Futurity Stakes 2019

Saturday February 23, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: Look for horses coming out of the CF Orr Stakes at the same track and distance a fortnight earlier.

The Futurity Stakes is one of three Group 1 Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival features held at Caulfield Racecourse on Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day in late February each year. The weight-for-age feature runs over 1400m and offers $500,000 in total prize money.

There are three elite level races at the meeting, which is headlined by the two-year-olds facing off in the Group 1 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m).

The traditional lead-up race into the Futurity Stakes is the Group 1 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes (1400m) conducted at the same track and distance a fortnight earlier. From 2013-18 five of the Futurity Stakes winners came off a CF Orr Stakes run, including Black Heart Bart (2017) who did the double and the also Darren Weir-trained Brave Smash (2018) who improved on a lead-up third on the Orr Stakes.

This autumn’s edition of the Futurity Stakes took place on Saturday February 23, 2019.

2018 Futurity Stakes Results

  • 1st: #3 Brave Smash
  • 2nd: #1 Tosen Stardom
  • 3rd: #11 Showtime

Futurity Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday February 23, 2019
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $500,000
  • First Run: 1897

2019 Futurity Stakes Results

The official Futurity Stakes Results 2019 and Finishing Order will be published below when the race is run and won on Saturday February 23, 2019.

The 2018 Futurity Stakes Results saw gun Victorian trainer Darren Weir train the quinella with the Japanese expat’s Brave Smash and Tosen Stardom running first and second respectively.

Futurity Stakes betting is normally dominated by horses coming off a win with all but two of the nine Futurity Stakes winners from 2010-18 not having won their lead-up race.

Futurity Stakes Betting & Odds

The CF Orr Stakes is the best guide to Futurity Stakes odds and favourites in the markets have a nice recent record with seven saluting for the punters from 2010-2018.

In-form mares also usually sit high up the Futurity Stakes betting markets with four mares beating home the boys from 2007-2018.

2019 Futurity Stakes Odds

The Futurity Stakes 2019 betting odds will be available below as soon as markets on the Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day support act are out.

Futurity Stakes Field

The Futurity Stakes field limit is 16 starters, but the weight-for-age classic has only run at capacity once since 1983 back in 1986 when the Bart Cummings-trained three-year-old Campaign King won. The race usually attracts horses of all ages however the Group 1 Ladbrokes C.F. Orr Stakes (1400m) also run at Caulfield two weeks earlier is the traditional lead-up.

Many horses target the CF Orr Stakes – Futurity Stakes double and the double has been achieved four times since 2010 with Typhoon Tracy (2010), All Too Hard (2013), Moment Of Change (2014) and Black Heart Bart (2017).

Futurity Stakes odds on 2014 winner Moment Of change were short

Moment Of Change (2014) is a recent winner of the CF Orr Stakes – Futurity Stakes double. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Nominations are taken the Monday before the race with the final Futurity Stakes field of acceptances released on the Wednesday.

2019 Futurity Stakes Field


Futurity Stakes Tips

The best Futurity Stakes tips are to look for horses coming off a Group race win especially the CF Orr Stakes winner at the same track and distance a fortnight before and to look for horses drawn in barriers 4 – 6 as those gates produced six winners between 2010 and 2018.

Other good Futurity Stakes betting tips include backing the favourite and steering away from runners that didn’t have their final lead-up in a Melbourne race.

2019 Futurity Stakes Tips

Our insider Ladbrokes’ Futurity Stakes 2019 betting tips will be detailed below the week of the race so stay tuned for the gallopers to back and sack in the autumn Group 1.

Futurity Stakes Form Guide

The Futurity Stakes form guide shows punters the trainers, jockeys, barriers and other crucial information on the horses in the field. The guide shows the CF Orr Stakes is the best form to follow into the Futurity Stakes field each year with 10 winners of the latter coming out of the earlier Caulfield clash from 2005-2018.

Other important Futurity Stakes form guide facts to consider include the solid form of three-year-olds over the past two decades, the strong record of trainer David Hayes and the winning strike rate in the race of jockey Damien Oliver who boasts four wins to date.

Futurity Stakes Form Facts

  • Last start winners dominate recent the recent Futurity Stakes results with all but two of the nine winners from 2010 – 2018 coming off a win
  • No Futurity Stakes winner has jumped from a double-digit barrier draw since Niconero (10 of 12 in 2008)
  • The CF Orr Stakes has produced more Futurity Stakes champions than any other lead-up in the past two decades
  • Favourites in Futurity Stakes betting saluted for the punters seven times in the nine years from 2010 – 2018

2019 Futurity Stakes Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Futurity Stakes 2019 Form Guide will be provided below the week of the race.

Futurity Stakes Results

The Futurity Stakes results and finishing order showing the placings of all the runners in the field along with the winning margins, trainer, jockey and time are out when the race runs at Caulfield Racecourse as part of Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day.

The results also show the successful Futurity Stakes exotics like quinella and trifecta combinations. Favourites have dominated the Futurity Stakes results over the past decade as have last start winners and notable champions of the race include More Joyous (2011), all Too Hard (2013) and Black Heart Bart (2017).

Recent Futurity Stakes Winners

2018 Brave Smash Tosen Stardom Showtime
2017 Black Heart Bart Tosen Stardom Ecuador
2016 Turn Me Loose Murray Baker Opie Bosson
2015 Suavito Smokin’ Joey Dissident
2014 Moment Of Change Sertorius Pinwheel
2013 All Too Hard Glass Harmonium King Mufhasa
2012 King Mufhasa Pinker Pinker Adamantium
2011 More Joyous Whobegotyou Dao Dao
2010 Typhoon Tracy Dao Dao Sniper’s Bullet
2009 Niconero Light Fantastic Alamosa
2008 Niconero Cargo Cult Miss Finland
2007 Aqua D’amore Seachange El Segundo
2006 Fields Of Omagh Red Dazzler Rosden