Bletchingly Stakes 2017

Sunday August 6th

Ladbrokes Tip: The Bletchingly Stakes serves as a good lead-up to the PB Lawrence Stakes

The Bletchingly Stakes is the final Group races of the season run on a Saturday in late July at Caulfield Racecourse during the Melbourne Winter Racing Carnival. The weight-for-age sprint is contested over 1200m and offers a total of $150,000 in total prize money.

It is the sole Black-Type race on the Caulfield card at the end-of-season meeting and can serve as either a final run for gallopers coming off a winter campaign or a Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival lead-up for new season hopefuls.

The latest edition of the Bletchingly Stakes is due to run at a postponed date of the Sunday August 6th, 2017 due to high winds at the original Caulfield meeting.

Bletchingly Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Sunday August 6th
  • Track: Ladbrokes Park (Sandown) Racecourse
  • Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $150,000
  • First Run: 1994

Bletchingly Stakes Field

The Bletchingly Stakes field attracts both end-of-season winter runners as well as spring-bound hopefuls kicking off the new season campaigns. Runners have a variety of different races they can come out of into the Bletchingly Stakes and in 2015 the winner Smokin’ Joey came off a victory in Queensland’s Listed Eye Liner Stakes (1350m).

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x169x3x34x LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price Craig Newitt 9 58.5kg 115
2 0x00x415x6 LORD OF THE SKY Robbie Laing Arron Lynch 6 58.5kg 104
3 83x211478x KEEN ARRAY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss 1 58.5kg 104
4 112x0x89x4 DIVINE TEN Kelvin Bourke Harry Coffey 10 58.5kg 89
5 089x60229x CHARMED HARMONY John Sadler Ms Katelyn Mallyon 8 58.5kg 100
6 x344943x19 TASHBEEH David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 5 58.5kg 101
7 24x43139x2 DUKE OF BRUNSWICK Mick Price Damien Oliver 7 58.5kg 94
8 x3189348x3 MURT THE FLIRT Brendan McCarthy Chris Symons 12 58.5kg 88
9 111121612x CHOCOLATE HOLIC Darren Weir Damian Lane 3 58.5kg 97
10 3047×49155 SANTA ANA LANE Lee & Anthony Freedman Mark Zahra 11 58.5kg 96
11 7x4136x111 ABILITY Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 4 58.5kg 94
12 1x17731x1x SAVANNA AMOUR John Meagher Ben Melham 2 56.5kg 92

The previous year Thiamandi (2014) also won her lead-up race into the Bletchingly Stakes field. Another good Bletchingly Stakes lead-up is the Group 3 Sir John Monash Stakes (1100m) at the same track a fortnight before, which the 2013 Bletchingly winner Second Effort finished third in.

A possible next-up run for Bletchingly Stakes graduates is Caulfield’s Group 2 PB Lawrence Stakes (1400m) in mid-August, a race the 2013 Bletchingly winner Second Effort won the previous year. Second Effort also ran third in the 2013 PB Lawrence Stakes on the back of his Group 3 win. The other race many runners back-up in is the Listed Regal Roller Stakes (1200m) a fortnight later at Caulfield Racecourse.

Bletchingly Stakes Odds

Bletchingly Stakes odds are led by proven Caulfield performers and local Melbourne hopes with good form over 1200m – 1400m. The race attracts both end-of-season and resuming spring hopefuls, so any first-up runners with a good record fresh also sit high up the Bletchingly Stakes betting markets.

Looking for in-form winter sprinters rounding out their preps in the Group 3 can also be a good Bletchingly Stakes betting guide. Bletchingly Stakes markets open the Wednesday before the race takes place on the Saturday following the release of the final field and barrier draw.

Bletchingly Stakes Tips

Top Bletchingly Stakes tips include looking for runners with a strong record over the distance (1200m), Melbourne runners that run well at the Caulfield track and Black-Type graduates coming off good lead-up winter runs.

There has been a number of double-figure winners include Thiamandi (2014) in the race so looking outside the favourite is also a good Bletchingly Stakes betting tip to consider.

Bletchingly Stakes Form Guide

The Bletchingly Stakes form guide, released when final acceptances close on the Wednesday before the race runs that Saturday, details crucial information like the jockeys and barriers as well as the lead-up runs of the sprinters in the field.

The Bletchingly Stakes form has stacked up in future Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival races a number of times in recent years including the PB Lawrence Stakes and the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) back at Caulfield in August. In 2014 the Bletchingly Stakes runner-up Gig also ran third in the Lawrence Stakes next start, a year after Second Effort (2013) ran third in the Lawrence after his Bletchingly success.

Bletchingly Stakes Results

The Bletchingly Stakes results over the past decade have been dominated by last-start winners and proven Melbourne performers. Notable recent Bletchingly Stakes winners include Smokin’ Joey (2015), Second Effort (2013), Mid Summer Music (2011) and Apache Cat (2007).

Bletchingly Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Ability Lankan Rupee Duke of Brunswick 1:14.2
2016 Lord Of The Sky Fast ‘N’ Rocking Mahuta 1:11.6
2015 Smokin’ Joey Platinum Rocker Petrology 1:11.2
2014 Thiamandi Gig Nearest To Pin 1:10.6
2013 Second Effort Academy Jack Launay 1:11.5
2012 Ready To Rip Zamorar Dusty Star 1:12.8
2011 Mid Summer Music Rue Maple Stanzout 1:11.4
2010 Shoot Out Stanzout Velocitea 1:11.7
2009 Let Go Thommo Orange County Mr Baritone 1:11.5
2008 Commanding Hope Lucky Diva Red Arrow 1:11.2
2007 Apache Cat Haradasun Honalee 1:09.3
2006 Minson Red Dazzler Snort 1:09.3
2005 Regal Roller Super Elegant Le Zagaletta 1:13.7
2004 Le Zagaletta Yell Elvstoem 1:14.3
2003 Super Elegant Ruby Slipper The Big Chill 1:06.3
2002 Rubitano Ruby Slipper Dandy Kid 1:03.7
2001 Windigo Piavonic Flavour 1:05.1
2000 Dandy Kid Miss Pennymoney St. Chrisoph 1:04.3