BTC Cup (Kingsford Smith Cup) 2017

Saturday May 27, 2017

Ladbrokes Tip: Favourites have a poor recent record in the Kingsford Smith Cup with double figure winners dominating the results over the past decade

From 2017 the BTC Cup will be known as the Darley Kingsford Smith Cup and is no longer the opening Group 1 race of the Queensland and Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. It is now run a fortnight later in late May taking place at Eagle Farm Racecourse – moved from Doomben – and follows the Doomben 10,000 and Doomben Cup.

Formerly contested over 1200m by a field of top class local and interstate sprinters when run as the BTC Cup, the weight-for-age Kingsford Smith Cup now takes place over 1300m and offers a total of $700,000 in prize money.

The Kingsford Smith Cup is now the key lead-up to the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) held at the track the following month.

The 2017 edition of the Kingsford Smith Cup runs on Saturday May 27, 2017 .

Kingsford Smith Cup Race Info

  • Former Name: BTC Cup
  • Date: Saturday May 27, 2017
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
  • Distance: 1300m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $700,000
  • First Run: 1964

BTC Cup Odds / Kingsford Smith Cup Betting

BTC Cup betting markets are now available as the Kingsford Smith Cup odds and open to punters at all-in prices at around nomination stage offering generous prices on the top season sprinters. The Kingsford Smith Cup betting prices firm with the release of the final field the week before the race and are usually led by proven Group winners and performers coming off good lead-up form.

Sydney sprinters perform well and have traditionally sat high up BTC Cup betting. With the race date put back a fortnight from 2017, the Kingsford Smith Cup odds will now be dominated by middle-distance sprinters come off the key lead-up run in the Doomben 10,000 over 1200m a fortnight earlier.

Two horses completed the TJ Smith Stakes – BTC Cup double without a run in between before the race was changed – Apache Cat (2008) and Black Caviar (2011). Favourites in past BTC Cup betting markets had a poor recent record, the last top fancy to salute for the punters being superstar mare Black Caviar who is the most notable winner of the race. Kingsford Smith Cup favourites get the chance to improve the record of top fancies with the race run a fortnight after over more distance at the Eagle Farm track.

2017 Kingsford Smith Cup Betting

The Kingsford Smith Cup 2017 betting odds on the race formerly known as the BTC Cup will be available below during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival so stay tuned to access the best markets on the Group 1 lead-up to the Stradbroke Handicap.

Kingsford Smith Cup Field

The BTC Cup field always attracted a stellar line-up of top sprinters. In the past 30 years the largest BTC Cup field was 20 starters when Goldorme won in 1986. The smallest BTC Cup field in recent history was just seven starters when Famous Seamus won in 2014.

The new-look Kingsford Smith Cup field will feature primarily Stradbroke Handicap-bound horses coming off a Doomben 10,000 run and is released on the Wednesday before the race following nominations in early May, and first acceptances for the Kingsford Smith Cup a fortnight later.

Kingsford Smith Cup betting at Ladbrokes

Black Caviar (2011) is the most famous BTC Cup winner before the race changed to the Kingsford Smith Cup from 2017. Photo Credit: Taron Clarke.

2017 Kingsford Smith Cup Field

The BTC Cup field will be known as the Kingsford Smith Cup field for the first time in 2017 and is set for release by Queensland Racing on Wednesday May 24, 2017. First Kingsford Smith Cup 2017 nominations close on May 3, followed by first acceptances on May 17, 2017.

Kingsford Smith Cup Tips

Looking for sprinters with good lead-up form in either Brisbane’s Victory Stakes or a Sydney sprint feature were, up until 2017, good BTC Cup tips. New Kingsford Smith Cup tips however will favour the best weight-for-age performers out of the Doomben 10,000 results a fortnight earlier at Brisbane’s other premier track.

Last start winners don’t have the best record so look for value in a runner out to improve off a placing last time out when doing the Kingsford Smith Cup betting tips.

Barriers 2 – 5 produced all but one of the 11 BTC Cup winners from 2006 – 2016, so looking for horses drawn near the inside is another good tip for punters.

2017 Kingsford Smith Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Kingsford Smith Cup 2017 tips – formerly the BTC Cup betting tips – will be detailed below the week of the race so stay tuned for the winter horses to back and sack this May.

Kingsford Smith Cup Form Guide

The Kingsford Smith Cup form guide details all the must know info for punters including barriers, jockeys and the lead-up runs of the horses in the field.

Standout BTC Cup form facts – before the race name was changed in 2017 – included runners drawn in barriers 1 – 6 dominating the results and the standout record five-year-olds in the race.

Looking for horses with previous experience at the race’s new home – Eagle Farm Racecourse – is now an important thing to check for doing the Kingsford Smith Cup form, which is also set to stack-up in the Stradbroke Handicap.

Kingsford Smith Cup Form Facts

  • Black Caviar (2011) was the last favourite in BTC Cup betting to salute
  • The old BTC Cup form races change from 2017 with the Doomben 10,000 now the key lead-up to the Kingsford Smith Cup
  • Horses coming off a top-three run have dominated the race results in the past decade and that is expected to remain a key Kingsford Smith Cup form line

BTC Cup & Kingsford Smith Cup Results

Upset results from the BTC Cup are not uncommon with a host of roughies saluting in the race. From 2006 – 2016 six of the 11 winners jumped at double figures including Famous Seamus ($21 in 2014) and Hot Snitzel ($26 in 2015).

Notable recent BTC Cup winners include Black Caviar (2011), Apache Cat (2008) and Falvelon (2003). From 2017 the event name has changed and the results will see a new era of Kingsford Smith Cup winners and results.

2017 Kingsford Smith Cup Results

The official 2017 Kingsford Smith Cup Results & Finishing Order will be available here once the former BTC Cup race takes place on Saturday May 27, 2017 .

BTC Cup / Kingsford Smith Cup Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Malaguerra Dothraki Japonisme 1:08.7
2015 Hot Snitzel Knoydart Our Boy Malachi 1:09.4
2014 Famous Seamus Spirit Of Boom Buffering 1:09.0
2013 Your Song Rain Affair Better Than Ready 1:11.2
2012 Sea Siren Scenic Blast Beaded 1:08.3
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Buffering 1:08.8
2010 Albert The Fat Melito Latin News 1:09.2
2009 Duporth Bank Robber Apache Cat 1:08.9
2008 Apache Cat Vormista Swiss Ace 1:09.3
2007 Bentley Biscuit Takeover Target Mitanni 1:08.5
2006 Gee I Jane Daunting Lad All Bar One 1:08.6
2005 Spark Of Life St Basil Regimental Gal 1:09.0
2004 Thorn Park Star Of Florida Regimental Gal 1:08.7
2003 Falvelon Make Mine Magic Diamond Dane 1:10.0
2002 Lord Essex Falvelon Phoenix Park 1:08.3
2001 Fritz Show A Heart King Lotto 1:09.1
2000 Falvelon Mr Innocent Toledo 1:08.4