MLB – Major League Baseball 2018

Major League Baseball, known as the MLB, is America’s oldest pro-sport. The National League began in 1876 before the current competition, the world’s premier baseball tournament, was founded in 1903.

There are 30 MLB Teams facing off for the World Series title with 29 from the US and one Canadian outfit. The tournament is separated into the National League (NL) and American League (AL) that boast 15 teams each.

The most successful Major League club with a bumper 27 titles is the New York Yankees; New York City is also home to the MLB Headquarters.

The MLB Season sees each of the 30 teams play 162 games each with the top five clubs from each league going forward into the Major League Baseball playoffs. This post-season MLB tournament takes place over four rounds and comes to an end with the World Series.

Baseball is one of the most watched and supported sports in America and betting on the MLB is also popular with Aussie punters drawn in by the big name clubs like the Boston Red Sox and Chicago Cubs.

The biggest MLB betting event is of course the best-of-seven World Series Championship Series. The MLB World Series pits the two MLB League Champions against each other in a fight for the title and betting on the World Series Winner is open all season.


The 2018 MLB Season runs from March 29 – October 31, 2018 with the World Series set to kick off on October 24.

Early MLB predictions have the defending World Series Champions the Chicago Cubs to go back-to-back after winning their first title in over 100 years in 2016.

Other early MLB teams tipped to perform well during the season include the Boston Red Sox and Cleveland Indians.

  • MLB 2018 Regular Season: April 2, 2017 – October 1, 2017
  • MLB 2018 Post-Season: Begins October 3, 2017
  • MLB 2018 World Series: Begins October 24 – Game 7 (if needed) November 1, 2017
  • 2017 Major League Baseball All-Star Game: July 11, 20177 at Marlins Park (88th Edition)


MLB betting is open right across the season at Ladbrokes including all-in prices on the MLB World Series Winner.

MLB odds are open for all matches during the regular season and some of the most popular Major League Baseball bet types are detailed below.


Open on all MLB games these baseball odds offer a price for each of the two teams to win. The shorter-priced MLB team are the favourites and punters can also take advantage on MLB Line Betting plus Total Runs – under or over a set number.


A popular MLB betting market is to tip which team in a match will be ahead after the 1st Innings. There are also prices offered on whether or not a Run will be Scored in the 1st Innings.


Get MLB Odds on the total runs made in the 1st 5 innings, plus betting on the Highest Scoring Innings, whether the total Match Runs will be and Odd / Even number and whether there will be Extra Innings.


MLB Betting on the New York Yankees at Ladbrokes

The New York Yankees have won more MLB World Series than any other club. Photo Credit: MLB.

There are thirty MLB Teams playing in the current tournament all looking to make the World Series and take out the title. The Major League Baseball franchises are divided into the American League and National League each with 15 clubs each.

There are three divisions within each of the MLB Leagues – East, Central and West – and the full list of Major League Baseball teams can be found below.


Division Team City Stadium (Capacity) Founded
East Baltimore Orioles Baltimore, MD Oriole Park at Camden Yards (45,971) 1901
East Boston Red Sox Boston, MA Fenway Park (37,949) 1901
East New York Yankees New York City, NY Yankee Stadium (49,638) 1901
East Tampa Bay Rays St. Petersburg, FL Tropicana Field (31,042) 1998
East Toronto Blue Jays Toronto, ON Rogers Centre (49,282) 1977
Central Chicago White Sox Chicago, IL Guaranteed Rate Field (40,615) 1901
Central Cleveland Indians Cleveland, OH Progressive Field (35,225) 1901
Central Detroit Tigers Detroit, MI Comerica Park (41,297) 1901
Central Kansas City Royals Kansas City, MO Kauffman Stadium (37,903) 1969
Central Minnesota Twins Minneapolis, MN Target Field (38,871) 1901
West Houston Astros Houston, TX Minute Maid Park (41,676) 1962 (NL) / 2013 (AL)
West Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Anaheim, CA Angel Stadium (45,957) 1961
West Oakland Athletics Oakland, CA Oakland–Alameda County Coliseum (35,067) 1901
West Seattle Mariners Seattle, WA Safeco Field (47,943) 1977
West Texas Rangers Arlington, TX Globe Life Park in Arlington (48,114) 1961


Division Team City Stadium (Capacity) Founded
East Atlanta Braves Cumberland, GA SunTrust Park (41,500) 1871 (NA) / 1876 (NL)
East Miami Marlins Miami, FL Marlins Park (36,742) 1993
East New York Mets New York City, NY Citi Field (41,922) 1962
East Philadelphia Phillies Philadelphia, PA Citizens Bank Park (43,651) 1883
East Washington Nationals Washington, D.C. Nationals Park (41,313) 1969
Central Chicago Cubs Chicago, IL Wrigley Field (41,268) 1874 (NA) / 1876 (NL)
Central Cincinnati Reds Cincinnati, OH Great American Ball Park (42,319) 1882 (AA) / 1890 (NL)
Central Milwaukee Brewers Milwaukee, WI Miller Park (41,900) 1969 (AL) / 1998 (NL)
Central Pittsburgh Pirates Pittsburgh, PA PNC Park (38,362) 1882 (AA) / 1887 (NL)
Central St. Louis Cardinals St. Louis, MO Busch Stadium (43,975) 1882 (AA) / 1892 (NL)
West Arizona Diamondbacks Phoenix, AZ Chase Field (48,519) 1998
West Colorado Rockies Denver, CO Coors Field (50,398) 1993
West Los Angeles Dodgers Los Angeles, CA Dodger Stadium (56,000) 1884 (AA) / 1890 (NL)
West San Diego Padres San Diego, CA Petco Park (40,162) 1969
West San Francisco Giants San Francisco, CA AT&T Park (41,915) 1883