Run To The Rose 2017

Saturday 9th September

Ladbrokes Tip: The Run To The Rose – Golden Rose double is a popular one for punters each spring

The Run To The Rose is a Group 2 race for three-year-old sprinters held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in late August each Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. Offering $175,000 in total prize money, it is the sole Group race at the meeting that runs on the same day as the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield in Melbourne.

The set weights plus penalties clash was upgraded from a Group 3 to a Group 2 race in 2015 and is the traditional lead-up for three-year-olds into the $1 million Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes (1400m) back at Rosehill a fortnight later. Recent winners of the Run To The Rose – Golden Rose double include Exosphere (2015), Hallowed Crown (2014) and Denman (2009).

The next edition of the Run To The Rose jumps on Saturday 9th September, 2017.

Run To The Rose Field

The Run To The Rose field attracts the best three-year-old sprinters of the season and class usually prevails in the race. Horses often kick off their spring campaigns in the Group 2 on way to the Golden Rose the following month and may have contested a race like Randwick’s Group 1 Champagne Stakes (1600m) as a two-year-old in the autumn.

In 2012 star colt Pierro won three straight Group 1 races as a two-year-old including the Golden Slipper and Champagne Stakes before a first-up success in that year’s Run To The Rose. If not racing first-up runners may come via a race like the Group 3 San Domenico Stakes (1100m) run two weeks before also at Rosehill, the last horse to complete the San Domenico Stakes – Run To The Rose double being Va Pensiero (2013).

Run To The Rose nominations close the Monday before the race takes place on the Saturday, with the final field and barrier draw out on the Wednesday.

Run To The Rose Betting & Odds

Run To The Rose betting markets are led by the most promising and well-performed three-year-olds of the new season.

Youngsters that performed well in top company as a juvenile that autumn gone in races like the Champagne Stakes sit high up the Run To The Rose odds. If runners in the field are returning to racing, first-up records have an impact on the markets, while fit three-year-olds coming out of the San Domenico Stakes at the track earlier that month also represent good value in Run To The Rose betting.

Favourites have a solid record in the Run To The Rose and the winner more often than not starts near the top of betting for that year’s Golden Rose Stakes.

Run To The Rose Tips

Good Run To The Rose tips include looking for the best performing two-year-olds in the autumn that are starting their 3YO spring campaigns, those with proven winning form over 1200m in Sydney and any fit youngsters coming off a top three run in the San Domenico Stakes.

Run To The Rose Form Guide

The Run To The Rose form guide features crucial information for punters including saddlecloth numbers, barriers, jockeys, trainers and past runs of the three-year-olds in the field. The Form for this race has has held up in the Golden Rose many times in recent years with all four winners of the Group 1 from 2012 – 2015 coming out of the traditional lead-up race.

Run To The Rose graduates have also performed well in other future Group 1 races including in 2015 when runner-up in the Group 2 Press Statement went on to win the Caulfield Guineas in Melbourne that October.

Run To The Rose Results

Run To The Rose results have a major impact on upcoming markets for the Golden Rose Stakes each spring. Many short-priced favourites have saluted in The Run To The Rose including Pierro who jumped the odds-on favourite in 2012.

The last roughie hope to score an upset Run To The Rose result was Va Pensiero ($21 in 2013). Notable recent Run To The Rose winners include Exosphere (2015), Hallowed Crown (2014), Pierro (2012) and Denman (2009).

Run To The Rose Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Astern Star Turn Impending 1:10.9
2015 Exosphere Press Statement Holler 1:10.6
2014 Hallowed Crown Kumaon Ygritte 1:12.9
2013 Va Pensiero Dissident Marseille Roulette 1:09.6
2012 Pierro Your Song Epaulette 1:09.8
2011 Smart Missile Foxwedge Helmet
2010 Squamosa Masquerader Testarhythm 1:18.2
2009 Denman More Than Great Bombay Sling 1:16.6
2008 Desuetude Maybe I Emperor Bonaparte 1:18.1
2007 El Cambio Rapid Jacko Turffontein 1:16.2
2006 Mentality He’S No Pie Eater Boncoeur 1:17.6
2005 Paratroopers Pendragon (Nz) Thunderbird Hill 1:16.3
2004 Eremein Uber Econsul (Nz) 1:18.3
2003 Gilded Youth Charmview Confectioner 1:16.7