Melbourne Cup Horses 2018

Tuesday November 6, 2018

Each year the finest Melbourne Cup horses take to the Flemington track on the first Tuesday of November in the ‘race that stops a nation’. The Melbourne Cup field for the $6.2 million classic has a capacity of 24 runners that can run and look to add their name to the iconic list of Melbourne Cup winners.

2018 Melbourne Cup Results

  • 1st: Cross Counter
  • 2nd: Marmelo
  • 3rd: A Prince Of Arran

Increasingly the Melbourne Cup horses that line-up in the famous Flemington Race 7 come for overseas. Doing the form on the Melbourne Cup horses is essential and looking for gallopers proven at the distance can be key. Melbourne Cup horses come into the Group 1 two-mile feature via a host of lead-up races including the Moonee Valley Gold Cup, Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate.

Famous Melbourne Cup Horses & Odds - Ladbrokes

Americain makes the list of famous Melbourne Cup horses having been the first French-trained winner of the ‘race that stops a nation’ in 2010. Photo Credit: Taron Clarke.

The official list and field for the Melbourne Cup is announced on the Saturday before the race after the racing action of Victoria Derby Day. Once the Melbourne Cup horses are confirmed, the Melbourne Cup barrier draw then takes place to determine the starting positions of the hopefuls in the race.

Some of the most famous Melbourne Cup horses include the inaugural winner Archer (1861-62), triple champion Makybe Diva (2003-05), Kingston Rule who set the winning time record in 1990 and Prince Of Penzance (2015) who won at odds of $101!

2018 Melbourne Cup Final Field: Melbourne Cup Horses Confirmed

The official Melbourne Cup 2018 Final Field & Barrier Draw is listed below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 x3195x1111 BEST SOLUTION (IRE) Saeed Bin Suroor Pat Cosgrave 6 57.5kg 114
2 x512433x43 THE CLIFFSOFMOHER (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore 9 56.5kg 112
3 57x150x11x MAGIC CIRCLE (IRE) Ian Williams Corey Brown 17 56kg 111
4 5x211250x0 CHESTNUT COAT (JPN) Yoshito Yahagi Yuga Kawada 4 55.5kg 110
5 1796x4341x MUNTAHAA (IRE) John Gosden Jim Crowley 13 55.5kg 110
6 144x1132x0 SOUND CHECK (GER) Michael Moroney Jordan Childs 16 55.5kg 110
7 x6731x7694 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller Ben Melham 18 55.5kg 110
8 5462×02410 ACE HIGH David Payne Tye Angland 22 55kg 110
9 1x69x2112x MARMELO (GB) Hughie Morrison Hugh Bowman 10 55kg 109
10 3326×11114 AVILIUS (GB) James Cummings Glyn Schofield 11 54.5kg 1.5kg 109
11 2x436013x1 YUCATAN (IRE) Aidan O’Brien James McDonald 23 54.5kg 2.5kg 108
12 56164×5266 AUVRAY (FR) Richard Freedman Tommy Berry 1 54kg 107
13 13x655x1x3 FINCHE (GB) Chris Waller Zac Purton 15 54kg 107
14 x5x0x08030 RED CARDINAL (IRE) Darren Weir Damien Oliver 5 54kg 102
15 21x05x4059 VENGEUR MASQUE (IRE) Michael Moroney Patrick Moloney 2 54kg 104
16 7829×79401 VENTURA STORM (IRE) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Mark Zahra 7 54kg 105
17 2188632×31 A PRINCE OF ARRAN (GB) Charlie Fellowes Michael Walker 20 53kg 105
18 1x5x005770 NAKEETA (GB) Iain Jardine Regan Bayliss 3 53kg 105
19 4513×01473 SIR CHARLES ROAD Lance O’Sullivan & Andrew Scott Dwayne Dunn 14 53kg 102
20 58402×0080 ZACADA (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Damian Lane 24 53kg 100
21 231130×341 RUNAWAY Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Stephen Baster 12 52kg 1.5kg 102
22 11113×6327 YOUNGSTAR Chris Waller Craig Williams 8 51.5kg 107
23 11x24112x CROSS COUNTER (GB) Charlie Appleby Kerrin McEvoy 19 51kg 109
24 3×41922515 ROSTROPOVICH (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Wayne Lordan 21 51kg 109

2018 Melbourne Cup Horses

  • #1 Best Solution: This year’s Caulfield Cup winner holds the entire hopes of Saeed Bin Suroor on his shoulders, as the famous Godolphin trainer is yet to win a Melbourne Cup. In-form jockey Pat Cosgrave is on board with 57.5kg after riding three winners for Godolphin in the month of September. Best Solution has drawn gate six, a barrier that has produced five winners in the past.
  • #3 Magic Circle: After an Irish trifecta last year, Magic Circle has remained steady as this year’s second-elect after drawing barrier 17. Ian Williams’ seven-year old won the Chester Cup and the Group 2 Henry Stakes in Britain back in May, and enters as one of the elite stayers to contest Australia’s great race.
  • #9 Marmelo: Hughie Morrison is back with Marmelo after running a disappointing ninth last year. Hugh Bowman is on board once again with 55kg, but the stable have held the six-year old to just four lead up starts, the last of which was in August over 3000m in the Group 2 Kergorlay in Britain. Reports are that Marmelo has returned stronger and more mature, making the proven stayer a big chance.
  • #11 Yucatan: Even after drawing barrier 23 Yucatan has remained the $6.50 favourite. The five-year old is one of three hopes for trainer Aidan O’Brien, and after winning the Group 2 Herbert Power last start in convincing fashion, you have to like his chances. Yucatan won that race by 1.25L, but it could have been much more had he not been eased up over the final furlong.
  • #17 A Prince of Arran: Trainer Charlie Fellowes will be hoping A Prince of Arran can become the first horse since Shocking in 2009 to win the Lexus Stakes-Melbourne Cup double. It was tough to fault him during last week’s win after he attacked the line strongly. A softer surface could be a problem, but A Prince Of Arran is a strong straight ahead horse that should show his usual speed late.