The US Masters 2021

April 8 - 11, 2021

The 2021 US Masters runs from April 9 – 12, 2021

The US Masters Golf Tournament is the first of the four men’s major golf championships held in April at Augusta National Golf Cup in the USA.

The Masters, which was established in 1934, kicks off on the second Sunday in April (US dates) and is an invitational golf major that attracts plenty of attention from golf betting fans.

It’s the only golfing major held at the same course annually and The Masters field is the smallest of the four majors with around 100 or less players. Any of the qualified The Masters players that do not enter due to injury or the like do not have “alternates” to replace them, unlike in the other three majors.

The Masters field always include the current champions of the major amateur championships and the majority of the season prior’s PGA Tour winners. Previous The Masters champions also hold a lifetime invitation to compete in subsequent tournaments.

Each year The Masters champion receives a green jacket, a tradition awarded since 1949.


  • US Masters Tournament Dates: 9 – 12 April, 2021
  • Edition: 85th
  • Winner’s Prize Fund: $11.5 million
  • 2020 The Masters Champion: Dustin Johnson (USA)

The 2021 US Masters of Golf will be the 85th edition of the major and runs at its traditional home at Augusta National Golf Club.


  • Venue: Augusta National Golf Club, Georgia, US
  • Date: Traditionally first full week of April (US)
  • Inauguration: March 22, 1934
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7,475 yards (6,835 m)
  • Format: Stroke Play
  • Tours: PGA Tour; European Tour, Japan Golf Tour
  • Prize Money: $11.5 million
  • Current The Masters Champion: Dustin Johnson (2020)

The US Masters Tournament consists of four rounds at 18 holes each. For the opening two rounds (36 holes) players compete in groups of three. For the weekend rounds The Masters field is reduced using a cut-off score. Punters can bet on what players will “Make The Cut”, i.e. those inside the Top 50 positions or within 10 strokes of the current leader’s score at the end of 36 holes.

The final two days of play feature a further 36 holes and if The Masters champion is still undecided, the tournament moves into a sudden-death playoff beginning on the 18th hole and in place since 1976.


The Masters betting on the overall champion is a key golf bet type on the opening of the four majors. Players in The Masters field that played well in the Arnold Palmer Invitational in the lead-up often sit high up the futures The Masters odds.

Below we take a quick look over some of the other popular The Masters golf betting markets and odds.

Age of the US Masters Winner

Golf fans can enjoy a US Masters punt on what age the current year’s champion will be. Could a veteran over the age of 34 take out The Masters or will it be a younger player?

Crack-Handed US Masters Winner

Will a Left-Handed competitor in The Masters field win the tournament?

Rookie Wins The Masters

Back a rookie golfer to win The Masters at juicy golf odds.

The Masters Winners’ Shirt Colour

Tip the colour of The Masters winners’ shirt colour will be with grey and white popular options.

Position Golf Markets

Back a player in The Masters for a Top 5, Top 10 or Top 20 finish.

Top Player Golf Betting

Predict which European Player in the current The Masters field with finish highest.

First Round Leader

Put your golf knowledge to the test and back what competitor you think will be leading The Masters results after the opening round of play.


The Masters Golf Records
Most Masters Wins: Jack Nicklaus – 6 (1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986)
Oldest US Masters Champion: Jack Nicklaus – 46 years (1986)
Youngest US Masters Champion: Tiger Woods – 21 years (1997)
Widest The Masters Winning Margin: 12 Strokes – Tiger Woods (1997)
Lowest The Masters Winning Score: 270 (-18) – Tiger Woods (1997); Jordan Spieth (2015)
Highest The Masters Winning Score: 289 (+1) – Sam Snead (1954); Jack Burke Jr. (1956); Zach Johnson (2007)
Most The Masters Appearances: Gary Player – 52
Most US Masters Top 10s: Jack Nicklaus – 22


The list of former The Masters Champions dates back to the tournament’s establishment in 1934 when Horton Smith won. The first Masters Tournament winner Smith returned for a second success in 1936.

Local US golfers dominated The Masters Tournament results from 1934 – 1960 until South African Gary Player became the first international winner of The Masters. Player celebrated a second success in 1974, the first time since his opening title that a non-US player won.

More recent The Masters results show a range of differing nationalities taking out the Green Jacket including Aussie Adam Scott (2013), Danny Willett (2016) from England and Spaniard Sergio Garcia (2017).

Most The Masters Championships:

  • 6 – Jack Nicklaus (1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986)
  • 5 – Tiger Woods (1997, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2019)
  • 4 – Arnold Palmer (1958, 1960, 1962, 1964)

See below for the US The Masters Winners going back to 2000.

Year The Masters Champion Winning Country To Par Margin of Victory Runner(s)-up Winner’s Prizemoney ($USD)
2020 Dustin Johnson United States -20 5 strokes Im Sung-jae, Cameron Smith 2,070,000
2019 Tiger Woods United States -13 2 strokes Xander Schauffele, Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson 1,980,000
2018 Patrick Reed United States -15 1 stroke Rickie Fowler 1,980,000
2017 Sergio García Spain −9 Playoff Justin Rose (UK) 1,980,000
2016 Danny Willett England −5 3 strokes Jordan Spieth (US), Lee Westwood (UK) 1,800,000
2015 Jordan Spieth United States –18 4 strokes Phil Mickelson (US), Justin Rose (UK) 1,800,000
2014 Bubba Watson (2nd Win) United States −8 3 strokes Jonas Blixt (SWE), Jordan Spieth (US) 1,620,000
2013 Adam Scott Australia −9 Playoff Ángel Cabrera (ARG) 1,440,000
2012 Bubba Watson United States −10 Playoff Louis Oosthuizen (ZA) 1,440,000
2011 Charl Schwartzel South Africa −14 2 strokes Jason Day (AUS), Adam Scott (AUS) 1,440,000
2010 Phil Mickelson (3rd Win) United States −16 3 strokes Lee Westwood (UK) 1,350,000
2009 Ángel Cabrera Argentina −12 Playoff Kenny Perry (US), Chad Campbell (US) 1,350,000
2008 Trevor Immelman South Africa −8 3 strokes Tiger Woods (US) 1,350,000
2007 Zach Johnson United States +1 2 strokes Retief Goosen (ZA), Rory Sabbatini (ZA), Tiger Woods (US) 1,305,000
2006 Phil Mickelson (2nd Win) United States −7 2 strokes im Clark (ZA) 1,260,000
2005 Tiger Woods (4th Win) United States −12 Playoff Chris DiMarco (US) 1,260,000
2004 Phil Mickelson United States −9 1 stroke Ernie Els (ZA) 1,117,000
2003 Mike Weir Canada −7 Playoff ULen Mattiace (US) 1,080,000
2002 Tiger Woods (3rd Win) United States −12 3 strokes Retief Goosen (ZA) 1,008,000
2001 Tiger Woods (2nd Win) United States −16 2 strokes David Duval (US) 1,008,000
2000 Vijay Singh Fiji −10 3 strokes Ernie Els (ZA) 828,000