Underwood Stakes 2017


Ladbrokes Tip: The Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes is the best guide to the Underwood Stakes results

The Underwood Stakes is a weight-for-age race for staying types held at Caulfield Racecourse in late September each Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Held over 1800m under weight-for-age conditions the classic is open to horses aged three and over and is worth $400,000 in prize money. First run in 1924 the opening two editions of the Underwood were both won by Whittier (1924 & 1925). Other notable Underwood Stakes winners over the years include Phar Lap (1931), triple champion Ajax (1938, 1939, 1940), Rain Lover (1969), Bonecrusher (1986), Jeune (1994), Octagonal (1996), Northerly (2001 & 2002), So You Think (2010) and It’s A Dundeel (2013). It has been run as a Group 1 major since 1979 and often attracts graduates of the Memsie Stakes.

This year the Underwood Stakes will be run on September.

Underwood Stakes Field

The Underwood Stakes field has attracted 10 or more starters every year since 1999 including a full 16 in 2004 when Elvstroem saluted as a four-year-old. The field is released on the Wednesday before the race runs on the Saturday as the marquee of that weekend’s Caulfield meeting and features the season’s top weight-for-age hopes, many heading towards the Cox Plate the following month at Moonee Valley.

Underwood Stakes Betting & Odds

Underwood Stakes betting markets really heat up the week of the race and are led by horses that ran top four in their final lead-up. Only one Underwood Stakes winner has finished worse than fourth in their previous run since 1997, and three since 2006 won their lead-up race including Kiwi raider Ocean Park who took out the Group 1 Challenge Stakes back home. The Memsie Stakes meanwhile has produced three of the past 10 winners with the last to do the double being So You Think (2010).

Underwood Stakes Tips

Underwood Stakes tips are usually headed by the top four-year-olds in the race as every Underwood winner from 2008 – 2013 won as a 4YO before Foreteller broke the streak winning as an eight-year-old in 2014. Tipping also favours horses drawn in a single digit barrier with barriers two and three producing three winners since 2008. Any Kiwi-trained horses could also feature prominently in the Underwood tips as New Zealand horses have a strong record in the race with three wins since 2011 with Lion Tamer (2011), Ocean Park (2012) and It’s A Dundeel (2013).

Underwood Stakes Form Guide

The Underwood Stakes form guide is a must view reference for punters with all the info from saddlecloth and barrier numbers to the horse’s lead-up form listed. Favourites have won three times in the past 10 years but not since So You Think (2010) so the form guide can be a great way to uncover the value in the market by looking at proven weight-for-age types with winning form up to at least a mile.

Underwood Stakes Results

The Underwood Stakes results list the exact finishing order of all the starters plus any horses scratched from the original final field. You can see where your selections finished after the event runs late on the Caulfield card on Underwood Stakes Day and also view the winning time and margin for any exotic bets.

2017 Underwood Stakes Results

Underwood Winners