Danehill Stakes 2016

Saturday 10th September

Ladbrokes Tip: Danehill Stakes runners often back-up in the Caulfield Guineas

The Danehill Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds run down the famous ‘Straight Six’ at Flemington Racecourse on Makybe Diva Stakes Day during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The day’s racing at the mid-September meeting is headlined by the weight-for-age Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m).

There are three Group 2 support acts on the card with the Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) and the Danehill Stakes. A 1200m sprint, the Danehill Stakes is run at set weights plus penalties and offers $200,000 in total prize money.

It is a key lead-up into the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m), but the double hasn’t been achieved in the past 30 plus years.

The next edition of the Danehill Stakes takes place on Saturday 10th September, 2016.

Danehill Stakes Field

The Danehill Stakes field attracts a quality line-up of three-year-olds many heading towards longer distance runs for their age during the spring. The key lead-up race into the Danehill Stakes is the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes (1200m) at Caulfield the previous month.

In 2015 Ready For Victory ran second in the McNeil and third in the Danehill Stakes behind Kinglike. Ready For Victory also went on to run third to Press Statement in that year’s Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m), which is a target for many horses coming out of the Danehill Stakes field each spring.

Another possible lead-up run is Moonee Valley’s Listed McKenzie Stakes (1200m), a race Rich Enuff won on way to his Danehill Stakes success in 2014. Rich Enuff also won the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude (1400m) next start before his Caulfield Guineas second to Shooting To Win.

Éclair Big Bang come off a Danehill Stakes third to Charlie Boy in 2013 before backing up to win the Caulfield Guineas.

Fillies meanwhile may come off an August run in the Group 3 Quezette Stakes (1100m) at Caulfield before taking on the boys. In 2013 Kiss A Rose won the Quezette before a second to Charlie Boy in the Danehill Stakes. Danehill Stakes nominations are taken the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday with the final field and barriers released on the Wednesday.

Danehill Stakes Betting & Odds

Danehill Stakes betting is led by in-form three-year-olds with proven form over 1200m that were likely tested in tougher company during their last campaign. Horses that ran well in the HDF McNeil Stakes the start before and those that have previous experience down the testing Flemington straight also sit high up the Danehill Stakes odds each year.

Double-figure hopes in Danehill Stakes markets have recent winning form in the Group 2 including Charlie Boy ($21 in 2013).

Danehill Stakes Tips

Danehill Stakes tips include looking for three-year-olds coming off a top three run in similar class last start, proven Group performers, those with winning Flemington form down the straight and runners backing up from a race like the McNeil Stakes.

Danehill Stakes Form Guide

The Danehill Stakes form guide features all the information for punters from barriers, jockeys and trainers to the lead-up runs of the horses in the field. Looking at the form for three-year-olds coming off a top three run and jumping at single-figures in betting is key.

Danehill Stakes Results

The Danehill Stakes results have been dominated by class three-year-olds in the past decade jumping at under $10 in betting.

Notable recent Danehill Stakes winners include Rich Enuff (2014), Snitzerland (2012), Sepoy (2011), Black Caviar (2009) and Fastnet Rock (2004).

2016 Danehill Stakes Results

Danehill Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Saracino Archives Samara Dancer 1:09.8
2015 Kinglike Raphael’s Cat Ready For Victory 1:09.0
2014 Rich Enuff Looks Like The Cat Ghibellines 1:08.1
2013 Charlie Boy Kiss A Rose Eclair Big Bang 1:10.0
2012 Snitzerland Stralia Rusambo 1.10.5
2011 Sepoy Hallowell Belle Unique Quality 1:08.7
2010 Soul Buffering General Truce 1:11.6
2009 Black Caviar Wanted Rarefied 1:09.9
2008 Aichi Time Chief Niccconi 1:10.4
2007 Tan Tat de Lago Scenic Blast Purrealist 1:10.9
2006 The One Anamato Sharkbite 1:10.4
2005 Jet Spur Queen of the Hill Stratum 1:09.5
2004 Fastnet Rock Brannigan Assafa 1:09.2
2003 Abdullah Critical List Bronc 1:12.0
2002 Planchet Blur Choisir 1:08.7
2001 Chongtong North Boy Spectatorial 1:09.0
2000 St Petersburg Cosset Ceffyl 1:10.4