Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2017


Ladbrokes Tip: Four-year-olds have the best recent record in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes results

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a handicap clash for middle distance sprint types held at Caulfield Racecourse in late September on Underwood Stakes Day each Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Raced over 1400m and worth $400,000 in prize money it is one of two Group 1 races on the card and is the perfect lead-up into the Toorak Handicap held back at the track over 1600m. Inaugurated in 1951 when Jovial Lad scored the race was originally known as the Invitation Stakes and it has held Group 1 status since a 1979 upgrade. It was renamed in honour of former Victorian Amateur Turf Club chairman Sir Rupert Clarke after his death in 2005. Many notable horses have won the race including Moment Of Change (2012), Exceed And Excel (2003), dual Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes champ Testa Rossa (1999 & 2000) and Encosta De Lago (1996).

This year the Sir Rupert Clarke will be run on September.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Field

The final field has a capacity of 18 starters, a number the race has run at twice in the past five years (2007 & 2008). The final acceptances are historically high for the handicap feature with under 14 starters lining up just once since 1983 when 13 faced off in the 2004 edition that was won by Regal Roller. The field is released on the Wednesday before the Saturday race meeting, which is also when betting on the event really heats up.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting & Odds

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes betting odds are now usually dominated by in-form four-year-old horses in the field with four-year-olds winning every edition of the race from 2010 – 2014. Wide barriers are a non-issue but a good lead-up run ensures a shorter price in the markets, especially for graduates of the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality at Flemington, which is the traditional Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes lead-up producing four winners since 2007.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Tips

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes tips favour the shorties in the markets with the favourite saluting five times in the past 10 years including in the past three years with Moment Of Change (2012), Rebel Dane (2011) and Trust In A Gust (2014) all getting the job done for the punters. Many tipsters also like to predict Craig Williams’ mount to run well as the top hoop has ridden four Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winners since 2005, most recently with Toorak Toff (2011).

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Form Guide

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes form guide has all the info punters need to place a well-informed wager on the Caulfield spring classic like saddlecloth numbers, starting barriers, jockeys and trainers as well as the allocated weights. The form guide also shows the lead-up races horses come via and their record at the track and distance.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Results

The race itself and finishing order of all the starters is known after the race runs late on the Underwood Stakes Day card and also reveals the winning margin, time and starting price of each horse so you can see how the favourites faired.

2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Results

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Winners