PB Lawrence Stakes 2019

Saturday August 17, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: Staying types often resume in the PB Lawrence Stakes making it a nice form race to follow into later Group 1 races over more distance in the spring

The P.B. Lawrence Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Caulfield Racecourse in mid-August early on during the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Attracting a field of resuming staying types, the weight-for-age clash is open to three-year-olds and above and is registered as the J.J. Liston Stakes.

Offering $200,000 in total prize money, the PB Lawrence Stakes is the feature race on the program that also hosts the Group 3 Vain Stakes (1100m) and Group 3 Quezette Stakes (1100m) for three-year-olds. It has been a nice guide for bigger spring races in recent years including in 2015 when Mourinho won the PB Lawrence Stakes before taking out the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) back at the track two starts late.

Also out of the 2015 PB Lawrence Stakes, runner-up The Cleaner won Moonee Valley’s Group 2 Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes (1600m) next-up before a third in the Underwood. In 2013 Puissance De Lune won the race before a second in the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) and Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) later that campaign.

In 2014 Gig ran third to Star Rolling in the race on the back of a second at the track in the Group 3 Bletchingly Stakes (1200m) the month before. The Bletchingly Stakes winner in 2013 Second Effort ran third in the PB Lawrence Stakes having won the race the previous year (2012), while the double was last achieved by Shoot Out (2010).

The following year Puissance De Lune (2014) was unplaced in the PB Lawrence Stakes before thirds in the Memsie Stakes, Makybe Diva and Turnbull all in elite level company. In 2012 Second Effort won the P.B Lawrence Stakes before a Memsie Stakes third. More recently the 2017 P.B. Lawrence Stakes winner Hartnell went on to run second in both the Makybe Diva Stakes and Underwood Stakes that year. Hartnell also won the 2018 CF Orr Stakes, Epsom Handicap and recorded a number of other Group 1 placings including behind the world’s best racehorse Winx in the 2019 Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

The next edition of the PB Lawrence Stakes takes place on Saturday August 17, 2019 . 


PB Lawrence Stakes Field

The PB Lawrence Stakes field attracts a line-up of staying types kicking off their spring campaigns who are heading into longer distance features in both Sydney and Melbourne. Most gallopers are first-up in the field and had their lead-up runs back in the autumn, but some fit winter types could be rounding out preparations with a last shot at Group 2 glory.

PB Lawrence Stakes nominations are taken the Monday prior to the race running on the Saturday, with the field and barrier draw released on the Wednesday.

2019 PB Lawrence Stakes Field

Punters can view the official P.B. Lawrence Stakes 2019 final field and barriers on the Wednesday of race week when they’re published below following their release from Racing Victoria.

PB Lawrence Stakes Betting

PB Lawrence Stakes odds are traditionally a good starting point for the spring for staying types, horses that have a strong first-up record over the 1400m usually dominate the odds.

PB Lawrence Stakes betting is led each spring by the class weight-for-age performers in the field with Group 1 experience and the favourites have a strong record in the race.

2019 PB Lawrence Stakes Odds

Odds on the P.B. Lawrence Stakes 2019 will be out closer to PB Lawrence Stakes Day and detailed in full below complete with market links so stay tuned to back your early spring selections at the top Melbourne racing prices.

PB Lawrence Stakes Tips

Good PB Lawrence Stakes tips include backing good first-up performers that are resuming, gallopers with weight-for-age experience and runners that have nice Melbourne race records in tougher company. Other PB Lawrence Stakes betting tips worth taking to the bookies are to back single-figure runners with Group 1 form from previous campaigns, watch the Missile Stakes results earlier in the month and get behind the class runners as opposed to the up-and-comers.

2019 PB Lawrence Stakes Tips

Our insider Ladbrokes’ P.B. Lawrence Stakes 2019 tips and betting selections for Caulfield will be made available below the week of the race so stay tuned for the gallopers to back and sack in the Group 2.

PB Lawrence Stakes Form Guide

The PB Lawrence Stakes form guide lists all the crucial information for punters like the saddlecloth numbers, jockeys, trainers, barriers and previous runs of the horses in the field. Check the form guide for first-up runners with a nice record when fresh and staying types with previous wins over the shorter distance (1400m) in Melbourne that performed well last campaign.

Each spring racing season in Victoria the P.B. Lawrence Stakes form has a habit of stacking-up in better grade races across the carnival so watching the results as a guide to betting on races like the Makybe Diva Stakes over the mile at Flemington and the Underwood Stakes is a good tip.

2019 PB Lawrence Stakes Form Guide

A link to our detailed P.B. Lawrence Stakes 2019 form guide and betting preview will be available for punters below the week of the race following final acceptances and updated odds.

PB Lawrence Stakes Results

The PB Lawrence Stakes results have been dominated by single-figure hopes over the decade with the last double-figure winner being Pompeii Ruler (2006). Notable recent PB Lawrence winners include Hartnell (2017), Puissance De Lune (2013), Whobegotyou (2011), Shoot Out (2010), Light Fantastic (2008) and Apache Cat (2007).

2019 PB Lawrence Stakes Results

The official P.B. Lawrence Stakes 2019 results and finishing order will be provided below once the race is run and won on Saturday August 17, 2019 .

PB Lawrence Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Showtime Hartnell Widgee Turf 1:23.6
2017 Hartnell Charmed Harmony Black Heart Bart 1:24.0
2016 Miss Rose De Lago Jacquinot Bay Entirely Platinum 1:24.8
2015 Mourinho The Cleaner Dibayani 1:23.5
2014 Star Rolling Spillway Gig 1:24.3
2013 Puissance De Lune Ajeeb Second Effort 1:21.4
2012 Second Effort Zamorar Ready To Rip 1:27.6
2011 Whobegotyou Lights Of Heaven Prince Obama 1:23.9
2010 Shoot Out Predatory Pricer Heart Of Dreams 1:27.2
2009 Predatory Pricer Whobegotyou Typhoon Tracy 1:23.4
2008 Light Fantastic Weekend Hussler Maldivian 1:24.7
2007 Apache Cat Marasco Maldivian 1:22.1
2006 Pompeii Ruler Red Dazzler Our Smoking Joe 1:23.6
2005 Lad Of The Manor Our Smoking Joe Super Elegant 1:27.9
2004 Regal Roller Amtrak Le Zagaletta 1:26.3
2003 Super Elegant Vocabulary Walk On Air 1:24.4
2002 Sports Le Zagaletta Tully Thunder 1:23.2
2001 Le Zagaletta Inaflury Umrum 1:25.5
2000 Skoozi Please Go Flash Go Ad Alta 1:25.2