Premiere Stakes 2017

Saturday 30th September

Ladbrokes Tip: The Premiere Stakes makes a nice lead-up to Group 1 races in Melbourne during the spring

The Premiere Stakes is a Group 2 sprint race for quality types held at Royal Randwick Racecourse on Epsom Handicap Day in late September or early October during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.Epsom Handicap Day is the biggest Sydney race meeting of the spring and features three Group 1 races: the Epsom Handicap, The Metropolitan and the Flight Stakes.

Along with those three elite levels a host of other key events are on the card including the Premiere Stakes that runs over 1200m under weight-for-age conditions and offers a very generous $500,000 in total prize money.

Many of the Premiere Stakes graduates go on to contest the Group 1 features of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival over similar distance including the Manikato Stakes, the double last achieved by Spark Of Life (2004).

The next edition of the Premiere Stakes takes place on Saturday 30th September, 2017.

Premiere Stakes Field

2017 Premiere Stakes Field

The Premiere Stakes field attracts the season’s most promising local Sydney sprinters and interstate runners from Melbourne warming up for the Group 1 spring sprints. Horses often come off a lead-up run at Randwick in the Group 2 The Shorts (1100m) and in 2015 The Shorts winner Rebel Dane ran second in the Premiere Stakes next start. Rebel Dane also went on to run third at Moonee Valley in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) later that month.

The Shorts form also held up in 2014 when Famous Seamous improved on his third to win the Premiere Stakes, which he had run third in the previous year. In 2012 Satin Shoes ran second in both The Shorts and the Premiere Stakes.

The Premiere Stakes nominations are taken the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday with the final field of acceptances and barriers out on the Wednesday followed by the odds opening at bookmakers around the country.

Premiere Stakes Odds

Premiere Stakes odds favour proven Sydney runners with good form from the winter or a lead-up win in a local race like The Shorts at the same track earlier in the month.

Runners in the top half of the Premiere Stakes betting market have a strong strike-rate in the race over the past decade and tipping the favourite has proven a winning formula many times in recent years. The last double-figure Premiere Stakes winner was Neeson ($13 in 2011).

Premiere Stakes Tips

Good Premiere Stakes tips to consider include looking for proven performers at the Randwick track, sprinters with good form over the 1200m distance and local hopes coming off a lead-up run in The Shorts.

Mares also have a decent recent record in the race with wins by Red Tracer (2012) and Arinosa (2013) so tipping the in-form mares is another Premiere Stakes betting tip.

Premiere Stakes Form Guide

The Premiere Stakes form guide lists all the crucial information and statistics from the jockeys and barriers to the track / distance records of the runners in the field.

In recent years the Premiere Stakes form has stacked up in tougher spring races including in 2015 when the winner Rebel Dane ran third in the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) at Flemington two runs later during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Premiere Stakes Results

The Premiere Stakes results have been dominated by Sydney sprinters coming out of The Shorts in the past decade as well as the quality mares taking on the boys in the Group 2.Notable recent Premiere Stakes winners include Terravista (2015), Famous Seamus (2014), Red Tracer (2012) and Hot Danish (2010).

The Results of the 2017 edition of the race will be published here as soon as it is run.


Premiere Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Terravista Rebel Dane That’s A Good Idea 1:09.1
2014 Famous Seamus Charlie Boy Wouldnt It Be Nice 1:09.8
2013 Arinosa Dystopia Famous Seamus 1:09.3
2012 Red Tracer Satin Shoes Emotional Circus 1:09.6
2011 Neeson Hurtle Myrtle Love Conquers All 1:10.2
2010 Hot Danish Trader Cardinal Virtue 1:09.8
2009 =1 Mentality =1 Kroner Phelan Ready 1:10.4
2008 Triple Honour Captain Bax Reigning to Win 1:10.1
2007 German Chocolate Solo Flyer Fashions Afield 1:09.9
2006 Paratroopers Imana Johan’S Toy 1:10.3
2005 Shania Dane Dance Hero Spark Of Life 1:08.8
2004 Spark Of Life Into The Night Century Kid 1:09.8
2003 Thorn Park Patezza Excellerator 1:09.0
2002 Century Kid Ancient Song Shogun Lodge 1:09.4
2001 On Type Padstow Century Kid 1:10.3
2000 Mr. Innocent Celestial Choir Adam 1:09.0