Memsie Stakes 2018

Saturday September 1, 2018


Ladbrokes Tip: First-up runners with a good fresh record are worth backing to win the Memsie Stakes

The Memsie Stakes is the opening Group 1 race of the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and takes place at Caulfield Racecourse in late August or early September. The headline race at the meeting, the weight-for-age clash is run over 1400m and gives the season’s top milers and stayers an early chance at elite level glory. Worth a lucrative $1 million in prize money, the Memsie Stakes is often contested by horses heading towards the season’s majors including the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup.

Elevated to a Group 1 race in 2013 it has been won by many notable horses including Atlantic Jewel (2013), So You Think (2010), Weekend Hussler (2008), Miss Finland (2007), Makybe Diva (2005), dual champ Sunline (2000 & 2001) and Dane Ripper (1998).

The latest edition of the Memsie Stakes is set to take place on Saturday September 1, 2018.

Memsie Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday September 1, 2018
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $1 million
  • First Run: 1899

Memsie Stakes Betting & Odds

The race market and odds will be released here the day the final field is published by Racing Australia.

Memsie Stakes betting is always popular as the markets usually feature some smart types returning from their winter spells. Favourites have a gun record in the race so looking for the horses at the top of the Memsie Stakes odds is always a good bet.

From 2007 – 2016 six favourites in Memsie Stakes betting saluted for the punters, most recently Black Heart Bart (2016).  Betting really heats up once the field is out and horses drawn well usually dominate the markets as just one Memsie Stakes winner has jumped from a double digit barrier since 2004 with King’s Rose (11 in 2011).

Memsie Stakes Field

The Memsie Stakes field has a capacity of 16 starters, but hasn’t run with its maximum number of contenders since 2000 when Sunline won the first of her two editions of the spring lead-up. The race field has attracted 11 or more starters every year since 2003 apart from in 2005 when Makybe Diva beat home only six rivals.

Memsie Stakes betting at

Black Heart Bart (2016) was the last favourite in Memsie Stakes betting to salute for the punters. Photo Credit: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Horses traditionally run in the Memsie Stakes field first-up and in 2015-16 the winner had their last start in Brisbane’s Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap the previous June with Boban (2015) and Black Heart Bart (2016) both improving on seconds in that winter feature. The best out of the Memsie Stakes field traditionally back-up a fortnight later at Flemington in the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m), the double last completed by Dissident (2014).

The Memsie Stakes final acceptances are released on the Wednesday before the race runs on a Saturday and the nominations close that Monday.

2018 Memsie Stakes Field

The official Memsie Stakes 2018 Final Field & Barrier Draw can be found below..

Memsie Stakes Tips

Memsie Stakes tips historically have the favourite predicted as the one to beat as history shows the shorter priced horses have an outstanding recent record in the weight-for-age race. Classy miler – stayer types are also popular in the tipping as all seven winners from 2010 – 2016 had their lead-up run into the race in Group 1 company, including two that came out of an autumn run in the Doncaster Mile with Dissident (12th in 2014) and Sincero (4th in 2012).

2018 Memsie Stakes Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Memsie Stakes 2018 betting tips and early spring Group 1 race selections will be detailed below the week of the race so bookmark this page for the horses to back and sack in the Caulfield classic.

2018 Memsie Stakes Final Field

The final field for the 2018 Memsie Stakes can be found below:

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1262x1213x HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Mark Zahra 7 59kg 118
2 x323529x49 BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 4 59kg 113
3 x11257x8x1 VEGA MAGIC David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 6 59kg 114
4 520x4184x8 HUMIDOR (NZ) Darren Weir Damian Lane 3 59kg 116
5 x200812436 JUNGLE EDGE Mick Bell Kevin Forrester 5 59kg 108
6 81111329×1 DOLLAR FOR DOLLAR Tony McEvoy Jamie Kah 9 59kg 102
7 31x11111x4 KINGS WILL DREAM (IRE) Darren Weir John Allen 11 59kg 102
8 0x11130x24 KEMENTARI James Cummings Glyn Schofield 8 58.5kg 109
9 3x1111x5 GRUNT (NZ) Mick Price Luke Currie 1 58.5kg 106
10 0x23723x51 SHOWTIME Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 2 58.5kg 109
11 3x222415x5 OREGON’S DAY Mick Price Michael Dee 10 57kg 106

The latest Memsie Stakes 2018 betting odds on the spring’s first Group 1 race will be available right here as soon as released, so stay tuned for value on the field of early season gallopers.2018 Memsie Stakes Odds

Memsie Stakes Form Guide

The form guide has all the details you need to know before placing your bets on the season’s opening Group 1 clash. Along with the saddlecloth numbers, trainers, jockeys and barriers the form guide shows the recent lead-up runs of all the runners and their starting price in the markets. Looking for horses that have previous Group 1 experience, run well fresh and are drawn well are all important things the form guide will show you.

Memsie Stakes Form Facts

  • All seven Memsie Stakes winners from 2010 – 2016 had their final lead-up run in Group 1 company
  • The Stradbroke Handicap in Brisbane produced back-to-back winners in 2015 and 2016
  • Since 2003 just one victor has jumped form a double-digit barrier
  • Favourites saluted in the race six times from 2008 – 2016

Memsie Stakes Results

The results and finishing order are published when the WFA feature runs as Caulfield Race 8 on the first major meeting of the spring in Melbourne. The results show the winner, successful quinella and trifecta as well as the margin and time run to see if any records are broken.

2018 Memsie Stakes Results

The official Memsie Stakes 2018 results & finishing order will be published in full right here once the Group 1 race is run and won on Saturday September 1, 2018.

Memsie Stakes Winners

2017Vega MagicBlack Heart BartTosen Stardom1:23.3

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Humidor Kementari Kings Will Dream 1:23.2
2016 Black Heart Bart Rising Romance Mahuta 1:23.9
2015 Boban Entirely Platinum Stratum Star 1:24.6
2014 Dissident Sweet Idea Puissance De Lune 1:22.7
2013 Atlantic Jewel Ferlax Super Cool 1:24.4
2012 Sincero Happy Trails Second Effort 1:23.2
2011 King’s Rose Heart Of Dreams Red Colossus 1:23.4
2010 So You Think Whobegotyou Shoot Out 1:26.6
2009 Mic Mac Whobegotyou Zarita 1:24.4
2008 Weekend Hussler Maldivian Pompeii Ruler 1:23.2
2007 Miss Finland Haradasun Tipungwuti 1:24.2
2006 El Segundo Casual Pass Apache Cat 1:23.2
2005 Makybe Diva Barely A Moment Regal Roller 1:26.7
2004 Regal Roller Pacific Dancer Delzao 1:23.0
2003 Le Zagaletta Super Elegant Out Of Options 1:25.2
2002 Magical Miss Fields Of Omagh Dash For Cash 1:24.0
2001 Sunline Piavonic Rum 1:25.5
2000 Sunline Umrum Oliver Twist 1:25.4