A-League Finals 2020/21


The 2021 A-League Grand Final took place on Sunday the 27th of June and saw Melbourne City come away with their first title win with a 3-1 victory over Sydney FC at AAMI Park. 

The A-Leagues Finals series traditionally runs at the end of the 29-round regular soccer season and involves the highest-placed professional soccer teams in the Hyundai-sponsored competition in Australia. Overall the A-League season runs from October to May the following year and the end-of-season finals series playoff tournament gives punters some top class soccer betting opportunities.

Betting on the A-League Finals is open before the end of the standard season with futures or all-in markets available, and these are a great way to support your A-League team and get behind them to advance.

The A-League Winner markets for the season refer to the club that win the Grand Final and are updated based on the weekly A-League results


The finals culminate with the highly-anticipated A-League Grand Final match, the winner of which is dubbed the season ‘Champion’ and awarded the A-League Trophy. Since the A-League competition formed as a successor to the National Soccer League (NSL) and had its first season in 2005-06 there have been eight clubs crowned A-League Champions as of the end of the 2020/21 season after Melbourne City claimed their first title in the 2021 A-League Grand Final.

Previously the most successful with three titles each were Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC. Sydney FC took out top billing again in the 2018-19 A-League Season making them the most successful club in the competition’s history with four titles. They then surpassed their own record with an historic fifth Championship win at the end of the COVID-19 interrupted 2019-20 A-League season. Sydney FC failed to make it three consecutive titles when they went down 3-1 to Melbourne City in the 2021 A-League decider. 

The season’s A-League Champions or Grand Final winner also receive a spot in the AFC Champions League, also known as the Asian Football Confederation Champions League (ACL). This is a continental competition first run in 2002 and is the premier soccer club tournament in Asia.

To work out what A-League Teams face off in the finals series the A-League Table or A-League Ladder comes into play and the top six in standings progress onto the finals. Previously the finals were between the top four teams according to rank and the Grand Final is obviously between the last two clubs standing in the competition.

A-League Championship betting

The A-League Grand Final winners take out the Championship Trophy. Photo Credit: FFA.

The Finals of the A-League soccer take place in three stages and each match winner progresses onto the next stage while the loser is knocked out of the competition. The current format of the playoffs has been used since the 2012-13 season and is made up of a three-week knockout or sudden-death series. The first and second placed teams on the A-League Ladder are rewarded for their spots to the semi-finals.

In the A-League Grand Final the club that finished highest on the ladder at the end of the regular season, who are dubbed the A-League Premier, get the home ground advantage.

The A-League finals series uses a variation of the top six play-offs system.

2020/21 A-League Finals Dates

All A-League 2021 Finals Dates are listed below. 

  • 2021 A-League Elimination Finals (Week 1): Saturday June 12 – Sunday June 13, 2021 
  • 2021 A-League Semi-Finals (Week 2): Saturday June 18 – Sunday June 19, 2021 
  • 2021 A-League Grand Final (Week 3): Sunday June 27, 2021

2020/21 A-League Finals Week One

A-League Elimination Finals
Date Home Away Venue Kick-off

Saturday June 12, 2021

Central Coast Mariners (0)

(3rd-placed side)

Macarthur FC (2)

(6th-placed side)

Central Coast Stadium, Gosford 7:05pm (AEST)

Sunday June 13, 2021

Brisbane Roar (1)

(4th-placed side)

Adelaide United (2)

(5th-placed side)

Moreton Daily Stadium, Kippa-Ring 3:05pm (AEST)

2020/21 A-League Finals Week Two

A-League Semi-Finals
Date Home Away Venue Kick-off

Saturday June 18, 2021


Sydney FC (2)

(2nd-placed side)

Adelaide United (1)

Highest-ranked EF winner

Netstrata Jubilee Stadium 7:05pm (AEST)

Sunday June 19, 2021



Melbourne City FC (2)

(1st-placed side)

Macarthur FC (0)

Lowest-ranked EF winner

AAMI Park 4:05pm (AEST)

2020/21 A-League Finals Week Three

A-League Grand Final 
Date Home Away Venue Kick-off
Sunday June 27, 2021



Melbourne City (3)

(Highest-ranked SF winner)

Sydney FC (1) 

(Lowest-ranked SF winner)

AAMI Park 7:05pm (AEST)

Note: All A-League match kick-off times quoted are in Sydney / Melbourne time (AEDT during daylight savings, AEST after end of daylight savings) 

A-League Finals System

Week One: A-League Elimination Finals

Features two games between the teams that finished third – sixth on the A-League ladder. The A-League clubs that ranked first and second on the table enjoy a bye before hosting matches in the second week of the finals for the chance to secure a spot in the Grand Final.

  • Elimination Final 1: 4th vs 5th (elimination match)
  • Elimination Final 2: 3rd vs 6th (elimination match)

Week Two: A-League Semi-Finals

Features two games with the two winners from the Elimination Finals taking on the top two ranked teams from the regular season. The A-League Premiers host the lowest-ranked winner of the first elimination match. The second-ranked team on the A-League ladder then host the highest-ranked elimination final winner.

  • Preliminary Final 1: Lowest-Ranked Semi-Final Winner vs 1st (A-League Premiers)
  • Preliminary Final 2: Highest-Ranked Semi-Final Winner vs 2nd (on end-of-season A-League Ladder)

Week Three: A-League Grand Final

The final game of the A-League Fixtures features the winners of the two Semi Finals and decides the season’s A-League Champions.

  • A-League Grand Final: Highest-ranked Semi Final winner hosts the Lowest-ranked Semi Final winner in the final match of the season