South Australian Derby 2019

Saturday May 11, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: Locally trained 3YOs have the best record in the SA Derby

The South Australian Derby is a Group 1 race for three-year-old staying types held at Morphettville Racecourse in mid-May during the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival. Contested a week after the Group 1 Schweppes Australasian Oaks (2000m) for the fillies, the set weights clash takes place over 2500m and offers $600,000 in prize money.

It is one of the major Morphettville races during the season and locally-trained horses have a top record in the event.

The latest edition of the South Australian Derby took place on Saturday May 11, 2019 .

2019 SA Derby Results

  • 1st: #16 Qafila
  • 2nd: #9 Savvy Oak
  • 3rd: #2 Mr Quickie

SA Derby Race Info

  • Date: Saturday May 11, 2019
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse
  • Distance: 2500m
  • Conditions: 3YO – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $600,000
  • First Run: 1860

2019 South Australian Derby Results

The official South Australian Derby 2019 results and finishing order will be available below once the race is run and won on Saturday May 11, 2019 .

South Australian Derby odds are usually led by the best performing three-year-olds coming off 2000m runs at the track in either the Chairman’s Stakes or the Schweppes Oaks.

South Australian Derby Odds

Favourites tent to have an outstanding recent record in the race with seven winning 2006 – 2018 – most recently Delicacy ($1.90 2015) and Leicester ($4 in 2018).

Previous experience at Morphettville often helps determine the South Australian Derby betting markets, as do those tested in previous Group 1 races either in Adelaide or interstate like the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) in Sydney the month before.

2019 SA Derby Betting

The autumn racing odds and South Australian Derby 2019 betting markets will be available below once open so you can back your favourite three-year-old stayers at the right price in the $600,000 Adelaide Group 1 autumn racing feature so stay tuned.

South Australian Derby Field

The South Australian Derby field attracts the season’s top three-year-old stayers from both locally and interstate. It is mainly made up of Adelaide-trained hopefuls however that come out of lead-up races including the Group 3 SA Chairman’s Stakes (2000m) in late April and for the fillies the Group 1 Schweppes Oaks (2000m) the Saturday prior.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 65123×7030 CHAPADA Michael Moroney William Pike 11 56.5kg 95
2 41111×1121 MR QUICKIE Phillip Stokes John Allen 13 56.5kg 90
3 140×227281 DECLARATIONOFHEART Anthony Freedman Clayton Douglas 4 56.5kg 85
4 33130×2114 GRINZINGER STAR (NZ) Danny O’Brien Damien Oliver 14 56.5kg 78
5 2635×97511 SECRET BLAZE Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 6 56.5kg 78
6 2×1113 CLASSIC WEIWEI Tony McEvoy Barend Vorster 17 56.5kg 77
7 x4125x1732 STAR MISSILE Greg Eurell Ben Allen 8 56.5kg 72
8 21×79361 RIDGEWOOD DRIVE Anthony Freedman Damien Thornton 10 56.5kg 71
9 84647×3412 SAVVY OAK (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Michael Walker 1 56.5kg 70
10 213×063612 MANGIONE Chris Waller Dwayne Dunn 2 56.5kg 69
11 34130×6234 STAR STATUS Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Raquel Clark (a) 15 56.5kg 66
12 4321×106 ZOUY’S COMET Richard Laming Jamie Mott 16 56.5kg 66
13 x1608x5701 RESURGE Tony McEvoy Todd Pannell 19 56.5kg 64
14 9x60x63151 GAYSON (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Stephen Baster 9 56.5kg 63
15 0x57921452 MANZALA Nick Smart Jarrod Lorensini 3 56.5kg 62
16 50425×1494 QAFILA David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 7 54.5kg 86
17e 4831180775 ZESTO Byron Cozamanis Jason Maskiell 12 56.5kg 62
18e 0x56148 MINT TO BE Chris Bieg 18 56.5kg 62
19e 519 OURKHANI Richard Jolly & Chantelle Jolly Jake Toeroek 5 56.5kg 62
20e 7262×54621 THE MALLEE MOB Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Michael Poy (a) 20 56.5kg 61
South Australian Derby betting online with Ladbrokes

SA Derby winner Howard Be Thy Name (2016) went on to run fourth in the Queensland Derby in Brisbane. Photo Credit: Jenny Barnes.

