Chelmsford Stakes 2017

Saturday 2nd September

Ladbrokes Tip: Trainer Chris Waller has a gun recent record in the Chelmsford Stakes

The Chelmsford Stakes is a Group 2 race conducted at Royal Randwick Racecourse in early September during the annual Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

It is one of three Group 2 races on the card along with the Furious Stakes for three-year-old fillies and the Tramway Handicap. Offering $250,000 in total prize money, the Chelmsford Stakes is run over 1600m and the weight-for-age clash is open to gallopers aged three-years-old and over.

The race is a nice lead-up to tougher events in both Sydney and Melbourne during the spring including the Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m) back at the track a fortnight later.

The last horse to complete the Chelmsford Stakes – George Main Stakes double was Lonhro (2003) who also won the 2002 edition of the former. In 2015 Kermadec ran second in the Chelmsford Stakes before winning the George Main at his next start, while stablemate Royal Descent ran third and second in the same two races respectively that year.

The next edition of the Chelmsford Stakes takes place on Saturday 2nd September, 2017.

Chelmsford Stakes Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 4x12x3361x SENSE OF OCCASION Kris Lees Corey Brown 2 59kg 113
2 13311255×4 RED EXCITEMENT Gerald Ryan Joshua Parr 5 59kg 108
3 7255x3642x WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller Christian Reith 1 59kg 108
4 112x8746Px LIBRAN (IRE) Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 8 59kg 107
5 x5543321x8 ALLERGIC James Cummings Tim Clark 12 59kg 106
6 112x1240x5 ANTONIO GIUSEPPE (NZ) Chris Waller Tye Angland 10 59kg 103
7 121x37301x CHOCANTE (NZ) Stephen Marsh Rory Hutchings 9 59kg 101
8 3x1412x3x5 SARRASIN (GB) Chris Waller Michael Walker 4 59kg 98
9 1841x122x2 LIFE LESS ORDINARY (IRE) Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 11 59kg 92
10 1212652×57 HARPER’S CHOICE Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 6 58.5kg 89
11 111x1111x1 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 57kg 132
12 1x027530x0 LASQUETI SPIRIT Lee Curtis Jay Ford 7 56.5kg 102

The Chelmsford Stakes field attracts a line-up of the season’s exciting milers and middle-distance weight-for-age performers.

A traditional lead-up to the race is the Group 2 Warwick Stakes (1400m) also run at Randwick a fortnight earlier. In 2015 the Chelmsford Stakes winner Complacent came off a 12th in the Warwick Stakes. The Warwick Stakes also produced the Chelmsford Stakes runner-up Kermadec (5th) and third placegetter Royal Descent (1st).

Other recent Chelmsford Stakes winners to come off a Warwick Stakes run include dual champion Hawkspur (7th in 2013 and 5th in 2014), Danleigh (3rd in 2012), Trusting (5th in 2011) and Theseo (5th in 2010). Lonhro (2003) was the last to complete the double.

Chelmsford Stakes nominations close the Monday prior to the race taking place that Saturday, while the final field and barriers are out on the Wednesday.

McEwen Stakes nominations close the Monday prior to the race taking place that Saturday followed by the release of the final acceptances and barriers on the Wednesday.

Chelmsford Stakes Nominations

# Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 111x1111x1 WINX M 6 Chris Waller 1 57kg 132
2 4x12x3361x SENSE OF OCCASION G 7 Kris Lees 2 59kg 113
3 14x24141x2 FOXPLAY M 4 Chris Waller 3 56.5kg 112
4 13311255×4 RED EXCITEMENT G 8 Gerald Ryan 4= 59kg 108
5 7255x3642x WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) G 9 Chris Waller 4= 59kg 108
6 560x2612x7 ZANBAGH M 7 John P Thompson 4= 57kg 108
7 110x8747x4 HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 7= 59kg 107
8 112x8746Px LIBRAN (IRE) G 7 Chris Waller 7= 59kg 107
9 x5543321x8 ALLERGIC G 6 James Cummings 9 59kg 106
10 112x1240x5 ANTONIO GIUSEPPE (NZ) G 5 Chris Waller 10 59kg 103
11 1x027530x0 LASQUETI SPIRIT M 4 Lee Curtis 11 56.5kg 102
12 121x37301x CHOCANTE (NZ) G 5 Stephen Marsh 12 59kg 101
13 3x1412x3x5 SARRASIN (GB) H 6 Chris Waller 13= 59kg 98
14 223x6905x2 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) G 7 Chris Waller 13= 59kg 98
15 1841x122x2 LIFE LESS ORDINARY (IRE) G 6 Chris Waller 15 59kg 92
16 1212652×57 HARPER’S CHOICE H 4 Gerald Ryan 16 58.5kg 89

Chelmsford Stakes Betting & Odds

Chelmsford Stakes odds are dominated by proven Sydney milers coming off a good run in the Warwick Stakes at the same track two weeks before.

In-form horses from the stables of Chris Waller also feature prominently in Chelmsford Stakes betting as he has a strong recent record in the race. Upsets are not uncommon and the last double-figure winner was Complacent ($31 in 2015).

Chelmsford Stakes Tips

Good Chelmsford Stakes tips include looking at the form coming out of the Warwick Stakes, runners that have good records over the mile, proven weight-for-age performers and horses with a liking for the Randwick track.

Chelmsford Stakes Form Guide

The Chelmsford Stakes form guide gives punters all the information they need to place a well-informed wager on the race like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field.

Over the years the Chelmsford Stakes winner has come off a Warwick Stakes run more than any other lead-up race. Chris Waller has prepared more horses to finish in the Chelmsford Stakes trifecta in the past decade than any other trainer.

The Chelmsford Stakes form has stacked up in other bigger races during the Spring Carnival in Sydney in recent years.

Chelmsford Stakes Results

Local Sydney-trained gallopers under $10 for the win have dominated the Chelmsford Stakes results in the past 10 years. Notable recent Chelmsford Stakes winners include Hawkspur (2013-14), Danleigh (2012), Theseo (2010) and Lonhro (2002-03).

2017 Chelmsford Stakes Results

Chelmsford Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Winx Red Excitement Chocante 1:34.3
2016 Hartnell Grand Marshal Storm The Stars 1:39.1
2015 Complacent Kermadec Royal Descent 1:37.6
2014 Hawkspur Royal Descent Bagman 1:39.3
2013 Hawkspur Beaten Up Lightinthenite 1:34.7
2012 Danleigh Secret Admirer Lamasery 1:36.2
2011 Trusting My Kingdom Of Fife Strike The Stars 1:37.1
2010 Theseo Metal Bender Purple 1:39.6
2009 O’lonhro Miss Marielle Triple Honour 1:34.5
2008 Gallant Tess Triple Honour Kishkat 1:39.3
2007 Race not run
2006 Eremein Newton’s Rings Aqua d’ Amore 1:35.5
2005 Nevis Sir Dex Natural Blitz 1:35.7
2004 Unearthly So Assertive Niello 1:37.9
2003 Lonhro Platinum Scissors Excellerator 1:35.1
2002 Lonhro Platinum Scissors Republic Lass 1:36.3
2001 Brave Prince Zabeels Angel The Man 1:24.5
2000 Pasta Express Celestial Choir Al Mansour 1:30.3