Stan Fox Stakes 2018

Saturday September 8, 2018

Ladbrokes Tip: Stan Fox horses can back-up in Melbourne’s Caulfield Guineas at good odds!

The Stan Fox Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds run on Run To The Rose Day Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in September each Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The meeting is a number of Group 2 races with the Stan Fox Stakes run on the same day as the Group 2 Run To The Rose for Golden Rose-bound three-year-olds and the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes .

Run at set weights over 1500m, the Stan Fox Stakes offers a total of $200,000 in prize money and makes a nice lead-up to the next month’s Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) in Melbourne. Recent horses to complete the Stan Fox Stakes – Caulfield Guineas double include Press Statement (2015) and Shooting To Win (2014).

The latest edition of the Stan Fox Stakes took place on Saturday September 8, 2018.

2018 Stan Fox Stakes Results

  • 1st: #8 Tarka
  • 2nd: #10 Dealmaker
  • 3rd: #1 The Autumn Sun

Stan Fox Stakes Race Facts

  • Date: Saturday September 8, 2018
  • Track: Rosehill Gardens
  • Distance: 1500m
  • Conditions: 3YOs – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1975

Stan Fox Stakes Field

The Stan Fox Stakes field attracts a line-up of the season’s best middle-distance three-year-olds many looking to extend their form over a mile or further later during the carnival.

Runners may be backing-up from an earlier spring run, or be kicking off their new season campaigns. In 2015 Press Statement improved on a Golden Rose fifth to win the Stan Fox and then the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas over the mile in Victoria next run. That year’s Stan Fox runner-up Shards also came out of the Golden Rose (7th) as did the third-placed Rageese (4th).

The previous year (2014), Shooting To Win ran third in the Golden Rose before also completing the Stan Fox Stakes – Caulfield Guineas double. That year’s Golden Rose Stakes runner-up Scissor Kick also ran second in the Stan Fox Stakes.

Manawanui won the Golden Rose Stakes – Stan Fox Stakes double in 2011 before a second in the Caulfield Guineas top Helmet. The Golden Rose – Stan Fox double was also achieved in 2009 by Denman.

The Stan Fox Stakes field now races earlier in the carnival and good lead-up races include the Group 3 Up & Coming Stakes (1300m) at Randwick three weeks before or the Group 3 Ming Dynasty Quality (1400m) at Rosehill a fortnight before, which Addictive Nature won in 2017 before finishing third in the Stan Fox Stakes trifecta.

2018 Stan Fox Stakes Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 111x THE AUTUMN SUN Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 4 56.5kg 94
2 243×1116 DIO D’ORO Gary Portelli Ms Rachel King 3 56.5kg 80
3 8x2517x4 IRUKANDJI Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Luke Currie 7 56.5kg 79
4 7x21035x76 OUTRAGEOUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tye Angland 10 56.5kg 78
5 2121 MASTER ASH Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tommy Berry 2 56.5kg 76
6 2×221 DANAWI Tim Martin 11 56.5kg 75
7 3x60x117 TOULOUSE David Payne Jason Collett 5 56.5kg 72
8 3611 TARKA David Payne James McDonald 1 56.5kg 71
9 512×3 MUSWELLBROOK David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Corey Brown 6 56.5kg 70
10 631×3 DEALMAKER Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 8 56.5kg 68
11 28222 MIZZY Anthony & Edward Cummings Andrew Adkins 9 54.5kg

Stan Fox Stakes Betting

Stan Fox Stakes odds favour local Sydney gallopers coming off a good lead-up run in races like the Ming Dynasty Quality held at the same Rosehill Gardens track two weeks prior. Stan Fox Stakes betting favourites have a strong recent record in the race and runners looking like they’ll see out a mile usually sit high up the bookies’ markets. If there’s an odds-on favourite, they usually get the job done for Stan Fox Stakes punters.

Stan Fox Stakes Tips

Good Stan Fox Stakes tips include looking for locally-trained three-year-olds with winning form over 1400m and those heading towards either Sydney’s Golden Rose Stakes or Melbourne’s Caulfield Guineas.

Backing the favourite is another successful Stan Fox Stakes betting tip to take, as is looking at the winner next-up in the markets for Melbourne’s Caulfield Guineas.

Stan Fox Stakes Form Guide

The Stan Fox Stakes form guide features all the need to know race information like the jockeys and trainers of all the runners as well as their barrier draw and lead-up form. The best form line to follow into the Stan Fox Stakes is that coming out of the Golden Rose Stakes that has produced more winners of the Group 2 than any other race.

The Stan Fox Stakes form also stacks up in better spring features including the Caulfield Guineas, a popular interstate betting double during the carnival season, as well as Sydney’s Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m). In 2013 Criterion ran second in both the Stan Fox and Spring Champion before a fourth in the Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) at Flemington during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Stan Fox Stakes Results

Stan Fox Stakes results have been dominated by single-figure fancies and the favourites in the past decade. Notable recent Stan Fox Stakes winners include Press Statement (2015), Shooting To Win (2014), Manawanui (2011) and Lonhro (2011).

2018 Stan Fox Stakes Results

The official Stan Fox Stakes 2018 Results & Finishing Order will be published below once the race is run and won on Saturday September 8, 2018.

Stan Fox Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Tarka Dealmaker The Autumn Sun 1:33.8
2017 Gold Standard Sanctioned Addictive Nature 1:28.4
2016 Impending Divine Prophet Good Standing 1:29.2
2015 Press Statement Shards Rageese 1:31.9
2014 Shooting To Win Scissor Kick Valentia 1:29.1
2013 Eurozone Criterion Aussies Love Sport 1:30.1
2012 Kabayan Albrecht Divine Moon 1:31.6
2011 Manawanui Roma Giaconda Cocky Raider 1:21.4
2010 Decision Time Top Drop Halekulani 1:23.1
2009 Denman Run For Naara More Than Great 1:23.8
2008 Dreamscape Whitefriars Judge Me Not 1:22.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Court Command Antidotes Cinque 1:22.1
2005 Paratroopers Primus Testafiable 1:22.3
2004 Wager Spirit of Tara Swick 1:22.5
2003 Ambulance Classy Dane Hasna 1:22.9
2002 Rare Insight Magic Marvo Choisir 1:24.0
2001 Lonhro Magic Albert Stylish Lass 1:24.0
2000 Dynamic Love Sale Of Century Ateates 1:21.7