Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate 2019

Saturday February 23, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: Barriers account for little in the Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate with double digits producing plenty of recent winners

The Group 1 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate is one of three elite level Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival races that runs at Caulfield Racecourse as part of Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day annually in late February. An open handicap sprint the clash takes place over 1100m and offers $500,000 in total prize money.

Running at the same meeting as the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) and Group 1 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m) the event attracts a capacity field of 18 sprinters.

Many Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate horses come out of a run a fortnight earlier in the Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning Stakes (1000m) run down the Flemington straight; the last to complete the Oakleigh Plate – Lightning Stakes double was Fastnet Rock (2005).

This autumn’s Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate runs on Saturday February 23, 2019 .

2019 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate Race Facts

  • Date: Saturday February 23, 2019
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Distance: 1100m
  • Conditions: Open Handicap
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $500,000
  • First Run: 1884

2019 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate Results

The official Oakleigh Plate 2019 Winner & Full Results will be published below on Saturday February 23, 2019 .

Oakleigh Plate betting is usually an open affair with plenty of mixed form leading up to the race.

Oakleigh Plate Odds & Betting

Recent Oakleigh Plate winners who won their last Group lead-up include Lankan Rupee (2014) and Shamal Wind (2015), so last start winners can dominate the markets.

Wide barrier draws don’t often have an impact on the Oakleigh Plate odds as plenty of winners have drawn wide including Flamberge (15 in 2016), Shamal Wind (14 in 2015), Mrs Onassis (11 in 2013) and Swiss Ace (18 in 2009).

2019 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate Betting

The latest Oakleigh Plate odds for 2019 will be updated below the week of the race so bookmark this page to view the best available Group 1 racing odds on the autumn sprint.

Oakleigh Plate Field

A maximum of 18 starters line-up in the Oakleigh Plate field at Caulfield and the race was last run at capacity in 2018 when the favourite Russian Revolution saluted. Oakleigh Plate nominations close the Monday before the race followed by the final field of acceptances out on the Wednesday.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x81x1x320x SHOALS Anthony Freedman Mark Zahra 7 57kg 113
2 11x20x100x VIDDORA Lloyd Kennewell Joe Bowditch 11 57kg 113
3 x2411118x1 NATURE STRIP Chris Waller Damian Lane 5 56.5kg 108
4 0x598x5132 FELL SWOOP Matthew Dale Hugh Bowman 14 55.5kg 106
5 20x43322x1 BONS AWAY Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Ms Linda Meech 20 54kg 103
6 08661x347x SPRIGHT Garry Frazer Michael Walker 13 53.5kg 106
7 21454×1614 ASHLOR Dan McCarthy Stephen Baster 3 52.5kg 100
8 3x70x7326x KEMONO (JPN) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 19 52.5kg 100
9 1474x7282x BOOKER Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Dean Yendall 16 52kg 102
10 11x221x EDUARDO Sarah Zschoke Brian Park 21 52kg 99
11 5x37x12095 ELLICAZOOM David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Jye McNeil 2 52kg 98
12 0x311110x3 FROM WITHIN Toby Edmonds Beau Mertens 8 52kg 95
13 0x000686x2 FUHRYK David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 9 52kg 97
14 x8513x334x I’LL HAVE A BIT John McArdle Chris Parnham 17 52kg 103
15 15180×2213 SENSEI Michael & Matthew Pitman 15 52kg 96
16 3x64164x6x STEEL FROST Will Clarken Jamie Kah 4 52kg 96
17 66x85125x3 ENCRYPTION James Cummings Craig Williams 10 50kg 97
18 42x12351x3 CHARGE Chris Waller Michael Dee 1 50kg 84
19e 111x4x9x2 CROWN WITNESS Henry Dwyer Damien Thornton 22 52kg 82
20e 0x2294x127 BEL SONIC Jason Warren 6 52kg 81
21e x93186x315 USAIN BOWLER John Sadler Dean Yendall 12 52kg 78
22e 6x4x394154 VAINSTREAM John Pascoe 18 52kg 74
Lankan Rupee topped the Oakleigh Plate odds for his 2014 win

