McEwen Stakes 2017

September 9, 2017

Ladbrokes Tip: The McEwen Stakes is a good guide to the Group 1 Manikato Stakes

The McEwen Stakes is a Group 2 sprint race contested at Moonee Valley Racecourse on Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes Day in early September during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Headlining the day’s action is the Group 2 Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes (1600m) for Cox Plate hopes, while the McEwen Stakes attracts horses heading towards the carnival’s Group 1 sprint features.

Run over 1000m, the McEwen Stakes is a weight-for-age event offering $200,000 in total prize money and was elevated from a Group 3 event for the 2013/14 season. It makes a nice spring kick-off for horses heading towards features like the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) back at Moonee Valley the following month as well as Flemington’s Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) held during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Recent winners of the McEwen Stakes – Manikato Stakes double include Chautauqua (2015), Hay List (2010) and Miss Andretti (2006).

The latest edition of the McEwen Stakes took place on September 9, 2017 .

2017 McEwen Stakes Results

  • 1st: #1 Russian Revolution
  • 2nd: #5 Heatherly
  • 3rd: #7 Houtzen

McEwen Stakes Race Facts

  • Date: September 9, 2017
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
  • Distance: 1000m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1995

McEwen Stakes Field

The McEwen Stakes field attracts a class line-up of early spring sprint types heading towards more lucrative features over similar distance over the coming weeks and months in Melbourne.

Many runners in the McEwen Stakes field will be racing first-up or coming off an earlier run at the track in the Listed Carlyon Stakes (1000m).

In 2014 Angelic Light ran third in the Carlyon Stakes before her McEwen Stakes success. She also went on to run second to Lankan Rupee in that year’s Group 1 Manikato Stakes. Lankan Rupee had run second in both the McEwen Stakes and Moir Stakes before his Manikato win and subsequent third in the Darley Classic.

The following year Chautauqua (2015) won the McEwen Stakes first-up before winning the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) at Flemington followed by the Manikato Stakes. He also ran second in the Darley Classic that November.

McEwen Stakes nominations close the Monday prior to the race taking place that Saturday followed by the release of the final acceptances and barriers on the Wednesday.

2017 McEwen Stakes Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11114x164x RUSSIAN REVOLUTION Peter & Paul Snowden 4 58.5kg 108
2 113x34423x HELLBENT Darren Weir 1 58.5kg 105
3 x113x930x1 SUPIDO Michael Kent Luke Nolen 5 58.5kg 103
4 35x19242x1 MISSROCK Robbie Laing Damien Oliver 2 56.5kg 107
5 x132x618x2 HEATHERLY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 3 56.5kg 107
6 x39x6111x4 UNIQUE LOVELY Frankie Stockdale Noel Callow 7 56.5kg 74
7 11115x HOUTZEN Toby Edmonds Craig Williams 6 50kg 90

McEwen Stakes Betting & Odds

McEwen Stakes odds are released by bookmakers shortly after the final field and barrier draw is out the Wednesday before the race. Betting is traditionally led by smart sprinters with form at the tight Moonee Valley circuit that have been tested in tougher class.

If racing first-up, those with good records fresh are also dominant in McEwen Stakes betting each spring.

McEwen Stakes Tips

Good McEwen Stakes tips include looking for previous Moonee Valley winners, sprinters that can handle the short 1000m trip and class gallopers that have Group 1 experience from previous campaigns.

McEwen Stakes Form Guide

The McEwen Stakes form guide provides punters with all the must-know information including the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up form of the runners in the field.

In recent years the McEwen Stakes form has held up in many tougher spring races including the Moire Stakes and Darley Classic.

McEwen Stakes Results

McEwen Stakes in the past decade have been dominated by the class horses in the race, many of which went on to enjoy Group 1 success later that campaign. Upsets still occur however including the win by Kuroshio ($16) in 2013.

Notable recent McEwen Stakes winners include Chautauqua (2015), Buffering (2011), Hay List (2010) and Miss Andretti (2006).

2017 McEwen Stakes Results

The official Mitty’s McEwen Stakes 2017 results and finishing order will be known and published below on September 9, 2017 .

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 1 RUSSIAN REVOLUTION Peter & Paul Snowden Mark Zahra 4 58.5kg $3.40
2 5 HEATHERLY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 1.25L 3 56.5kg $7.50
3 7 HOUTZEN Toby Edmonds Craig Williams 2.5L 6 50kg $2.45F
4 4 MISSROCK Robbie Laing Damien Oliver 2.6L 2 56.5kg $9.50
5 3 SUPIDO Michael Kent Luke Nolen 3.35L 5 58.5kg $10
6 2 HELLBENT Darren Weir Dwayne Dunn 3.45L 1 58.5kg $14
6 UNIQUE LOVELY Frankie Stockdale Noel Callow 0

McEwen Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Russian Revolution Heatherly Houtzen 0.58.1
2016 Wild Rain Furnaces Heatherly 0:58.8
2015 Chautauqua Flamberge Furnaces 0:58.2
2014 Angelic Light Lankan Rupee Eloping 0:57.5
2013 Kuroshio Moment Of Change General Truce 0:57.8
2012 Bel Sprinter Platelet Snitzem 0:57.3
2011 Buffering Crystal Lily Atomic Force 0:58.5
2010 Hay List Catapulted Reward For Effort 0:59.6
2009 Nicconi Morgan Dollar Secret Flyer 0:57.4
2008 Kaphero Morgan Dollar Lucky Secret 0:59.4
2007 Here De Angels Gold Edition Dr Nipandtuck 0:57.4
2006 Miss Andretti Sassbee Cargo Cult 0:58.8
2005 Strikeline Truly Wicked Titanic Jack 0:59.8
2004 Edgeton Reactive Mistegic 1:01.8
2003 Yell The Big Chill Dantana 0:59.6
2002 Mistegic Shaye Spice Aragonce 1:00.2
2001 Strategic Image Sports Ateates 0:58.4
2000 Testa Rossa Sports Chattanooga 1:13.4