Peter Young Stakes 2021

Saturday February 20, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Peter Young Stakes winner traditionally backs-up in the Australian Cup a fortnight later

The Peter Young Stakes, formerly the St George Stakes, is one of a host of Group 2 support races on the Blue Diamond Stakes Day program at Caulfield Racecourse in late February each Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

Racing at the Saturday meeting is headlined by the Group 1 Neds Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m), the premier race for juveniles at the carnival, as well as the other two top level races – the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) and Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m).

Contested over 1800m and run under weight-for-age conditions the Peter Young Stakes offers $200,000 in total prize money and attracts a field of top class middle distance staying types.

The race is a traditional lead-up to the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) at Flemington in March and the last horse to complete the double was Fiorente (2014).

The next edition of the Peter Young Stakes takes place on Saturday February 20, 2021. 

Peter Young Stakes Race Facts

  • Date: Saturday February 20, 2021
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Distance: 1800m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1900

2021 Peter Young Stakes Results

The official Peter Young Stakes 2021 results will be published in full below when the race is run and won on Saturday February 20, 2021.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Peter Young Stakes Odds & Betting

Peter Young Stakes odds and betting markets favour the older horses with proven weight-for-age form and that have Group 1 experience. Upsets are not uncommon in the race but typically the favourite in Peter Young Stakes betting finishes in the money including in 2018 when the Peter Young Stakes favourite Gailo Chop saluted. The following year Avilius ($1.95 in 2019) saluted as the odds-on favourite in Peter Young Stakes betting.

Looking at the form of hopefuls coming out of the CF Orr Stakes at the track earlier in the month is key and if they are resuming how they run fresh is important.

2021 Peter Young Stakes Betting

The updated Peter Young Stakes 2021 odds on the Group 2 event at Caulfield Racecourse will be available the week of the race so stay tuned.

Peter Young Stakes Field

Peter Young Stakes betting & tips available at Ladbrokes

Fiorente (2014) completed the Peter Young Stakes – Australian Cup double. Photo Credit: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The Peter Young Stakes field runs at a 16-starter capacity and features plenty of Group 1 performers and winners each year. In 2014 Fiorente completed the Melbourne Cup – Australian Cup double.

Proven weight-for-age gallopers heading towards the Australian Cup on ‘Super Saturday’ are in the mix every autumn and have often run in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival majors including the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup.

In 2015 Mourinho came off a third in the Group 1 C.F. Orr Stakes (1400m) at the track to win the Peter Young Stakes, the season’s first Group 1 race a key lead-up to the Blue Diamond Day clash. The following year Bow Creek (2016) took out the Peter Young Stakes off an unplaced CF Orr (13th) performance.

Peter Young Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race with the final field of acceptances and barrier draw released on the Wednesday.

2021 Peter Young Stakes Field

The official Peter Young Stakes 2021 field and barriers will be announced below on Wednesday February 19, 2020 so bookmark this page to see the Australian Cup hopefuls lining-up in the Blue Diamond Stakes Day Group 2.

2021 Peter Young Stakes Nominations

The official Peter Young Stakes 2021 nominations are open until the Monday of race week.

Peter Young Stakes Tips

The Peter Young Stakes is the first weight-for-age race of the autumn contested over further than 1400m so always attracts plenty of talent making tipping in the feature a tough task.

The CF Orr Stakes has been a good guide in recent years so looking for top runs in that from horses looking for extra metres can prove good Peter Young Stakes tips. The last galloper to complete the CF Orr Stakes – Peter Young Stakes double however was Elvstroem (2005).

2021 Peter Young Stakes Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Peter Young Stakes 2021 tips and betting selections will be available for punters below the week of the race sorting the best from the rest in the Australian Cup lead-up.

Peter Young Stakes Form Guide

The CF Orr Stakes has been a key indicator on the Peter Young Stakes form guide in recent years as has the Melbourne Spring features like the Cox Plate the previous year.

The Peter Young Stakes form guide lists barriers, jockeys, trainers and lead-up runs for all the hopefuls in the field. Older horses have a better record in the race so looking at the galloper’s age on the form as well as their record at the track and distance is important.

The Peter Young Stakes has provided a host of subsequent Australian Cup winners over the years, so taking the double is a popular betting option.

2021 Peter Young Stakes Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Peter Young Stakes 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Peter Young Stakes Results

The Peter Young Stakes results are traditionally dominated by older gallopers with Group 1 and WFA form that are tracking towards the Australian Cup as well as Sydney autumn features like the Ranvet Stakes.

Notable recent Peter Young Stakes winners include the previous year’s Melbourne Cup winner Fiorente (2014), Theseo (2009) and Pompeii Ruler (2007).

Recent Peter Young Stakes Winners

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Winning Time
2020 Miss Siska Kings Will Dream Mirage Dancer 1:49.6
2019 Avilius Trap For Fools Ace High 1:49.1
2018 Gail Chop Single Gaze Hartnell 1:48.2
2017 Stratum Star Humidor The United States 1:48.2
2016 Bow Creek Fenway Mourinho 1:48.6
2015 Mourinho Happy Trails Akzar 1:48.0
2014 Fiorente Mourayan Star Rolling 1:50.0
2013 Foreteller Mr Moet Budriguez 1:50.1
2012 Lucas Cranach Illo Manighar 1:48.8
2011 Heart Of Dreams Precedence Spacecraft 1:48.8
2010 La Rocket Heart Of Dreams Miss Maren 1:49.0
2009 Theseo Baughurst Zarita 1:47.8
2008 Princess Coup Sirmione Douro Valley 1:51.0
2007 Pompeii Ruler Marasco Aqua D’Amore 1:49.2
2006 Our Smoking Joe Lad Of The Manor Vroom Vroom 1:50.2
2005 Elvstroem Makybe Diva Casual Pass 1:49.5
2004 Lonhro Sound Journey Mummify 1:50.9
2003 Northerly Fields Of Omagh Mr Casanova 1:51.8
2002 Northerly Old Comrade Piper Star 1:49.2
2001 Cent Home Giovana Kaapstad Way 1:47.1
2000 Royal Voyage Oliver Twist Arena 1:49.1