Turnbull Stakes 2016

Sunday 2nd October 2016

Ladbrokes Tip: The Underwood Stakes – Turnbull Stakes is a popular spring betting double

The Turnbull Stakes is a 2000m Group 1 classic held at Flemington Racecourse at the start of October during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival each year. The headline race on the card and only event holding elite level status, the set weights plus penalties clash is open to horses aged four and above and is worth $500,000 in prize money. Many Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup bound horses go into those majors via the Turnbull Stakes, which has been a Group 1 race since 2010. Named in honour of Richard Turnbull in 1948 who was the current Victoria Racing Club chairman, the event first ran in 1865 and has been won by many turf greats. Notable Turnbull Stakes winners over the years include Wakeful (1903), dual champ Ajax (1938 & 1940) who won on non-consecutive years, Bernborough (1946), Rising Fast (1954), Dulcify (1979), Vo Rogue (1987 & 1988), Let’s Elope (1991), Sunline (2001), Makybe Diva (2005), Zipping (2010) and Green Moon (2012).

This year the Turnbull Stakes will be run on Sunday 2nd October 2016.The event has changed to the Sunday this year due to the AFL Grand Final being played on Saturday the 3rd.

Turnbull Stakes Field

The Turnbull Stakes field has a capacity of 16 starters and has run at that capacity four times since 2010 including in 2012, 2013 and 2014. The race hasn’t featured under 12 starters since 1999 when Sky Heights beat home just five rivals in a diminutive six starter field. The final acceptances close the week of the race and usually feature a host of previous Group 1 winners looking for more elite level glory with proven performers dominating the markets.

Turnbull Stakes Betting & Odds

Turnbull Stakes betting odds traditionally favour horses with previous Group 1 form and six-year-olds as this older age group has dominated the recent results with three winners from 2011 – 2013. Horses drawn in double digit barriers are found further down the markets with the only horse to jump from wider than gate eight in the past 10 years being Makybe Diva (16 in 2005). Favourites only have a mediocre recent record in the race though with three saluting in the past decade, most recently Green Moon (2012).

{!getRacing 12790516}

Turnbull Stakes Tips

Turnbull Stakes tips favour horses coming out of a race like the Group 1 Underwood Stakes, which has produced three winners since 2008 including Happy Trails (4th in 2013). The last horse to complete the Underwood Stakes – Turnbull Stakes double meanwhile was Elvstoem (2004). Betting tips also rate six-year-olds highly because of their good record in the race and those drawn an inside alley, while mares aren’t shied away from with two winning female gallopers since 2007 including Lucia Valentina (2014).

Turnbull Stakes Form Guide

The Turnbull Stakes form guide shows punters the saddlecloth number, jockey, trainer, weight and barrier for each horse in the field along with other important information like the galloper’s record at the track and distance and their lead-up form. All of this is crucial when placing bets, including looking for Robert Hickmott-trained hopes as the head trainer for owner Lloyd Williams has prepared two of the past five Turnbull Stakes winners.

Turnbull Stakes Results

The Turnbull Stakes results and finishing order are known when the event jumps as Caulfield Race 7 at the early October meeting and shows the winner, the margin by which they won by and the time they did it in as well as any horses scratched from the original field.

2016 Turnbull Stakes Results

Turnbull Stakes Winners