Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes 2017

Saturday 7th October

Ladbrokes Tip: Runners drawn in barriers 3 – 7 have a strong record in the Caulfield Stakes

The Ladbrokes Stakes is one of four Group 1 features on the Caulfield Guineas Day card in Melbourne in early October to kick off the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival each year. It is the Caulfield Racecourse meeting’s staying feature run over 2000m under weight-for-age conditions, open to horses aged three and over. Worth $400,000 in prize money the race makes a nice lead-up into the Cox Plate and was first run in 1886 and won by Isonomy. Since then there has been many notable Caulfield Stakes winners including Wakeful (1901 & 1902), triple champ Eurythmic (1920-22), Ajax (1938), Comic Court (195), Sky High (1961 & 1962), Kingston Town (1981 & 1982), Rough Habit (1994), Lonhro (2002 & 2003), So You Think (2010) and Atlantic Jewel (2013).

This year the Caulfield Stakes will be run on Saturday 7th October, 2017.

Caulfield Stakes Field

The Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes field features a host of the season’s premier weight-for-age hopefuls but isn’t known for attracting bumper final acceptances. The event ran with under 10 starters every year from 2001 – 2013 before a dozen lined-up in the 2014 field when Fawkner won. The field traditionally features staying types heading into another spring WFA classic – the Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) at Moonee Valley Racecourse and recent winners of the Ladbrokes Stakes – Cox Plate double include Northerly (2001), So You Think (2010) and Ocean Park (2012).

2017 Caulfield Stakes Field

Caulfield Stakes Betting & Odds

Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes betting is at its peak the week of the race with punters looking towards the favourite as they have saluted in the race four times since 2009, most recently with Atlantic Jewel (2013). Usually sitting top of the Caulfield Stakes odds are horses that ran well in their latest Group lead-up with five of the past six Caulfield Stakes winners having run first or second last time out including Fawkner (2014) who was runner-up in the Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington the run before. Four and five year old horses also dominate the betting with just one horse since 2009 winning from outside this age group – Fawkner taking it out as a seven-year-old.

Caulfield Stakes Tips

Caulfield Stakes tips include selecting a horse that ran first or second last time out and to look for graduates of the Underwood Stakes that has produced six of the past 10 winners – the last to complete the double being the Kiwi Ocean Park (2012). Also, looking for runners drawn in barrier five is a good tip as this gate has produced three winners since 2009 including Atlantic Jewel (2013) who beat home the boys in the classic on the back of an Underwood Stakes second.

Caulfield Stakes Form Guide

The Ladbrokes Stakes form guide has all the details punters need to place a well-informed wager on the weight-for-age feature with information including the saddlecloth numbers, trainers, jockeys and barriers of all the starters. Many punters will be keen to find a Mark Kavanagh-trained runner in the mix as he’s trained three winners since 2007 with Maldivian (2007), Whobegotyou (2009) and Atlantic Jewel (2013).

Caulfield Stakes Results

The Caulfield Stakes results and finishing order are known when the Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas Day showdown runs as Race 6 on the early October program and show exactly where your selection ran, the winning time / margin as well as the starting price of all the horses and any official scratchings.

2017 Caulfield Stakes Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 3 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 57kg $1.24F
2 1 BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 2L 1 59kg $4.80
3 2 HE OR SHE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams 6L 2 59kg $21

Caulfield Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Winx Black Heart Bart He Or She 2:03:4
2015 Criterion Happy Trails Mongolian Khan 2:02.0
2014 Fawkner Criterion Side Glance 2:01.6
2013 Atlantic Jewel Foreteller Super Cool 2:02.9
2012 Ocean Park Alcopop Sincero 2:04.7
2011 Descarado Avienus Lights of Heaven 2:02.5
2010 So You Think Alcopop Whobegotyou 2:02.4
2009 Whobegotyou Heart Of Dreams Vision And Power 2:01.5
2008 Douro Valley Pompeii Ruler Guillotine 2:04.3
2007 Maldivian Miss Finland Anamato 2:01.9
2006 Casual Pass Pompeii Ruler El Segundo 2:02.6
2005 El Segundo Fields Of Omagh Confectioner 2:04.8
2004 Mummify Grand Armee Starcraft 2:03.2
2003 Lonhro Mummify Defier 2:02.3
2002 Lonhro Sunline Ustinov 2:00.6
2001 Northerly Shogun Lodge Ethereal 2:02.5
2000 Sky Heights Shogun Lodge Tie The Knot 2:03.6