NRL Finals 2017

Friday September 8th - Saturday September 23rd

The 2017 NRL Finals Series concluded with the Melbourne Storm defeating the Cowboys in the Grand Final on October 1

The 2017 NRL Finals are some of the most exciting weeks of Australian Rugby League and lead into the highly anticipated NRL Grand Final run in Sydney at ANZ Stadium on the first Sunday in October.

Each year the annual Telstra Premiership provides fans with endless NRL betting odds and options with the season starting with 26 regular games as the 16 teams race for competition points and ladder positions.

At the end of the standard season the Top 8 teams on the NRL Ladder play off in the finals series over four weeks in August and September. The final two teams left after the finals are run and won then face off in the annual Grand Final to determine that year’s NRL Premiers.

NRL Premiership betting is open all season offering all-in prices on each club to take it out.

2017 NRL Finals Betting & Draw

2017 NRL Grand Final Result

Melbourne Storm (36) defeated North Queensland Cowboys (6)

NRL Finals Results: Week Three

  • Eliminated Teams:
    Brisbane Broncos
    Sydney Roosters

NRL Preliminary Final 1:

Melbourne Storm (30) defeated Brisbane Broncos (0)

Friday September 22, 2017 (7:55pm) – AAMI Park

The Brisbane Broncos have been knocked out of the race towards the 2017 NRL Premiership going down, as the betting markets suggested, to the Minor Premiers Melbourne. The visitors came out firing in the opening half, giving the Storm an early scare with a couple of near misses. Brisbane however failed to get any points on the board and once the Storm kicked a penalty and scored just before half-time, it was only going to end one way. Melbourne raced away for a 30 – nil victory in the end, progressing through to the 2017 NRL Grand Final where they will be the red hot favourites in betting.

NRL Preliminary Final 2:

Sydney Roosters (16) lost to the North Queensland Cowboys (29)

Saturday September 23, 2017 (7:40pm) – Allianz Stadium

The 2015 NRL Premiers North Queensland shocked many when they travelled down to Sydney to take on the second-ranked Chooks in the second Preliminary final of 2017. Since losing JT and a host of other key players to injury, plenty had ruled the Cowboys out of this year’s Grand Final. But they have proved their ability in a looming post-Thurston era winning all three of their NRL Finals including the upset 29 – 16 win over Sydney, which they never looked like losing. They will be the massive underdogs in Grand Final betting against the Storm, but won’t be going down without a fight.

2017 NRL Finals Results: Week Two

Eliminated Teams:

  • Penrith Panthers
  • Parramatta Eels

NRL Semi Final 1:

Friday September 15, 2017 – Suncorp Stadium (7:55pm)

Brisbane Broncos (13) defeated Penrith Panthers (6)

The Broncos are now only one (unlikely) win away from their second NRL Grand Final appearance in three years after knocking Penrith out of the competition with a 13 – 6 win. It was a tighter than predicted result and one that Brisbane, who suffered a number of injuries including a sickening head knock for hulking winger Corey Oats, really had to fight for. They now play the Melbourne Storm in

NRL Semi Final 2:

Saturday September 16, 2017 – ANZ Stadium (7:40pm)

Parramatta Eels (16) lost to the North Queensland Cowboys (24)

The Cowboys scored the upset of the NRL Week 2 Finals, dominating the Eels with a 24 – 16 win. The score line flattered Parramatta whose two early tries were lucky at best and the third scored on the full time buzzer. It was a huge performance from the JT-less North Queensland crew who have kept the dream alive for another week, heading to Sydney again in Week 3 for a knock-out Preliminary Final against the Sydney Roosters.

2017 NRL Finals Results: Week One

Eliminated Teams:

  • Manly Sea Eagles
  • Cronulla Sharks

Qualifying Final 1:

Friday, September 8, 7.55pm, Allianz Stadium

Sydney Roosters (24) defeated Brisbane Broncos (22)

The Sydney Roosters have earned a week off after holding off the fast-finishing Broncos who will take on the winner of the first Elimination Final in Week 2 of the NRL Finals (Penrith Panthers).

Qualifying Final 2:

Saturday, September 9, 4.10pm, AAMI Park

Melbourne Storm (18) defeated Parramatta Eels (16)

After a controversial early four-pointer off a suspect pass, the Minor Premiers got home for a two point victory over the luckless Eels who will play the winner of the second Elimination Final in Week 2 of the NRL Finals (North Queensland Cowboys).

Elimination Final 1:

Saturday, September 9, 7.40pm, Allianz Stadium

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles (10) lost to the Penrith Panthers (22)

The Panthers scored the upset NRL Result of the opening week of finals football, turning the tables on the Sea Eagles who beat them in Round 26. Manly were knocked out in their 10 – 22 loss the Penrith who take on Brisbane in the semi-finals.

Elimination Final 2:

Sunday, September 10, 4.10pm, Allianz Stadium

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (14) lost to the North Queensland Cowboys (15)

In the closest game of the week, the brave Cowboys have fought to live another day in a one point extra time thriller knocking out the reigning Premiers Cronulla in Sydney. The injury depleted North Queensland crew return to Sydney in Week 2 in a do-or-die against the Eels.


NRL Finals Series

NRL Finals Series Structure. Image Credit: NRL.

Previously the NRL Finals were decided according to the McIntyre System, but the new system now gives the teams in the Top 4 a fairer chance of making it all the way to Grand Final day.

Below is a quick run-down of how the Telstra Premiership Finals Series structure works.

NRL Finals Week 1: Qualifying & Elimination

Four games are played in the opening week. Two are Qualifying Finals with the winner getting a rest the following week, while the losing team play in a semi-final elimination. The other two games played between the bottom four teams in the Top 8 are Elimination Finals and are must win matches for the teams to progress to Week 2 of the finals.

  • Qualifying Final 1: 1st (Home) vs. 4th (Away)
  • Elimination Final 1: 5th (Home) vs. 8th (Away)
  • Elimination Final 2: 6th (Home) vs. 7th (Away)
  • Qualifying Final 2: 2nd (Home) vs. 3rd (Away)

NRL Finals Week 2: Semi-Finals

In the second week two games are played between four teams with home ground advantage going to the two losing teams of the Week 1 qualifiers. Both games are do-or-die with the winners progressing into the Week 3 Preliminary Finals against the winning teams from Finals Week 1, while the losers say goodbye to the Grand Final dream for the season.

  • Semi Final 1: Week 1 First Qualifiers Loser (Home) vs. Week 1 First Elimination Winner (Away).
  • Semi Final 2: Week 1 Second Qualifiers Loser (Home) vs. Week 1 Second Elimination Winner (Away).

NRL Finals Week 3: Preliminary Finals

The final two games before the NRL Grand Final are contested in the Preliminary Finals round with the two Finals Week 1 Qualifying winners having home ground advantage over the two winning Semi Final NRL Teams from Week 2. The results of these games decide the NRL Grand Final teams for the season.

  • Preliminary Final 1: Week 1 First Qualifiers Winner (Home) vs Semi Final 2 Winner (Away)
  • Preliminary Final 2: Week 1 Second Qualifiers Winner (Home) vs Semi Final 1 Winner (Away)

NRL Finals Week 4: Grand Final

The two Preliminary final winners from week three of the NRL Finals face off in the NRL Grand Final on the first Sunday in October at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium. If you’d like to see information on one of the biggest sporting events in Australia, you can check out our dedicated Grand Final page.