Myer Classic 2016

Saturday 29th October 2016

Ladbrokes Tip: Backing mares with previous winning form over the mile is a good Myer Classic tip

The Myer Classic is a feature mile race for fillies and mares run at Flemington Racecourse on Victoria Derby Day during the Melbourne Cup Carnival in late October or early November each spring. Derby Day kicks off the four-meeting Cup Carnival and takes place on the Saturday before the Melbourne Cup on the first Tuesday of November. Four Group 1 features headline the card including the Myer Classic run over 1600m, the weight-for-age event worth $500,000 in prize money. The race is known as the Myer Classic for sponsorship purposes but is officially registered as the Empire Rose in honour of top mare Empire Rose, winner of the 1988 Melbourne Cup, the year the now Myer Classic first ran. It has held Group 1 status since 2004 and notable Myer Classic winners include Red Tracer (2013), Typhoon Tracy (2009) and Divine Madonna (2007).

This year the Myer Classic will be run on Saturday 29th October 2016.

Myer Classic Field

The Myer Classic field has a capacity of 16 starters plus four emergencies and was last run at that maximum in 2014 when Bonaria scored an upset as a 25/1 shot. The race hasn’t attracted under double figure starters since 2010 when Sacred Choice beat home just eight rivals. Final Myer Classic acceptances close on the Wednesday before the race takes place on the Saturday with nominations only taken on that Monday.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 063540×274 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damian Lane 14 57kg 107
2 26x1240x51 FIRST SEAL John P Thompson Blake Shinn 1 57kg 110
3 49x2515x05 ZANBAGH John P Thompson Mark Zahra 5 57kg 100
4 2311118×35 DANISH TWIST Kris Lees Joao Moreira 8 57kg 104
5 31122×4167 HEAVENS ABOVE Tim Martin Tye Angland 15 57kg 103
6 1220×67216 FRENCH EMOTION Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 57kg 94
7 3x1210x511 DON’T DOUBT MAMMA Tony McEvoy Dwayne Dunn 13 56.5kg 105
8 x70331x574 SERENE MAJESTY Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 9 56.5kg 89
9 64027×1033 PEARLS John O’Shea James McDonald 12 56.5kg 97
10 11422×2021 DIXIE BLOSSOMS Ron Quinton Tim Clark 4 56.5kg 98
11 395262×444 DENMAGIC David Pfieffer Tommy Berry 6 56.5kg 88
12 13x12x21 EURO ANGEL (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Zac Purton 11 56.5kg 95
13 4x150x722 PURE PRIDE (NZ) Murray Johnson Craig Williams 7 56.5kg 78
14 1x1111x273 WHISPERING BROOK Simon A Miller Chris Parnham 2 49kg 92
15 611×15423 I AM A STAR (NZ) Shane Nichols Dean Yendall 10 49kg 94

Myer Classic Betting & Odds

Myer Classic betting markets are most popular with the punters the week of the race and are usually dominated by fillies and mares coming out of a race like the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield; the last mare to complete the Tristarc Stakes – Myer Classic double being Red Tracer (2013). The Tristarc also produced Appearance (2012) who improved on a seventh in the Group 2 for an upset at $40 in the Group 1. Favourites have won five times in the past 10 years, Red Tracer the most recent, but upsets are also common with plenty of double figure winners including Sacred Choice ($20 in 2010), Hurtle Myrtle ($15 in 2011), Appearance ($40 in 2012) and Bonaria ($25 in 2014).

Myer Classic Tips

Myer Classic tips aren’t always in favour of the top fancy in the markets with so many upset Myer Classic results in recent years. Mares drawn out wide aren’t shied away from either with every winner from 2011 – 2014 jumping from either barrier 10 or 13. The older mares fare well and six-year-olds could be the ones to consider in the Myer Classic tips with Red Tracer (2013) and Bonaria (2014) going back-to-back for this age group in recent years.

Myer Classic Form Guide

The Myer Classic form guide has all the info you need before you enjoy a punt on the race including saddlecloth numbers, barriers, jockeys and trainers. Michael Rodd has ridden two of the past three Myer Classic winners with Appearance (2012) and Bonaria (2014) so looking for his name on the form guide could be a nice tip. The form also shows the lead-up runs of the mares in the race, and since 2011 only one winner came off a last-start victory.

Myer Classic Results

Myer Classic results and the finishing order of all the fillies and mares in the field are known when the event runs as Flemington Race 8 on Victoria Derby Day each Melbourne Cup Carnival. As well as the winner you can find out the winning margin and time, full placings and the starting price of every runner plus any scratchings.

2016 Myer Classic Results

Myer Classic Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Politeness Fenway Azkadellia 1:37.7
2014 Bonaria Sweet Idea Catkins 1:36.5
2013 Red Tracer Catkins Fire Up Fifi 1:36.4
2012 Appearance Soft Sand Secret Admirer 1:34.9
2011 Hurtle Myrtle Sacred Choice Dysphonia 1:37.5
2010 Sacred Choice Typhoon Tracy Hot Danish 1:38.9
2009 Typhoon Tracy Lady Lynette Zarita 1:35.3
2008 Forensics Absolutely Fabulous Mimi Lebrock 1:35.9
2007 Divine Madonna Translate Red for Lou 1:36.1
2006 Lyrical Bid Sea Change Kosi Bay 1:37.6
2005 Lotteria Miss Potential Shania Dane 1:35.4
2004 Miss Potential Alinghi Infinite Grace 1:37.5
2003 Zanna Infinite Grace Mrs Tendulkar 1:38.4
2002 Miss Zoe Purple Groove Ramanos Star 1:35.8
2001 Market Price Pernod Calm Smytzer 1:34.2
2000 Super Sequel Its Platonic Nova Claus 1:37.8