The South Australian Oaks – Derby double was last completed by Delicacy (2015), while in 2016 Howard Be Thy Name completed the Chairman’s Stakes – SA Derby double before stablemate Leicester (2018) repeated the feat for trainer Darren Weir two years later.

South Australian Derby nominations close the Tuesday of the week before the race, a week before final SA Derby acceptances are taken revealing the field of hopeful young stayers.

2019 South Australian Derby Field

The South Australian Derby form guide provides all the must know information before punters place a bet including the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up form of the three-year-olds in the mix.

South Australian Derby Form Guide

Wide barriers are not something to shy away from with plenty of good horses getting the job done from barrier 10 or wider including Volatile Mix (barrier 11 in 2017), Kidnapped who saluted from the outside barrier 16 of 16 in 2010, as did both Tails Of Triomphe (2005) and Testafiable (2006).

Over the years the South Australian Derby form has stacked up in better staying races in Melbourne during the spring including in 2003 when Mummify won the SA Derby – Caulfield Cup double before running third in the following year’s Sydney Cup and the 2005 Caulfield Cup.

Count Chivas (1995) and Shivas Revenge (1991) both won the SA Derby before placing second in the iconic Melbourne Cup in their respective years, while Subzero (1992) completed the double winning that spring’s ‘race that stops a nation’.

SA Derby Form Facts

  • Delicacy (2015) is the only filly since 2008 to beat the boys in the SA Derby results
  • The Chairman’s Stakes is the key SA Derby form race to follow and Howard Be Thy Name (2016) and Leicester (2018) were the last to do the double
  • Favourites in SA Derby betting have a gun record in the race over the past decade

2019 South Australian Derby Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive South Australian Derby 2019 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

South Australian Derby Tips

The favourites have a strong record in the race so taking the top fancy in betting is a good South Australian Derby tip.

Fillies have only won twice since 1999, so taking the colts and geldings that are high up the markets coming out of a run in the Chairman’s Stakes in Adelaide is a great SA Derby betting tip.

2019 SA Derby Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ exclusive South Australian Derby 2019 betting tips and exotic selections will be detailed below the week of the race so check back for the three-year-olds to back and sack in your Morphettville punting.

South Australian Derby Results

South Australian Derby results have been dominated by the favourites in recent years with the most notable upsets scored by Shadows In The Sun ($20 in 2011) and Tails Of Triomphe ($50 in 2005).

The most famous recent South Australian Derby winners include Delicacy (2015), Rebel Raider (2009), Mummify (2003) and Subzero (1992).

South Australian Derby Past Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Qafila Savvy Oak Mr Quickie 2:39.0
2018 Leicester Rezealient Runaway 2:38.9
2017 Volatile Mix Ruthven Odeon 2:37.0
2016 Howard Be Thy Name Etymology Cool Chap 2:40.0
2015 Delicacy Werther Allergic 2:37.9
2014 Kushadasi Scratchy Bottom Best Case 2:41.9
2013 Escado Hioctdane Shoreham 2:39.0
2012 Zabeelionaire Sabrage Westsouthwest 2:42.1
2011 Shadows In The Sun Echoes Of Heaven Lalla Rookh 2:39.8
2010 Kidnapped Red Colossus Sea Galleon 2:37.2
2009 Rebel Raider Astro Gains Fitoussi 2:40.3
2008 Zarita Zagreb Neugine 2:39.5
2007 Lazer Sharp Classic De Lago Red Lord 2:37.8
2006 Testafiable Empire Gold Irazu 2:43.3
2005 Tails Of Triomphe Douro Valley Kamsky 2:37.7
2004 Hard To Get On A Jeune Better Jetsetter 2:37.1
2003 Mummify Vicksburgh Lord Wooburn 2:38.7
2002 Pantani Silver Baron Lester Thunderwing 2:37.8
2001 Big Pat Bush Padre Adolescence 2:36.2
2000 Blue Murder Mr Nelson Voile D’Or 2:38.4