Bobbie Lewis Quality 2016

Saturday 10th September

Ladbrokes Tip: The Bobbie Lewis is a nice lead-up to the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in the spring

The Bobbie Lewis Quality is a Group 2 sprint held at Flemington Racecourse on Makybe Diva Stakes Day during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Run on a Saturday in early to mid-September each year, the quality handicap clash is open to horses aged four-years-old and above and is contested over 1200m.

The event is held at the same meeting as the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Danehill Stakes (1200m) and the Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m).Offering $200,000 in total prize money, the Bobbie Lewis Quality is a good lead-up race into the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield later in September. The last galloper to complete the Bobbie Lewis Quality – Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes double was Bon Hoffa (2007).

The next edition of the Bobbie Lewis Quality runs on Saturday 10th September, 2016.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Field

The Bobbie Lewis Quality field attracts a line-up of the spring’s top sprinters and middle-distance gallopers.Many come off earlier spring runs in Melbourne in lead-up races like the Group 3 The Heath 1100 (1100m) at Caulfield the previous month.

Another possible lead-up run is the Group 3 Aurie’s Star Handicap (1200m) over the same track / distance a month before. In 2013 Temple Of Boom ran second in both the Aurie’s Star and the Bobbie Lewis Quality, he was also runner-up in the 2014 Bobbie Lewis Quality.

Runners out of the Bobbie Lewis Quality field often back-up in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes or are saved for the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) the next month back at Flemington.

In 2015 Under The Louvre ran second to Churchill Dancer in the Bobbie Lewis before a third in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. The previous year Chautauqua won the Bobbie Lewis Quality – Gilgai Stakes double before a subsequent second in the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) that November.

Bobbie Lewis Quality nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday and the final field / barrier draw is out on the Wednesday.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Odds

Bobbie Lewis Quality betting is led each spring by class sprinters with good lead-up form in similar company Melbourne races. Horses with proven ability down the Flemington straight and in tougher class races from other campaigns also sit high up the Bobbie Lewis Quality odds.

Single-figure hopefuls have a good Bobbie Lewis Quality record, but outsiders have also proved value bets in recent years including Speediness ($20 in 2013) and Lone Rock ($21 in 2011).

Bobbie Lewis Quality Tips

Bobbie Lewis Quality tips include looking for sprinters with previous winning form at Flemington down the famous straight track, in-form runners coming off nice runs in late winter / early spring and those with a good 1200m record.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Form Guide

The Bobbie Lewis Quality form guide details crucial information like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of all the horses in the race. Check the guide for horses coming off a last start run in the top three and those whose records over the track / distance are solid.

The Bobbie Lewis Quality form has stacked up in better spring races many times over the years including the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, a Group 1 race Toorak Toff won in 2011 after a first-up fifth to Lone Rock in the Bobbie Lewis that season.

The next year (2012), We’re Gonna Rock won the Bobbie Lewis before a second in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and third at Moonee Valley in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m).

Bobbie Lewis Quality Results

The Bobbie Lewis Quality results have been a mixed bag over the past decade with an almost even split between the favourites and roughie hopes. Notable recent Bobbie Lewis Quality winners include Chautauqua (2014), Swift Alliance (2009) and Bon Hoffa (2007-08).

2016 Bobbie Lewis Quality Results

Bobbie Lewis Quality Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Faatinah Tivaci We’ve Got This 1:09.1
2015 Churchill Dancer Under The Louvre Gregers 1:08.8
2014 Chautauqua Temple Of Boom In Cahoots 1:08.1
2013 Speediness Temple Of Boom Albrecht 1:09.4
2012 We’re Gonna Rock Spirit Of Boom Title 1:10.8
2011 Lone Rock Bel Sprinter Danzylum 1:08.8
2010 Doubtful Jack Beltrois About Ready 1:11.4
2009 Swift Alliance Gold Salute Chasm 1:09.9
2008 Bon Hoffa Grand Duels Orange County 1:09.8
2007 Bon Hoffa Swick Flash Trick 1:10.3
2006 Bel Danoro Perfectly Ready Volitant 1:09.6
2005 Wildly Calveen Classiconi 1:09.3
2004 Face Value Via De Lago Scaredee Cat 1:11.0
2003 Titanic Jack Bomber Bill The Big Chill 1:09.8
2002 Chong Tong Rubitano Royal Code 1:10.9
2001 Scenic Peak Calm Smytzer =2 Dash For Cash =2 1:06.7
2000 Ruthless Tycoon Porto Roca Manner Hill 1:12.5