Queensland Guineas 2019

Saturday June 8, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: The Fred Best Classic is the best lead-up to the Queensland Guineas for 3YOs

The Queensland Guineas is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds traditionally held at Eagle Farm Racecourse on Stradbroke Handicap Day during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival each June. Run at set weights over 1600m, the mile showdown is one of three Group 2 races held at the meeting along with the Brisbane Cup (2400m) for stayers and the Dane Ripper Quality (1400m) for fillies and mares.

The program is of course headlined by the three elite levels on the card: the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), the Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) and the Group 1 JJ Atkins (1600m) for two-year-olds.

In 2017 the Queensland Guineas and other Stradbroke Handicap Day races, many of which also changed distances to accommodate the change of location, ran at Doomben.

Offering $350,000 in total prize money, the Queensland Guineas is a lucrative race for middle-distance three-year-olds that aren’t suited to the mile-and-a-half of the Queensland Derby. The Group 3 Fred Best Classic (1350m) at Doomben a fortnight earlier is a key lead-up to the Queensland Guineas and last produced a winner of the Group 2 with Jabali (5th in 2015).

The latest edition of the Queensland Guineas takes place on Saturday June 8, 2019.

2019 Queensland Guineas Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Queensland Guineas Race Info

  • Date: Saturday June 8, 2019
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse (Doomben Racecourse in 2017)
  • Distance: 1600m
  • Conditions: 3YOs – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $350,000
  • First Run: 1896

Queensland Guineas Odds & Betting

Queensland Guineas odds are usually dominated by smart three-year-olds with proven ability over the mile (1600m). Previous winning form in Brisbane and Group 1 race experience in tougher company also help determine the runners sitting at the top of the Queensland Guineas betting markets each winter.

2019 Queensland Guineas Betting

The season’s updated Queensland Guineas 2019 odds on the hopeful three-year-olds targeting the Group 2 Stradbroke Handicap Day support act will be available right here leading-up to the race so stay tuned for the best Brisbane betting markets.

Queensland Guineas Field

The Queensland Guineas field attracts a collection of promising three-year-old milers from both local Brisbane stables and interstate. Runners come via lead-up Brisbane Carnival events like the Listed Mick Dittman Plate (1200m) and the Fred Best Classic both held at Doomben.

Recent Queensland Guineas winners to come out of the Fred Best Classic include Jabali (5th in 2015) and Sir Moments (6th in 2014). Three-year-olds could also have previous Guineas experience in the previous spring’s Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) in Melbourne before progressing onto the Group 3 Sunshine Coast Guineas (1600m).

Queensland Guineas nominations close the Monday before the race runs that Saturday followed by the final field of acceptances on the Wednesday.

Queensland Guineas betting at Ladbrokes

Tsaritsa (2016) beat home the boys in the Queensland Guineas results. Photo Credit: Steve Hart.

2019 Queensland Guineas Field

The official Queensland Guineas 2019 Final Field & Barriers will be published in full below on the Wednesday of race week so stay tuned to see what three-year-olds make the cut for the $350,000 event.

2019 Queensland Guineas Nominations

The Queensland Guineas 2019 nominations are taken by Racing Queensland on the Monday of race week and will be available below.

Queensland Guineas Form Guide

The Queensland Guineas form guide details all the essential information for punters including the trainers, jockeys, barriers and lead-up runs of the three-year-olds in the field. When doing the Queensland Guineas form it is good to look for horses with a good record over the mile and previous winning form in Queensland.

The Queensland Guineas form has also stacked up in tougher races in recent years including in 2012 when the filly Pear Tart backed up from her win over the boys to take out the Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara (1400m). In 2016 Tsaritsa also saluted in the Queensland Guineas as a filly, so looking for the in-form female gallopers on the Queensland Guineas form guide could prove crucial.

Queensland Guineas Tips

Looking for three-year-olds with form over the track and distance or that come off a top three Brisbane lead-up run are good Queensland Guineas betting tips. Other tips for picking the season’s Queensland Guineas winner are keeping an eye on the results of the Fred Best Classic held at Doomben earlier in the winter, as well as gallopers that may have run over a mile in Group 1 company earlier in the season.

2019 Queensland Guineas Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Queensland Guineas 2019 betting tips will be detailed below the week of the race with the three-year-olds to back and sack in the Group 2 Brisbane event.

Queensland Guineas Results

Queensland Guineas results have been mixed for punters in recent years with the longest priced champ from the past decade being Jabali ($31) in 2015. Sir Moments ($14 in 2014) also scored an upset Queensland Guineas result as did Salsonic ($14 in 2017). Notable Queensland Guineas winners include Sizzling (2013), Pear Tart (2012), Rothesay (2010) and Turffontein (2008).

2019 Queensland Guineas Results

The official Queensland Guineas 2019 Results & Finishing Order will be published in full below once the race is run and won on Saturday June 8, 2019.

Queensland Guineas Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sambro Seaway Magnufighter 1:38.0
2017 Salsonic Volpino Niccanova 1:34.8
2016 Tsaritsa Denmagic Sold For Song 1:36.9
2015 Jabali Bachman Merion 1:34.6
2014 Sir Moments Liberty’s Choice Ryker 1:22.9
2013 Sizzling Dances On Stars Lucky Hussler 1:24.2
2012 Pear Tart Free Wheeling Stradon 1:26.1
2011 Torio’s Quest Benny’s Buttons Spot The Rock 1:35.4
2010 Rothesay Launay Fifteen Carat 1:33.7
2009 Express Air Marveen La Etoile 1:39.8
2008 Turffontein Royal Discretion Pepperwood 1:40.4
2007 Sequential Charm J Adane Danleigh 1:35.5
2006 Nova Star Fashions Afield Funlove 1:36.5
2005 Saxon Hit The Road Special Times 1:35.9
2004 Winning Belle Toulouse Lautrec Little Punc 1:40.3
2003 True Glo Sportsman King Of Them All 1:33.3
2002 Regent Street Galroof Deuxienne 1:35.6
2001 Heroism Yoruba Pimpala Player 1:34.3
2000 Magnifier Fairway Make Mine Magic 1:34.8