Doomben Cup 2019

Saturday May 18, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: Four-year-olds have a dominant Doomben Cup record in recent years

The Doomben Cup is the second Group 1 race of the annual Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival after the Doomben 10,000 and takes place on a Saturday in mid – late May at Doomben Racecourse. Contested over 2000m the weight-for-age event attracts a field of class staying types and offers $650,000 in total prize money including $396,500 to the winning connections.

The winner of the A.D. Hollindale Stakes at the Gold Coast a fortnight earlier is exempt from Doomben Cup ballot and the double was last achieved by Streama (2014).

The latest edition of the Doomben Cup runs on Saturday May 18, 2019.

Doomben Cup Race Info

  • Date: Saturday May 18, 2019
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse
  • Distance: 2000m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $650,000
  • First Run: 1933

Doomben Cup Odds

Doomben Cup betting is open at futures prices around nomination stage offering generous all-in prices on the hopeful horses. The Doomben Cup odds firm on the confirmed runners after final acceptances are taken the Wednesday before the race runs on the Saturday.

Horses that ran top three in the AD Hollindale Stakes at the Gold Coast two weeks earlier feature highly up the Doomben Cup betting markets. Until Our Ivanhowe (The BMW 10th in 2016), no Doomben Cup winner had come off a run worse than fifth since King Keitel (6th in NZ) in 2001, so runners that finished top five in the lead-up dominate betting for the Group 1. In 2017 however, Sense Of Occasion improved on a sixth in the Hollindale Stakes for his Doomben Cup upset. Favourites and equal favourites have a solid recent record in the Doomben Cup including Streama (2014) and Pornichet (2015) who both saluted for the punters.

2019 Doomben Cup Betting

The season’s latest Doomben Cup 2019 betting odds are available here and markets on the Group 1 weight-for-age Brisbane race are now live below.

Doomben Cup Field

The Doomben Cup field features a top line-up of weight-for-age horses each winter with the largest field in recent years being 20 starters when Bush Padre won in 2003.

Doomben Cup betting odds at

Streama (2014) was the last horse to complete the AD Hollindale Stakes – Doomben Cup double during the winter. Photo Credit: Daniel Costello.

The smallest recent Doomben Cup field was nine runners in 2011 when Scenic Shot won; this is the only line-up of under 10 runners in over 30 years. Horses traditionally come into the Doomben Cup field via a run at the Gold Coast in the Hollindale Stakes a fortnight earlier over 200m shorter; recent winners of both races include Streama (2014), Metal Bender (2010), Above Deck (2006) and Mr Bureaucrat (2002).

From 2006 – 2017 seven of the 12 Doomben Cup winners came out of the A.D. Hollindale Stakes. Doomben Cup nominations close on the Wednesday two weeks before the race with the final field of acceptances closing a fortnight later on the Wednesday of race week.

2019 Doomben Cup Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 5000×26220 BIG DUKE (IRE) Kris Lees Sam Clipperton 6 59kg 107
2 5435233×81 LIFE LESS ORDINARY (IRE) Chris Waller Jason Collett 10 59kg 109
3 6118050×12 MISTER SEA WOLF (IRE) Chris Waller Jeff Lloyd 3 59kg 108
4 75519×9370 RED ALTO Brent Stanley Luke Nolen 5 59kg 98
5 818×319170 ON THE ROCKS (NZ) Michael Moroney Jake Bayliss 4 59kg 104
6 211×111811 ARCHEDEMUS Gwenda Markwell Corey Brown 17 59kg 101
7 11495710×9 PRIORITISE Steve Tregea Michael Murphy (a) 14 59kg 95
8 58691514×6 TALLY James Cummings Tim Clark 16 59kg 107
9 110×342313 HALLELUJAH BOY (JPN) Kris Lees Matthew McGillivray 15 59kg 100
10 x28321x672 FIERCE IMPACT (JPN) Matthew Smith Michael Walker 12 59kg 99
11 415×062055 SHILLELAGH (NZ) Chris Waller James McDonald 2 57kg 112
12 04201×9319 KENEDNA Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen 9 57kg 109
13 3x63276x05 YOUNGSTAR Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 11 57kg 108
14 2170×00056 SAVVY COUP (NZ) Chris Waller Mark Du Plessis 13 57kg 105
15 85030×8238 LUVALUVA (NZ) John Sargent Glen Boss 18 57kg 98
16 x312x15413 GEM SONG Kris Lees Blake Shinn 8 56.5kg 96
17e 5211x310x3 SIXTIES GROOVE (IRE) Kris Lees 7 59kg 102
18e 6x124x4145 ORDER AGAIN (NZ) Brian Smith 1 59kg 95

