Doomben Cup 2017

Saturday May 20, 2017

Ladbrokes Tip: Four-year-olds have a dominant Doomben Cup record in recent years.

The Doomben Cup is the second Group 1 race of the annual Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival after the Doomben 10,000 and takes place on a Saturday in mid – late May at Doomben Racecourse. Contested over 2000m the weight-for-age event attracts a field of class staying types and offers $650,000 in total prize money including $416,000 to the winning connections.

The winner of the A.D. Hollindale Stakes at the Gold Coast a fortnight earlier is exempt from Doomben Cup ballot and the double was last achieved by Streama (2014).

The next edition of the Doomben Cup runs on Saturday May 20, 2017 .

Doomben Cup Race Info

  • Date: Saturday May 20, 2017
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse
  • Distance: 2000m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $650,000
  • First Run: 1933

Doomben Cup Odds

Doomben Cup betting is open at futures prices around nomination stage offering generous all-in prices on the hopeful horses. The Doomben Cup odds firm on the confirmed runners after final acceptances are taken the Wednesday before the race runs on the Saturday.

Horses that ran top three in the AD Hollindale Stakes at the Gold Coast two weeks earlier feature highly up the Doomben Cup betting markets. Until Our Ivanhowe (The BMW 10th in 2016), no Doomben Cup winner had come off a run worse than fifth since King Keitel (6th in NZ) in 2001, so runners that finished top five in the lead-up dominate betting for the Group 1. Favourites and equal favourites have a solid recent record in the Doomben Cup including Streama (2014) and Pornichet (2015) who both saluted for the punters.

2017 Doomben Cup Betting

The season’s latest Doomben Cup 2017 betting odds will be available here as soon as markets on the Group 1 weight-for-age Brisbane race are out so stay tuned.

Doomben Cup Field

The Doomben Cup field features a top line-up of weight-for-age horses each winter with the largest field in recent years being 20 starters when Bush Padre won in 2003.

The smallest recent Doomben Cup field was nine runners in 2011 when Scenic Shot won; this is the only line-up of under 10 runners in over 30 years. Horses traditionally come into the Doomben Cup field via a run at the Gold Coast in the Hollindale Stakes a fortnight earlier over 200m shorter; recent winners of both races include Streama (2014), Metal Bender (2010), Above Deck (2006) and Mr Bureaucrat (2002).

From 2006 – 2016 six of the 11 Doomben Cup winners came out of the A.D. Hollindale Stakes. Doomben Cup nominations close on the Wednesday two weeks before the race with the final field of acceptances closing a fortnight later on the Wednesday of race week.

Doomben Cup betting odds at

Streama (2014) was the last horse to complete the AD Hollindale Stakes – Doomben Cup double during the winter. Photo Credit: Daniel Costello.

2017 Doomben Cup Field

The official Doomben Cup 2017 Field & Barriers are set to be released on Wednesday May 17, 2017 and will be published below so stay tuned to view for the winter hopefuls that make the cut.

Doomben Cup Tips

Looking for proven weight-for-age types that ran top three in the Hollindale Stakes last time out are good Doomben Cup tips. Also looking for runners drawn in barriers 1 – 8 is favourable when doing the betting tips with double digit barriers rarely producing a winner.

Sydney visitors also have a dominant Doomben Cup record so watching for the interstate-trained visitors is also a good tip.

2017 Doomben Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Doomben Cup 2017 betting tips and exotic Group 1 Brisbane race selections will be detailed below the week of the race so bookmark this page for the gallopers to back and sack this season.

Doomben Cup Form Guide

The Doomben Cup form guide features all of the essential information for punters including the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field. Looking for horses coming out of the Hollindale Stakes when doing the Doomben Cup form is crucial, as is seeking out staying types with winning form at least over 2000m.

Doomben Cup Form Facts

  • The AD Hollindale Stakes produced five of the 10 Doomben Cup winners from 2007 – 2016
  • Last start winners have a dominate record in the Doomben Cup results of the past decade
  • Only two mares have won the Doomben Cup in the past 30 plus years – Cinque Cento (2007) and Streama (2014)

Doomben Cup Results

Favourites have a credible recent record in the Doomben Cup results, but the longest priced winner in recent years was Cinque Centro ($21 in 2007) and before them Sapio ($61 in 1997). Notable recent Doomben Cup winners include Pornichet (2015), Streama (2014), Metal Bender (2010) and Above Deck (2006).

Doomben Cup 2017 Results

The official 2017 Doomben Cup Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the race is run and won in Brisbane on Saturday May 20, 2017 .

Doomben Cup Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Our Ivanhowe Hauraki It’s Somewhat 2:01.4
2015 Pornichet Weary I’m Imposing 2:02.5
2014 Streama Leebaz Junoob 2:01.7
2013 Beaten Up Foreteller Secret Admirer 2:04.3
2012 Mawingo Lights Of Heaven Manighar 2:02.0
2011 Scenic Shot My Kingdom Of Fife Glass Harmonium 2:03.7
2010 Metal Bender Gold Water Triple Honour 2:02.6
2009 Scenic Shot Racing To Win Sir Slick 2:02.8
2008 Sarrera Rampant Lion Like It Is 2:03.3
2007 Cinque Cento Gaze Pentathon 2:01.8
2006 Above Deck Octapussy Roman Arch 2:13.8
2005 Perlin Platinum Scissors Natural Blitz 2:15.0
2004 Defier Pentastic Upsetthym 2:11.6
2003 Bush Padre Freemason Maguire 2:13.0
2002 Mr Bureaucrat Galroof Freemason 2:14.0
2001 King Keitel Shogun Lodge Kasakh Belle 2:01.9
2000 Akhenaton Integrate Cruzeiro 2:04.7