5kg $4.20
7 2 TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Kerrin McEvoy 7.25L 1 58.5kg $13
8 4 MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis Craig Newitt 7.45L 6 58.5kg $31
9 6 IT IS WRITTEN Robbie Griffiths Matthew Allen 7.65L 7 58.5kg $61
9 CAVALOCE Will Clarken Dwayne Dunn 0

Australia Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Malaguerra Black Heart Bart Sirbible 1:09.29
2016 Holler Churchill Dancer Rebel Dane 1:10.9
2015 Mourinho It is Written Dissident 1:09.9
2014 Richie’s Vibe Moment Of Change It Is Written 1:10.9
2013 Sea Lord Pinwheel Outlandish Lad 1:10.5
2012 Black Caviar Zedi Knight Doubtful Jack 1:09.4
2011 Whitefriars Undeniably Typhoon Tracy 1.09.6
2010 Black Caviar Here De Angels La Rocket 1:10.1
2009 Lucky Secret Light Fantastic Von Costa De Hero 1:11.2
2008 Let Go Thommo Maldivian Casino Prince 1:10.8
2007 El Segundo Cocinero Super Elegant 1:11.2
2006 California Dane Virage De Fortune Casual Pass 1:09.8
2005 Super Elegant Strikeline Ruben 1:10.5
2004 Vocabulary Super Elegant Confederate Kid 1:11.5
2003 Yell Libidinious Pernod 1:10.3
2002 Royal Code Intelligent Star Ustinov 1:11.0
2001 Piavonic Ateates Le Zagaletta 1:11.8
2000 Slavonic Sports Le Zagaletta 1:12.1