Missile Stakes 2018

Saturday August 4th

Ladbrokes Tip: The Missile Stakes is a starting point for Group 1-bound sprinters in the spring.

The Missile Stakes is a Group 2 sprint race held at the very start of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival at Royal Randwick Racecourse on Saturday 6th August.It is the headline race at the meeting that also features the $100,000 Listed The Rosebud (1200m) for three-year-olds heading towards the Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes (1400m).

Run under weight-for-age conditions, the Missile Stakes is contested over 1200m and offers $150,000 in total prize money. Recently upgraded from its previous Group 3 status, it is the first Group race of the new racing season in Sydney.

The bulk of the runners in the race are kicking off their campaigns and heading towards tougher assignments in Sydney and Melbourne over the coming weeks / months including Caulfield’s Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m).

The next edition of the Missile Stakes takes place on Saturday August 4th, 2018.

Missile Stakes Odds

Horses with proven ability at the 1200m sprint distance and a good Sydney race record feature high-up the Missile Stakes odds each spring.

The odds and final field is out now so check them out below.

Of the resuming runners in the field, the best in Missile Stakes betting are those with a nice record first-up, while the in-form winter runners coming to the end of their campaigns are also handy in markets each season.

Missile Stakes Field

2018 Missile Stakes Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 50100x1x0x MUSIC MAGNATE (NZ) Bjorn Baker Hugh Bowman 7 58.5kg 111
2 320x11130x KEMENTARI James Cummings Glyn Schofield 4 58.5kg 109
3 510x23723x SHOWTIME Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 6 58.5kg 106
4 37x121122x PIERATA Gregory Hickman James McDonald 8 58.5kg 105
5 34430×5104 THE MONSTAR Brett Cavanough Tye Angland 3 58.5kg 104
6 1x1x31117x LANCIATO (NZ) Mark Newnham Ms Rachel King 10 58.5kg 103
7 400x78056x TAKEDOWN Gary Moore Tim Clark 9 58.5kg 103
8 01Dx0230x9 BOSS LANE Ron Quinton Andrew Adkins 5 58.5kg 101
9 1x10x1085x SHE WILL REIGN Gary Portelli Kerrin McEvoy 1 56.5kg 108
10 5278x1327x EGYPTIAN SYMBOL Bjorn Baker Jason Collett 2 56.5kg 103

Fit winter types can also feature in the Missile Stakes line-up and boast the edge over the resuming sprinters. Missile Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race with final acceptances and the barrier draw released on the Wednesday.The Missile Stakes field features a classy line-up of sprinters and middle distance gallopers, the bulk of which are first-up off a winter spell. It is the first Group race of the season and many runners have bigger targets coming up including Randwick’s Group 2 Warwick Stakes (1400m), another weight-for-age event.

The other runner to win all three Brisbane Winter features was Pressday (2010), while other recent winners of the Champagne Classic – BRC Sires’ double include Virage de Fortune (2005) and Lovely Jubly (2002). BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race with the final field and barriers out on the Wednesday.

Missile Stakes Tips

Looking for the proven first-up sprinters with form in tougher company are good Missile Stakes betting tips. Other important tips to look at when making your Missile Stakes selections include keeping an eye out for runners with winning form at the Randwick track and those suited at weight-for-age.

Missile Stakes Form Guide

The Missile Stakes form guide features all the essential information including the saddlecloth numbers, barriers, jockeys, trainers and recent runs of the horses in the field.

The Missile Stakes form has stacked up in other good spring Group races over the years including the Group 2 Warwick Stakes (1400m). In 2013 Rain Affair won the Missile Stakes before a third in the Warwick Stakes next time out. In 2011 Pinwheel ran third in the Missile before a Warwick Stakes victory and came back in 2012 to complete the Missile Stakes – Warwick Stakes double.

The best out of the Missile Stakes can also go onto Group 1 company during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. In 2014 Sweet Idea won the Missile Stakes before finishing second to Dissident in the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield next time out. That same year the Missile Stakes third placegetter Rebel Dane also ran third next start in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley in Victoria.

Missile Stakes Results

The Missile Stakes results have been dominated by local Sydney sprinters running first-up for the season. Notable recent Missile Stakes winners include Sweet Idea (2014), Rain Affair (2013 and 2011), Pinwheel (2012) and Dance Hero (2005).

2018 Missile Stakes Results

Missile Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Invincible Gem Le Romain The Monstar 1:11.8
2016 Tycoon Tara Rebel Dane Mount Nebo 1:15.6
2015 Burbero Weary Temple Of Boom 1:09.1
2014 Sweet Idea Messene Rebel Dane 1:09.4
2013 Rain Affair Mic Mac Title 1:10.8
2012 Pinwheel Centennial Park Rolling Pin 1:09.7
2011 Rain Affair Winter King Pinwheel 1:10.7
2010 Love Conquers All Danleigh Sniper’s Bullet 1:12.4
2009 Teasing Gold Trail Typhoon Zed 1:04.4
2008 Captain Bax Typhoon Zed Interfere 1:05.4
2007 German Chocolate La Montagna Vionneto 1:04.6
2006 Imprisoned Crimson Reign Mac’S Tune 1:06.3
2005 Dance Hero Snippetson Spark Of Life 1:02.8
2004 Spark Of Life Into The Night Dane Shadow 1:02.8
2003 Pompeii Academe Our Egyptian Raine 1:03.7
2002 Lonhro Ancient Song Notoire 1:03.5
2001 Sportsbrat Air She Goes Lonhro 1:06.7
2000 Padstow Wynciti Celestial Choir 1:03.8