QTC Cup 2017


Ladbrokes Tip: The QTC Cup can lead to a Stradbroke Handicap run the following weekend for the top sprinters

The QTC Cup is a key Group 2 support act on the Queensland Oaks Day program at Eagle Farm Racecourse on a Saturday in late May or early June during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. The meeting is headlined by the Group 1 Queensland Oaks (2400m) for the three-year-old fillies, with the QTC Cup one of two Group 2 features on the card along with the Eagle Farm Cup (2200m).

Offering $175,000 in prize money, the QTC Cup is run over 1300m under quality handicap conditions. It offers a ballot exemption into the following weekend’s Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) back at Eagle Farm. Black Piranha (11th in 2010) was the last QTC Cup graduate to back-up a week later and win the famous Queensland Group 1.

The next edition of the QTC Cup runs on June, 2017.

QTC Cup Field

2016 QTC Cup Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1310×72360 STRATUM STAR Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 3 59kg 110
2 126242×256 TARGET IN SIGHT Joseph Pride James McDonald 1 56kg 104
3 2x3268x831 THAT’S A GOOD IDEA Peter & Paul Snowden Tye Angland 8 56kg 104
4 7×08172421 SNIPPETS LAND Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 9 55kg 102
5 512111036x STEEL ZIP Pat Duff Jeff Lloyd 19 54kg 100
6 3x112x111x PERFECT FIT (NZ) Ken & Bev Kelso Michael Coleman 11 53kg 101
7 14394×1170 SULTRY FEELING James Cummings Michael Cahill 6 53kg 99
8 0x406925x1 ELOPING Peter Robl Ms Tegan Harrison 15 53kg 98
9 123×523111 DANISH TWIST Kris Lees Chad Schofield 7 53kg 97
10 5x1212x144 FEDERAL John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 10 53kg 94
11 x623x14812 SPILL THE BEANS Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 16 53kg 92
12 1202x409x0 ECHO GAL Gai Waterhouse Joao Moreira 4 53kg 91
13 x23x4131x5 I AM ZELADY Joseph Pride Jason Collett 17 53kg 91
14 03043126×8 TIMELESS PRINCE Tony Newing 2 53kg 91
15 3954835×27 MISS COVER GIRL Kelly Schweida Jim Byrne 5 53kg 90
16e 361111×134 TRUBIA Michael Lakey Bobby El-Issa 18 53kg 89
17e 1962438×46 TADDEI TONDO Gerard Moloney 12 53kg 86
18e 145x4330x1 LE CORDON BLEU Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 13 53kg 84
19e 1637231129 TAN TAT DIAMOND Steven O’dea 14 53kg 84
20e 1240621239 LIBERATION Barry Lockwood 20 53kg 81

The QTC Cup field attracts a collection of the season’s second-tier sprint types, many coming off lead-up runs in Sydney. Horses may have contested earlier Queensland Winter lead-ups like the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) at the Gold Coast in April or Doomben’s Listed Mick Dittman Plate (1200m).

Runners may come out of the QTC Cup field and back-up a week later in the Stradbroke Handicap including in 2015 when the QTC Cup winner Sacred Star ran fifth in the Group 1 beaten under two lengths.

If not the Stradbroke, another possible next-up run for QTC Cup graduates is Eagle Farms’ Group 3 W.J. Healy Stakes (1200m) also run on Stradbroke Handicap Day. QTC Cup nominations close on the Monday prior to the race with the final field and barriers released on the Wednesday.

QTC Cup Betting & Odds

QTC Cup odds are dominated by classy sprinters that may be just off the top level but who have Group 1 experience from early in the season.

A race like the Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) at Randwick in April has produced a number of QTC Cup performers as has Adelaide’s Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m). In 2013 Galah improved on an eighth in The Goodwood to win the QTC Cup, while Conservatorium ran second in both races.

QTC Cup Tips

Looking for runners with proven form around 1200m – 1400m that have run well in similar class either in Brisbane or Sydney leading up to the race are good QTC Cup tips.

Mainly local hopes contest the race however so horses with a good record at Eagle Farm that come into the race with a good weight are other useful QTC Cup betting tips.

QTC Cup Form Guide

The QTC Cup form guide details all the must know facts for punters including the barriers, jockeys, trainers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field.Looking at the guide for single-figure hopes coming off a nice lead-up run with ability at the distance is important when doing the QTC Cup form.

QTC Cup Results

QTC Cup results have been dominated by runners under $10 in betting in recent years.

Notable QTC Cup winners over the past decade include Sacred Star (2014), Catapulted (2010) and subsequent Group 1 winner Ortensia (2009) who went on to run third in the Stradbroke Handicap next start. The biggest turf star to win the QTC Cup was Schillaci in 1992.

QTC Cup Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Spill The Beans Federal Stratum Star 1:17.23
2015 Ball Of Muscle That’s A Good Idea Kuro 1:08.4
2014 Sacred Star Masthead Bennetta 1:17.1
2013 Galah Conservatorium Griffon 1:17.6
2012 Celtic Dancer Belltone Joint Chiefs 1:20.9
2011 Varenna Miss Phelan Ready Zingaling 1:16.1
2010 Catapulted Border Rebel Ego’s Dare 1:15.1
2009 Ortensia Maxison Mr Baritone 1:19.1
2008 Chinchilla Rose Black Ink Easy Rocker 1:19.3
2007 Nova Star Rasmussen Son Of Dane 1:17.6
2006 Messiaen Consular Spuruson 1:16.5
2005 Sir Breakfast Beautiful Gem All Bar One 1:08.7
2004 Falkirk Patpong Bomber Bill 1:08.8
2003 Into The Night Bomber Bill Polygram 1:10.6
2002 Pembleton Maitland Gold Machtig Mini Panis 1:09.2
2001 Century Kid Super Impressive Federal Agent 1:08.1
2000 Gallopini Super Espion Antiquity 1:09.6