Herbert Power Stakes 2017

Early October

Ladbrokes Tip: The Herbert Power Stakes is a good Spring Cups lead-up guide

The Herbert Power Stakes is a Group 2 staying race for Spring Cup hopes run on Caulfield Guineas Day at Caulfield Racecourse in early October each Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The meeting features four Group 1 races including the Caulfield Guineas (1600m) and Thousand Guineas (1600m) for three-year-olds.
The other two majors on the card are the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes (2000m) and the Group 1 Toorak Handicap (1600m). Along with the four elite levels there are also two Group 2 support acts with the Schillaci Stakes (1100m) for sprinters and the Herbert Power Stakes run over the mile and a half (2400m).
Offering a generous $400,000 in total prize money, the race is a quality handicap clash that serves as a traditional lead-up to the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) over the same track / distance later in the month. The last horse to complete the Herbert Power Stakes – Caulfield Cup in the same season was Master O’Reilly (2007).

The next edition of the Herbert Power Stakes is set to run on Early October, 2017.

Herbert Power Stakes Field

The Herbert Power Stakes field attracts a quality line-up of proven stayers with an eye on returning to the track for a shot at the Caulfield Cup the following Saturday.
Increasingly Melbourne Cup types heading towards the world’s richest handicap over the two miles at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November, including international raiders, feature in the final field.

Many runners contest the Herbert Power Stakes after a run in the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) at Flemington earlier in October, which last produced a winner of the Group 2 with Amralah (7th) in 2015.The other key lead-up is Moonee Valley’s Group 3 JRA Cup (2040m) in late September, which last produced a winner with Big Memory (8th) in 2014.
Runners may back-up from a Herbert Power Stakes run in the Group 3 Lexus Stakes (2500m) on Victoria Derby Day, a race the 2015 runner-up Excess Knowledge won before his seventh in the Melbourne Cup.

The 2014 Herbert Power Stakes winner Big Memory ran second in the Lexus Stakes that year after a 10th in the Caulfield Cup, the Lexus won by Signoff who improved on a Herbert Power second two runs earlier. Signoff also went on to run fourth to Protectionist, who crossed fourth in the event in his Australian debut, in that year’s Melbourne Cup.
Herbert Power Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday and final acceptances are out on the Wednesday.

Herbert Power Stakes Betting & Odds

Herbert Power Stakes betting opens after the release of the final field and barriers on the Wednesday before Caulfield Guineas Day on the Saturday in early – mid October.
Proven stayers with form over the mile and a half (2400m), those with Group race experience in Melbourne and the better-weighted hopefuls sit high up the Herbert Power Stakes odds.

Herbert Power Stakes Tips

Good Herbert Power Stakes tips include taking proven staying types coming off a top four run carrying a light weight with ability over the distance.

Single-figure fancies have a strong recent record in the race so taking runners under $10 in betting is also a valuable tip to take on board with your spring punting.

Herbert Power Stakes Form Guide

The Herbert Power Stakes form guide features all the essential stats and info including the jockeys, trainers, barriers, weights and lead-up runs of the horses in the field.

In recent years the Herbert Power Stakes form has stacked-up in tougher Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival features including the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

In 2014 German raider Protectionist ran fourth in the Herbert Power Stakes before his Melbourne Cup win that spring. The year before the Herbert Power Stakes third placed Simenon backed up and ran a credible fourth to Fiorente in the 2013 Melbourne Cup. The last horse to win the Herbert Power Stakes – Melbourne Cup double was Rogan Josh (1999) and a decade later the Herbert Power runner-up Shocking (2009) won the Melbourne Cup later that season.

Herbert Power Stakes Results

Single-figure stayers have dominated the Herbert Power Stakes results over the past decade with the last double-figure winner being Shahwardi ($14 in 2012). Notable recent Herbert Power Stakes winners include Big Memory (2014), Linton (2010), Alcopop (2009) and Master O’Reilly (2007).

Herbert Power Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Assign Big Memory Pemberley 2:29.1
2015 Amralah Excess Knowledge Bohemian Lily 2:27.7
2014 Big Memory Signoff Let’s Make A Deal 2:26.6
2013 Sea Moon Oasis Bloom Simenon 2:29.9
2012 Shahwardi Excluded Exceptionally 2:28.8
2011 Shewan Tanby Moyenne Corniche 2:30.7
2010 Linton Cedarberg Precedence 2:29.4
2009 Alcopop Shocking Hissing Sid 2:27.2
2008 Dolphin Jo The Wolverine Cefalu 2:30.2
2007 Master O’reilly Zavite Reggie 2:30.0
2006 Growl Dracs Back Siamun 2:29.3
2005 Leica Falcon Sarrera Hugs Dancer (Fr) 2:29.5
2004 Rizon Grey Song Zazzman 2:31.7
2003 Yakama Physique Vicksburg 2:30.7
2002 The Secondmortgage Requiem Thong Classic 2:29.8
2001 Freemason The Secondmortgage Rain Gauge 2:30.7
2000 Majestic Avenue Bulkhead Bohemiath 2:31.4