Lankan Rupee (2014) is one of the few recent favourites in Oakleigh Plate betting to salute for the punters. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

The Oakleigh Plate field often features star stallions in the making and has been won by the likes of Snitzel (2006) and Fastnet Rock (2005). Many horses also run first-up in the Oakleigh Plate field and recent winners resuming racing in the classic include Woorim (2012), Mrs Onassis (2013), 2019 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate Nominations

Oakleigh Tips

Favourites in the Oakleigh Plate tips have a poor recent record with only three saluting for the punters from 2008 – 2018, the most recent being Russian Revolution (2018). A good Oakleigh Plate tip is to look at the better weighted runners in the race as only four horses have carried more than 55.5kg to victory from 2008-2018.

In-form mares are also worth including in Oakleigh Plate tipping with three winning from 2013 – 2018  including most recently Sheidel (2017).

2019 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate Tips

The insider Ladbrokes’ Oakleigh Plate 2019 tips and betting selections will be detailed below the week of the race so stay tuned for the short-distance specialists to back in the showdown.

Oakleigh Plate Form Guide

The Oakleigh Plate form guide shows punters the saddlecloth numbers, barriers, jockeys and trainers of all of the horses in the field.

This information can be used to guide Oakleigh Plate betting taking into account form facts including the top record in the race by jockey Damien Oliver who has ridden two winners and the poor record of favourites being successful.

Oakleigh Plate Form Facts

  • Favourites in Oakleigh Plate betting have a poor recent record with Lankan Rupee ($4 in 2014) and Russian Revolution ($4.60 in 2018) the only ones to salute since Weekend Hussler (2008)
  • Fastnet Rock (2005) was the last winner coming off a lead-up victory to get the job done until Lankan Rupee (2014) and Shamal Wind (2015)
  • Upset Oakleigh Plate results are common with plenty of roughie winners including Flamberge (30/1 in 2016)
  • Wide barriers have produced plenty of champs in the race including Flamberge (15 of 17 in 2016), Shamal Wind (14 of 16 in 2015) and Mrs Onassis (11 of 13 in 2013)
  • Three mares have won since Reactive (2004), most recently Sheidel (2017)

2019 Ladbrokes Oakleigh Plate Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Oakleigh Plate 2019 form guide will be provided below once final acceptances are taken the Wednesday leading-up to Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day.

Oakleigh Plate Results

The Oakleigh Plate results and finishing order of the entire field is out when the event runs at Caulfield on Blue Diamond Stakes Day. The winning Oakleigh Plate quinella, trifecta, margins and times are all released as part of the results.

Recent Oakleigh Plate results show plenty of roughie shot winners scoring upsets including Eagle Falls ($21 in 2011), Woorim ($21 in 2012) and Flamberge ($31 in 2016).

Recent Oakleigh Plate Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Russian Revolution Snitty Kitty Hellbent TBD
2017 Sheidel Faatinah Extreme Choice 1:02.1
2016 Flamberge Fell Swoop Heatherly 1:02.5
2015 Shamal Wind Under The Louvre Fast ‘n’ Rocking 1:02.2
2014 Lankan Rupee Spirit Of Boom Knoydart 1:02.7
2013 Mrs Onassis Facile Tigre Spirit Of Boom 1:03.1
2012 Woorim Elite Falls Facile Tigre 1:03.4
2011 Eagle Falls Avenue Hinchinbrook 1:02.2
2010 Starspangledbanner =2 Here De Angels =2 Arinos 1:03.1
2009 Swiss Ace Lucky Secret Typhoon Zed 1:02.8
2008 Weekend Hussler Magnus Tramuntana 1:03.2
2007 Undue Poets Voice Magnus 1:02.7
2006 Snitzel Virage De Fortune Takeover Target 1:04.4
2005 Fastnet Rock Segments Legally Bay 1:02.5
2004 Reactive Ancient Song Suit 1:03.4
2003 River Dove North Boy Choisir 1:04.5
2002 Sudurka Mistegic Straight Ace 1:02.5
2001 Miss Kournikova Miss Pennymoney Show A Heart 1:02.0
2000 Sports Falvelon Rancho Spark 1:04.5