Schillaci Stakes 2017

Saturday 6th October

Ladbrokes Tip: The Schillaci Stakes is a top lead-up to the Darley Classic each spring.

The Schillaci Stakes is a short-distanced sprint clash run at Caulfield Racecourse on Caulfield Guineas Day in early October during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The meeting is headlined by four Group 1 races: the Caulfield Guineas (1600m), Caulfield Stakes (2000m), Toorak Handicap (1600m) and the Thousand Guineas (1600m) for the fillies.

Also on the lucrative race card is the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes (2400m) for Caulfield Cup types and the sprinters facing off in the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes (1100m).

A weight-for-age clash, the race Stakes offers $400,000 in total prize money and makes a gun lead-up to the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) at Flemington on Emirates Stakes Day in November. The last sprinter to complete the Schillaci Stakes – Darley Classic double was the mighty Black Caviar who did it in both 2010 and 2011.

The next edition of the Schillaci Stakes is set to run on Saturday October 8, 2016.

Schillaci Stakes Field

The Schillaci Stakes field attracts a star-studded line-up of the spring’s top performing sprinters heading towards a Group 1 run in the Darley Classic during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.
A possible lead-up race a number of race hopefuls have come via in recent years is the Group 2 McEwen Stakes (1000m) at Moonee Valley the previous month, which Kuroshio won in 2013 before a third in the Schillaci next start.

The previous year Buffering (2012) completed the Moir Stakes – Schillaci Stakes double when the former only held Group 2 status. Runners out of the field often back-up next start in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) a fortnight later on Cox Plate Eve at Moonee Valley. In 2008 the Schillaci Stakes runner-up Lucky Secret won the Group 2 Schweppes Stakes (1200m) on Cox Plate Day next start. The following year Lucky Secret returned to win the 2009 Schillaci Stakes, which also produced that season’s Schweppes Stakes winner Apache Cat (2nd) and the Darley Classic (then Patinack Classic) runner-up Wanted (3rd).

The Schillaci Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday with the final field and barriers out on the Wednesday.

Schillaci Stakes Odds & Betting

Schillaci Stakes betting opens on the Wednesday before the race runs on the Saturday once final acceptances and the barrier draw is released.
Short-distance specialists with previous winning form in Melbourne races, Group 1 experience and a good barrier draw in the 1100m showdown usually dominate the Schillaci Stakes odds.

Favourites have a good recent record in the race so looking for the single-figure starters in the Schillaci Stakes markets can prove profitable. The strike-rate of Schillaci Stakes favourites is enhanced by the dual victories of the iconic super sprinter Black Caviar (2010-11).

Schillaci Stakes Tips

Good Schillaci Stakes tips include looking for first-up runners with previous experience in Group 2 or Group 1 fields, proven Melbourne performers and those drawn close to the rails.

Single-figure fancies have strong form in the race so taking those under $10 in betting is also a Schillaci Stakes tip to consider.

Schillaci Stakes Form Guide

The Schillaci Stakes form guide features information like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field to help punters uncover the value in the markets.

A number of runners have won the Schillaci Stakes first-up so looking for sprinters resuming off a short break that run well fresh can be a good guide. The Schillaci Stakes form has stacked up in other Group races in Melbourne many times over the years including in the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m).

Schillaci Stakes Results

The Schillaci Stakes results have been dominated by single-figure sprinters over the past decade. Notable recent Schillaci Stakes winners include Buffering (2012), Black Caviar (2010-11), Gold Edition (2007) and Miss Andretti (2006).

Schillaci Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Star Turn Malaguerra Fell Swoop 1:02.8
2015 Alpha Miss Cashed Lankan Rupee 1:03.5
2014 Rubick Platelet Overreach 0:56.6
2013 Unpretentious Pago Rock Kuroshio 57.6
2012 Buffering Golden Archer Stirling Grove 0:56.9
2011 Black Caviar Karuta Queen Stirling Grove 0:56.7
2010 Black Caviar Winter King General Truce 0:56.6
2009 Lucky Secret Apache Cat Wanted 0:55.9
2008 Wilander Lucky Secret Gamble Me 0:58.0
2007 Gold Edition Royal Asscher Let Go Thommo 0:57.3
2006 Miss Andretti Green Birdie Nediyms Glow 0:57.2
2005 Segments Danerich Miss Mooney Mooney 0:57.6
2004 Patpong Alizes Regimental Gal 0:58.2
2003 Halibery Dantana Spinning Hill 0:56.7
2002 Spinning Hill Falvelon Mistegic 0:57.1
2001 Mistegic Windigo Falvelon 0:57.6
2000 Falvelon Mannington Super Elegant 0:58.0