2019 Doomben Cup Nominations

The early Doomben Cup 2019 Nominations close on a Tuesday in early May about a fortnight out from the race.

Doomben Cup Tips

Looking for proven weight-for-age types that ran top three in the Hollindale Stakes last time out are good Doomben Cup tips. Also looking for runners drawn in barriers 1 – 8 is favourable when doing the betting tips with double digit barriers rarely producing a winner. However, Sense Of Occasion overcame the outside barrier 15 (of 15) for his 2017 Doomben Cup victory.

Sydney visitors also have a dominant Doomben Cup record so watching for the interstate-trained visitors is also a good tip.

2019 Doomben Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Doomben Cup 2019 betting tips and exotic Group 1 Brisbane race selections will be detailed below the week of the race so bookmark this page for the gallopers to back and sack this season.

Doomben Cup Form Guide

The Doomben Cup form guide features all of the essential information for punters including the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field. Looking for horses coming out of the Hollindale Stakes when doing the Doomben Cup form is crucial, as is seeking out staying types with winning form at least over 2000m.

Doomben Cup Form Facts

  • The AD Hollindale Stakes produced seven of the 12 Doomben Cup winners from 2007 – 2017
  • Last start winners have a dominate record in the Doomben Cup results of the past decade
  • Only two mares have won the Doomben Cup in the past 30 plus years – Cinque Cento (2007) and Streama (2014)

2019 Doomben Cup Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Doomben Cup 2019 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Doomben Cup Results

Favourites have a credible recent record in the Doomben Cup results, but the longest priced winner in recent years was Cinque Centro ($21 in 2007) and before them Sapio ($61 in 1997). Notable recent Doomben Cup winners include Pornichet (2015), Streama (2014), Metal Bender (2010) and Above Deck (2006).

Doomben Cup 2019 Results

The official 2019 Doomben Cup Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the race is run and won in Brisbane on Saturday May 18, 2019.

Doomben Cup Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Kenedna Life Less Ordinary Sixties Groove 2:02.1
2018 Comin’ Through Egg Tart Ambitious 2:01.4
2017 Sense Of Occasion Star Exhibit Rudy 2:06.6
2016 Our Ivanhowe Hauraki It’s Somewhat 2:01.4
2015 Pornichet Weary I’m Imposing 2:02.5
2014 Streama Leebaz Junoob 2:01.7
2013 Beaten Up Foreteller Secret Admirer 2:04.3
2012 Mawingo Lights Of Heaven Manighar 2:02.0
2011 Scenic Shot My Kingdom Of Fife Glass Harmonium 2:03.7
2010 Metal Bender Gold Water Triple Honour 2:02.6
2009 Scenic Shot Racing To Win Sir Slick 2:02.8
2008 Sarrera Rampant Lion Like It Is 2:03.3
2007 Cinque Cento Gaze Pentathon 2:01.8
2006 Above Deck Octapussy Roman Arch 2:13.8
2005 Perlin Platinum Scissors Natural Blitz 2:15.0
2004 Defier Pentastic Upsetthym 2:11.6
2003 Bush Padre Freemason Maguire 2:13.0
2002 Mr Bureaucrat Galroof Freemason 2:14.0
2001 King Keitel Shogun Lodge Kasakh Belle 2:01.9
2000 Akhenaton Integrate Cruzeiro 2:04.7