BRC Sires Produce Stakes 2017


Ladbrokes Tip: the BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes is a key lead-up to the JJ Atkins each year.

The Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes, formerly the QTC Sires’ Produce Stakes, is a feature race for two-year-olds run at Doomben Racecourse on Doomben 10,000 Day in late May each Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. Held on the same day as the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m), the 1350m contest is run at set weights and is a key lead-up to the Group 1 JJ Atkins (1600m) at Eagle Farm the following month.

Offering a total of $250,000 in total prize money, the BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes attracts the winter’s top juveniles and the last to complete the BRC Sires’ – JJ Atkins double was Sizzling (2012).

The next edition of the BRC Sires Produce Stakes takes place on May, 2017.

BRC Sires Produce Stakes Field

2017 Sires’ Product Stakes Field

The BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes field features a line-up of the best performing two-year-olds of the season from local and interstate stables. Runners come via a number of different lead-up races, but the traditional path is via a run in the Group 2 Champagne Classic (1200m) at the same Doomben track a fortnight earlier on BTC Cup Day.

Sizzling (2012) was the last horse to complete the Champagne Classic – BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes double. He also went on to take out the Group 1 JJ Atkins over the mile, run then as the TJ Smith, and so completed the Queensland 2YO Triple Crown.

The other runner to win all three Brisbane Winter features was Pressday (2010), while other recent winners of the Champagne Classic – BRC Sires’ double include Virage de Fortune (2005) and Lovely Jubly (2002). BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race with the final field and barriers out on the Wednesday.

BRC Sires Produce Stakes Betting

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes betting markets favour two-year-olds with proven ability in Group races in either Brisbane or Sydney.

Previous Group winners, those with form over at least 1200m and the best out of the earlier Group 2 Champagne Classic at the Doomben track dominate the BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes odds. The race makes a popular betting double with the following month’s JJ Atkins at Eagle Farm Racecourse and favourites have a strong recent BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes record.

BRC Sires Produce Stakes Tips

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes tips include looking for youngsters coming off a win in a similar class race like the Champagne Classic in Brisbane or a Sydney equivalent and to back runners with winning form at least up to 1200m.

The Champagne Classic is the key lead-up into the BRC Sires’ Produce, so another good betting tip is to follow that form line.

BRC Sires Produce Stakes Form Guide

The BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes form guide features all the crucial race information like the saddlecloth numbers, jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the two-year-olds in the field. Looking for Champagne Classic graduates on the form is important, as is seeking out the well-performing youngsters drawn a good gate at the tight Doomben track.

The BRC Sires’ Stakes form has also stacked up plenty of times in the JJ Atkins over the years including in 2011 when Benifca improved on a sixth in the Group 2 before a win in the Group 1 next time out.

Either side of that Pressday (2010) and Sizzling (2011) won the double, while Apercu (9th in 2007), Rockdale (2nd in 2008) and Linky Dink (10th in 2009) also all won the JJ Atkins (TJ Smith) after a lead-up run in the Brisbane Sires’ Produce Stakes.

BRC Sires Produce Stakes Results

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes results in recent years show an even spread of local Brisbane-trained winners as well as successful interstate raiders.

TSome of the more notable BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes winners include Zoustar (2013), Sizzling (2012), Pressday (2010), Shoot Out (2009) and Danleigh (2006).

{=year} BRC Sires Produce Stakes Results

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes results for the 2017 edition of the race will be published here as soon as the race takes place.

BRC Sires Produce Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Attention Dreams Aplenty Nikitas 1:19.0
2015 Look To The Stars Blueberry Hill Cylinder Beach 1:19.5
2014 Time For War Brazen Beau Looks Like The Cat 1:18.7
2013 Zoustar Vilanova Bound For Earth 1:20.5
2012 Sizzling Academus Dances On Stars 1:26.3
2011 Hot Snitzel Playtime Mahisara 1:23.3
2010 Pressday Jesse’s Girl Levi’s Choice 1:23.4
2009 Shoot Out Impulsive Dream Carrara 1:25.9
2008 Fravashi Rockdale Cat D Antibes 1:26.2
2007 Masked Assassin Diamond Deck Kyros 1:24.6
2006 Danleigh Gold Edition Upper Echelon 1:23.4
2005 Virage De Fortune Upilio Testafiable 1:21.5
2004 Star Shiraz Midnight City Rule Of Engagement 1:22.3
2003 Ambulance Sir Dex Bushland 1:23.6
2002 Lovely Jubly Sir Breakfast Saddlers Silk 1:21.4
2001 Juanmo Counter Agent Jar Jar Binks 1:21.9
2000 Reenact Adjudicator Rapid Man 1:22.5