Tramway Stakes 2018

Saturday 1st September

Ladbrokes Tip: The Tramway Stakes is a key Epsom Handicap lead-up in the spring.

The Tramway Stakes, formerly the Tramway Handicap, is a Group 2 race held on Chelmsford Stakes Day at Royal Randwick Racecourse in early September during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The meeting is host to a trio of Group 2 races with the Tramway Stakes running on the same card as the Chelmsford Stakes (1600m) and the Furious Stakes (1200m).

Previously run under handicap conditions and known as the Tramway Handicap, the race is now a set weights plus penalties clash contested over 1400m and offers a total of $175,000 in prize money. The Tramway Stakes is a key early spring lead-up for gallopers heading to bigger and better races over the carnival including the Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m) a fortnight later.

The last horse to complete the Tramway Stakes – George Main Stakes double was Sincero (2011). The Tramway winner is also exempt from ballot for the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) back at the track in early October.

The next edition of the Tramway Stakes runs on Saturday 1st September, 2018.

Tramway Stakes Field

The Tramway Stakes field attracts a quality line-up of strong middle-distance gallopers and milers looking to head into races like the George Main and Epsom Handicap also run at Randwick in the spring. Many horses contest the Tramway Stakes first-up in their spring preparation or come off an earlier spring run in the Group 2 Warwick Stakes (1400m) at the same track and distance in August.

In 2014 the Warwick Stakes winner Tiger Tees backed-up and finished second in the Tramway Stakes. Two years earlier (2012) Tagus improved on a seventh in the Warwick Stakes to win the Tramway.

Tramway Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday with the final field of acceptances and barrier draw are released on the Wednesday.

Tramway Stakes Odds & Betting

The Tramway Stakes odds are led each year by horses with previous good Sydney form from past campaigns, but the favourites have a poor recent record in the race. Runners that came off a nice earlier run at the track in the Warwick Stakes also often feature high up the Tramway Stakes betting markets.

Tramway Stakes Tips

Good Tramway Stakes tips to take include looking for horses with a good Randwick record, runners that have winning form over 1400m – 1600m, gallopers that have previous Group 1 race experience from past campaigns and those at double-figures with the favourites failing to have a strong recent record.

Another Tramway Stakes betting tip is to look at the mares in the mix with a number of female gallopers finishing in the money over the years.

Tramway Stakes Form Guide

The Tramway Stakes form guide features all the must-know information including the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field. The Tramway Stakes form has also stacked up in the upcoming Group 1 races of the spring in recent years. In 2015 the Tramway Stakes runner-up Eucador went on to finish second to Winx in the Epsom Handicap two runs later.

The previous year (2014) Lucia Valentina won the Tramway Stakes first-up before heading to Melbourne where two runs later she took out the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) at Flemington and placed third in the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m).

In 2013 Royal Descent ran third to Malavio in the Tramway Stakes before a second to Streama in the George Main Stakes next start.

Tramway Stakes Results

The Tramway Stakes results have been dominated by local Sydney-trained runners in the past 10 years. Plenty of upsets have occurred over the last decade including Hooked ($18 in 2015), Lucia Valentina ($10 in 2014), Malavio ($21 in 2013) and Tagus ($26 in 2012). The last single-figure Tramway Stakes winner was Sincero ($4.80 in 2011).

Other notable recent Tramway Stakes winners include Rangirangdoo (2009) and Diamond Dane (2011).

2018 Tramway Stakes Results

Be sure to check back here for full results following the Tramway Stakes in September.

Tramway Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018  TBD  TBD  TBD  TBD
2017 Happy Clapper Tom Melbourne Invincible Gem 1:21.9
2016 Hauraki Le Romain Dibayani 1:25.9
2015 Hooked Ecuador Rudy 1:24.4
2014 Lucia Valentina Tiger Tees Toydini 1:26.6
2013 Malavio Bello Royal Descent 1:21.3
2012 Tagus Kontiki Park Moment Of Time 1:22.5
2011 Sincero Secret Admirer Thankgodyou’rehere 1.22.2
2010 Neeson Cannonball Herculian Prince 1:26.1
2009 Rangirangdoo Strat’s Flyer Murray’s Sun 1:21.9
2008 Bank Robber Kick ‘N Chase Vecchia Roma 1:25.7
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Primus Stormhill Flaming 1:25.6
2005 Shania Dane Lotteria Utzon 1:22.7
2004 Nips West Country Desert War 1:22.9
2003 Sportsman Britt’s Best Boreale 1:21.8
2002 Gordo Shot Of Thunder Universal Prince 1:24.0
2001 Diamond Dane Maitland Gold Kootoomootoo 1:18.3
2000 Mr Innocent Eau D’Scay Freemason 1:20.6