Spring Champion Stakes 2017

Early October

Ladbrokes Tip: The Gloaming Stakes is the best Spring Champion Stakes lead-up race

The Spring Champion Stakes is a key Group 1 race for three-year-old staying types held on a Saturday in early October during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Attracting youngsters that could head to Melbourne for a shot at the Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) at Flemington a few weeks later, the Spring Champion Stakes offers $500,000 in prize money and is contested over 2000m at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

The last Spring Champion Stakes winner to go on to win the Victoria Derby was Monaco Consul (2009). Run at set weights, it is held on the same day as the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) for three-year-olds in Melbourne that offers double the prize money.

The key lead-up into the Randwick Group 1 is the Group 3 Gloaming Stakes (1800m) at Rosehill a fortnight before and the Gloaming Stakes – Spring Champion Stakes double has been achieved most recently by Vanbrugh (2015). The newly created $10 million The Everest feature race also takes place on Spring Champion Stakes Day in 2017.

The next edition of the Spring Champion Stakes runs on Early October.

Spring Champion Stakes Field

2017 Spring Champion Stakes Field

The Spring Champion Stakes field attracts a line-up of the best three-year-olds showing staying potential during the carnival. The largest Spring Champion Stakes field in recent history was 14 starters in 2013 when Complacent scored from the inside alley, while the smallest recent field attracted just eight runners when Tie The Knot won in 1997.

Most of the runners in the Spring Champion Stakes come off an earlier Sydney run in the Group 3 Gloaming Stakes run at Rosehill two weeks before over 200m shorter.The Gloaming Stakes produced five of the six Spring Champion Stakes winners from 2010 – 2015, three achieving the double with It’s A Dundeel (2012), Complacent (2013) and Vanbrugh (2015).

Spring Champion Stakes nominations close in late August, over a month out from the race. The final acceptances revealing the Spring Champion Stakes field is then out the Wednesday before the race runs on the Saturday.

Spring Champion Stakes Betting

Spring Champion Stakes all-in betting is open soon after the nominations are taken in late August – early September and offer punters great futures prices on the probable runners. The odds firm once the field is released and offer punters a safer option at a more conservative price.

Spring Champion Stakes odds are usually dominated by the best performers in the Gloaming Stakes a couple of weeks earlier, and the Gloaming Stakes – Spring Champion Stakes betting option is a popular one.

Three-year-olds proven at 1800m or further with good Sydney spring form are top Spring Champion Stakes betting options, but the favourites have a poor recent record in the race. Before Vanbrugh (2015) saluted for the punters, the last Spring Champion Stakes favourite to win was the Gai Waterhouse-trained Platinum Scissors (2002).

Spring Champion Stakes Tips

The best Spring Champion Stakes tips are to take the three-year-olds coming out of a top three run in the Gloaming Stakes with proven form over 1800m.

The Gloaming Stakes has produced more Spring Champion Stakes winners than any other lead-up race, and the double has been achieve plenty of times in the past 30 years. Horses that ran top three in their lead-up runs have the best record in the race, and no Spring Champion Stakes winner has run worse than third last start since Fraternity (Gloaming Stakes 5th) back in 1993.

Another good Spring Champion Stakes betting tip is to lay the favourite, with just one top fancy getting the job done in the past decade.

Spring Champion Form Guide

The Spring Champion Stakes form guide details all the must know info on the field including the saddlecloth numbers, barriers, jockeys and lead-up form of the runners.

Only one Spring Champion Stakes runner has won from wider than barrier 9 in the past decade when Hotel Grand scored from 10 of 11 in 2005, so looking for horses drawn near the inside on the form guide is a good tip. Last start winners have a dominant record in the race, so check the lead-up form for a lead-up win in the Gloaming Stakes, which is the key Spring Champion Stakes guide.

Spring Champion Stakes Results

The Spring Champion Stakes results have been dominated by Gloaming Stakes graduates and last start winners in the past decade.

Favourites have a poor record in the past 10 years or so, so upset Spring Champion Stakes results are not uncommon and the longest-priced winners in recent history include Hampton Court ($15 in 2014), Monaco Consul ($50 in 2009) and Teranaba ($50 in 2006).

2017 Spring Champion Stakes Results

Spring Champion Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Yankee Rose Swear Prized Icon 2:02.4
2015 Vanbrugh I’m Belucci Man Of Choice 2:02.8
2014 Hampton Court First Seal Sweynesse 2:00.1
2013 Complacent Criterion Savvy Nature 2:03.3
2012 It’s a Dundeel Proisir Honorius 2:02.6
2011 Doctor Doom Darci Be Good Sangster 2:05.8
2010 Erewhon Retrieve Praecido/Shootoff 2:02.9
2009 Monaco Consul Gathering Viking Legend 2:09.9
2008 Sousa Predatory Pricer Excelltastic 2:06.2
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Teranaba All Black Gold He’s No Pie Eater 2:04.5
2005 Hotel Grand Pendragon Duelled 2:04.8
2004 Savabeel Outback Prince Cedar Manor 2:07.2
2003 Niello November Dreaming Tsuimai 2:03.4
2002 Platinum Scissors Soprana Maskerado 2:04.3
2001 Viking Ruler Evander Silver Baron 1:49.5
2000 Universal Prince Falls The Shadow Go Bint 2:05.1