British Open 2021

15 - 18 July, 2021

The 2021 Open Championship took place at Royal St George’s Golf Club in Kent between the 15th and 18th of July, 2021 and was won by event debutant Collin Morikawa from the USA. 

The British Open golf tournament – also known as The Open Championship – is last of the four major men’s golf championships running in July each year across the UK, usually in England or Scotland.

It is the first of the golf majors contested outside of America following the US Masters Tournament, PGA Championship and US Open of golf earlier in the year. Chronologically on the yearly golfing calendar it was succeeded by the PGA Championship that was previously held in August.

The Open Championship is also the oldest professional golf tournament and carries plenty of history and tradition including customarily being played on a links-style course. The British Open venues then are traditionally on the coast, feature plenty of flat ground and windy conditions that affect the course conditions instead of the green being doctored.

Betting on the British Open of golf is available as soon as the majors kick off with players that perform well in the US lead-ups often sitting near the top of The Open Championship odds.

Qualifying tournaments to make the British Open field are held on all continents in the lead-up to the championship that sees the winner’s name engraved on the base of the iconic Claret Jug.



After the 2020 The Open was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic, the 149th running of The Open Championship took place from the 15th to 18th of July, 2021. The original venue for 2020 – Royal St George’s Golf Club in Kent – hosted the event for the 15th time.

The Open Championship 2021 winner was event debutant, 2020 PGA Championship winner Collin Morikawa from the USA with a score of 265, 15-under-par. Morikawa was the first champion to win in his The Open Championships debut since Ben Curtis (2003). 

  • 2021 The Open Championship Dates: July 15-18, 2021
  • Location: Royal St George’s Golf Club – Sandwich, England
  • Edition: 149th
  • Organised By: The R&A
  • Field: 156
  • Winner: Collin Morikawa (USA) 


  • Venue: Various locations across the United Kingdom
  • Date: July
  • Inauguration: 1860
  • Par: 70 (in 2020)
  • Length: 7,211 yards (6,594 m) in 2020
  • Format: Stroke Play
  • Tours: European Tour, PGA Tour, Japan Golf Tour
  • Prize Money: US $11.5 million (in 2021)
  • Current British Open Champion: Collin Morikawa (2021) 

The Open Championship, also referred to as the British Open or simply The Open, dates back until 1860 making it the oldest of the four golfing majors. Traditionally the event is a 72-hole stroke play tournament that takes place across four days of play. The world’s best professional golfers make-up the British Open field that consists of 165 players.

The British Open has been played from Thursday – Sunday since 1980 and the last major The Open Championship rule change occurred in 1996 when the “10-shot rule” was dropped.

Among the 28 current exemption categories to make The Open Championship field are: the Top 50 players on the Official World Golf Ranking, Top 30 players from the past season’s European Tour Race to Dubai, all previous The Open Championship winners aged 60 or under and the Top 10 players from the previous year’s British Open results.


Below is a table of the past winners of The Open dating back to the year 2000 to current. The USA’s Jordan Spieth is the current champion as he broke record for the youngest player ever to win 3 majors.

YearCountryChampionCourseLocationTotal scoreTo par
2000United StatesTiger WoodsSt AndrewsSt Andrews, Scotland269−19
2001United StatesDavid DuvalRoyal Lytham & St AnnesLytham St Annes, England274−10
2002South AfricaErnie Els Tournament won in a playoffMuirfieldGullane, Scotland278−6
2003United StatesBen CurtisRoyal St George’sSandwich, England283−1
2004United StatesTodd Hamilton Tournament won in a playoffRoyal TroonTroon, Scotland274−10
2005United StatesTiger WoodsSt AndrewsSt Andrews, Scotland274−14
2006United StatesTiger WoodsRoyal LiverpoolHoylake, England270−18
2007IrelandPádraig Harrington Tournament won in a playoffCarnoustieCarnoustie, Scotland277−7
2008IrelandPádraig HarringtonRoyal BirkdaleSouthport, England283+3
2009United StatesStewart Cink Tournament won in a playoffTurnberrySouth Ayrshire, Scotland278−2
2010South AfricaLouis OosthuizenSt AndrewsSt Andrews, Scotland272−16
2011Northern IrelandDarren ClarkeRoyal St George’sSandwich, England275−5
2012South AfricaErnie ElsRoyal Lytham & St AnnesLytham St Annes, England273−7
2013United StatesPhil MickelsonMuirfieldGullane, Scotland281−3
2014Northern IrelandRory McIlroyRoyal LiverpoolHoylake, England271−17
2015United StatesZach Johnson Tournament won in a playoffSt AndrewsSt Andrews, Scotland273−15
2016SwedenHenrik StensonRoyal TroonTroon, Scotland264−20
2017United StatesJordan SpiethRoyal BirkdaleSouthport, England268−12
2018ItalyFrancesco MolinariCarnoustie Golf LinksAngus, Scotland276-8
2019IrelandShane LowryRoyal Portrush Golf Club
Dunluce Links
Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland269-15
2020   Event Cancelled due to COVID-19
2021United StatesCollin MorikawaSandwich, EnglandRoyal St George’s Golf Club265-15