Brisbane Cup 2019

Saturday June 8, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: The P.J. O’Shea Stakes serves as a good lead-up to the Brisbane Cup each winter

The time-honoured Brisbane Cup is a Group 2 support act run on the biggest race day of the annual Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival – Stradbroke Handicap – in early June. The event, and all others on the card, traditionally runs at Eagle Farm Racecourse but has been run and won at Doomben Racecourse in recent years due to the ongoing track issues at Eagle Farm.

When held at Eagle Farm, the Brisbane Cup is contested over 2400m but the stayers do battle over a shorter 2200m when the open handicap takes place at sister track Doomben.

There is $300,000 in total prize money on offer in the Brisbane Cup, which serves as a nice next-up option for graduates out of the Group 2 P.J. O’Shea Stakes (2200m) run the week before or the previous month’s Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m). Scenic Shot (2009) was the last horse to do the Doomben Cup – Brisbane Cup double, also winning the latter the former for a second time in 2011.

The meeting is headlined by three Group 1 races: the Stradbroke Handicap, JJ Atkins and Queensland Derby. The Brisbane Cup also originally held Group 1 status up until its down grade in 2007. As a Group 1 the event was also contested over the 3200m, two-mile traditional cup distance like the Melbourne Cup in the spring and the autumn’s Sydney Cup.

The next edition of the Brisbane Cup runs on Saturday June 8, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Race Info

  • Date: Saturday June 8, 2019
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse
  • Distance: 2200m (2400m when held at Eagle Farm)
  • Conditions: Open Handicap
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $300,000
  • First Run: 1866

Brisbane Cup Betting

Brisbane Cup betting opens the week leading-up to the race and features the winter’s top stayers. Horses that have run well in the key lead-up races including the Doomben Cup and the previous Saturday’s P.J. O’Shea Stakes sit top of the Brisbane Cup odds.

Any previous Brisbane race experience bodes well for the best in Brisbane Cup betting, but interstate raiders have had plenty of recent success in the race.

Brisbane Cup odds also suit the better-weighted runners, class horses in the mix and if there are wet tracks about in the winter obviously the proven mudlarks.

2019 Brisbane Cup Odds

Our top Brisbane Cup 2019 racing odds and betting market links will be available below as soon as available so stay tuned to back your favourite winter stayers at the right prices.

Brisbane Cup Field

Brisbane Cup Betting Odds Online -

Brisbane Cup winner Lights Of Heaven (2012) went on to run third in that year’s Caulfield Cup in the spring. Photo Credit: Steve Hart.

The Brisbane Cup field attracts a quality line-up of genuine stayers, even when contested over a shorter 2200m at Doomben instead of the 2400m at Eagle Farm.

There are a host of nice lead-up races for gallopers into the Brisbane Cup field including the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) run a fortnight earlier along with the Group 2 P.J. O’Shea Stakes (2200m) – formerly the Eagle Farm Cup – held the week before.

The official Brisbane Cup field is out on the Wednesday leading-up to Stradbroke Handicap Day following nominations on the Monday.

2019 Brisbane Cup Field

The official Brisbane Cup 2019 Final Field & Barriers will be published below so stay tuned to see what stayers make the cut in the handicap clash.

Brisbane Cup Tips

Brisbane Cup tips include looking for the best stayers out of the earlier winter staying features in the Sunshine State such as the Doomben Cup held over less distance.

Horses with winning form over 2000 – 2400m, those that sneak into the race on a nice handicap and proven Brisbane performers all make good Brisbane Cup betting tips to take to the bookies each winter.

2019 Brisbane Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Brisbane Cup 2019 tips and exotic Brisbane winter racing selections will be detailed below the week of the race so bookmark this page for the stayers to back and sack in the $300,000 classic.

Brisbane Cup Form Guide

The Brisbane Cup form guide provides punters with all the crucial horse and race info needed to place a well-informed wager on the winter showdown including the saddlecloth and barrier numbers of all the runners, their lead-up form, handicap weight allocations, jockeys and track / distance records.

The best Brisbane Cup form races to follow each winter are the Doomben Cup and P.J. O’Shea Stakes. The Brisbane Cup form has also stacked-up in tougher races during the spring on plenty of occasions including most notable in 2008 when the Bart Cummings-trained Viewed won the Brisbane Cup in the winter and the iconic Melbourne Cup on the first Tuesday of November at Flemington that spring.

2019 Brisbane Cup Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Brisbane Cup 2019 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Brisbane Cup Results

The Brisbane Cup results have been dominated by class local and visiting interstate stayers enjoying the winter sun in Queensland. Notable Brisbane Cup winners include that spring’s Melbourne Cup champion Viewed (2008), Scenic Shot (2009) who won that year’s and the 2011 Doomben Cup and the mare Lights Of Heaven (2012) who rounded out that season’s Caulfield Cup trifecta in October.

2019 Brisbane Cup Results

The official Brisbane Cup 2019 Results & Finishing Order will be announced below once the race is run and won on Saturday June 8, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sedanzer Anton En Avant Kiwia 2:18.3
2017 Chocante Single Gaze Pemberley 2:15.0
2016 Benzini Sir John Hawkwood Junoob 2:31.6
2015 Jetset Lad Sense Of Occasion Epingle 2:15.0
2014 Floria Moriarty Zephyron 2:25.6
2013 Moriarty Quintessential Zennista 2:29.1
2012 Lights Of Heaven Dance With Her Mawingo 2:29.6
2011 Tullamore Glass Harmonium De Fine Lago 2:27.5
2010 Crossthestart Scouting Wide Ekstreme 2:27.5
2009 Scenic Shot Ready To Lift Tinseltown 2:34.6
2008 Viewed Fulmonti Sky Biscuit 2:35.9
2007 Newport Lilakyn Ice Chariot 2:28.1
2006 Art Success Gorgeous George Sculptor 3:22.4
2005 Portland Singa Shamrock Shore Regal Punch 3:20.8
2004 Danestorm Pentastic Upsetthym 3:20.2
2003 Piachay County Tyrone Homewrecker 3:22.5
2002 Prized Gem Majestic Avenue Nauders 3:24.6
2001 Star Covet Citi Habit Karasi 3:17.4
2000 Yippyio Sharscay Karasi 3:24.9