Rubiton Stakes 2022

Saturday February 12, 2022

Ladbrokes Tip: The Rubiton Stakes is a good Oakleigh Plate guide each Autumn Carnival

The Rubiton Stakes is a key Group 2 support act on CF Orr Stakes Day at Caulfield Racecourse in mid-February, which kicks off the top racing action of the annual Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

The Group 1 C.F. Orr Stakes (1400m) headlines the card, but there’s plenty of other action for the punters including in the form of the Rubiton Stakes for the sprinters run over 1100m under set weights plus penalties conditions.

An open age and sex event, the race offers a total of $300,000 in prize money and serves as a good lead-up to the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) back at the track a fortnight later. In 2016 Heatherly won the Rubiton Stakes before running third in the Oakleigh Plate, while the last horse to complete the double was Lankan Rupee (2014).

The latest edition of the Rubiton Stakes ran on Saturday February 12, 2022 and was won by the young Ciaron Maher & David Eustace-trained favourite Marine One ($3.10F). 

Rubiton Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday February 12, 2022
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Distance: 1100m
  • Conditions: Set Weights + Penalties
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $300,000
  • First Run: 1989

2022 Rubiton Stakes Results

The official Rubiton Stakes 2022 Results & Finishing Order will be known on Saturday February 12, 2022 and published in full below.

  • 1st: #8 Marine One ($3.10F)
  • 2nd: #1 Oxley Road
  • 3rd: #5 Sword Of Mercy

Rubiton Stakes Betting

Rubiton Stakes betting markets are led by the proven sprinters in the field that enjoyed a solid spring the campaign before and that are proven over the short distances.

First-up runners with a good strike rate when resuming also feature high up the Rubiton Stakes odds, which open after the final field is released the week of the race.

Favourites have a strong strike rate in the Rubiton Stakes, which has been won by some top class runners over the years.

Nature Strip ($1.75 in 2019), Anaheed ($2.90 in 2020) and Marine One ($3.10 in 2022) are the latest favourites in Rubiton Stakes betting to salute for the punters.

2022 Rubiton Stakes Odds

The official Rubiton Stakes 2022 betting odds will be available here each autumn as soon as released.

Early market betting odds on the 2022 Rubiton Stakes will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit

Rubiton Stakes Field

Rubiton Stakes betting favoured the 2015 winner Chautauqua

Chautauqua (2015) is one of the most famous Rubiton Stakes winners. Photo Credit: Adrienne Bicknell.

The Rubiton Stakes field attracts a collection of the autumn’s best sprinters, many running first-up in the event on way to bigger and better races.

Most of the runners in the Rubiton Stakes field go onto Group 1 events including Chautauqua (2015) who backed-up and ran second in the Newmarket Handicap and won the TJ Smith Stakes at Melbourne and April respectively, followed by plenty more elite level glory over subsequent seasons.

Rubiton Stakes nominations close on the Monday before the race runs on a Saturday followed by the final field and barriers on the Wednesday.

2022 Rubiton Stakes Field & Barrier Draw

The official Rubiton Stakes 2022 Final Field & Barriers are released the Wednesday of race week so stay tuned to see what gun sprinters are in the mix for the short distance clash on Orr Day this autumn.

The 2022 Rubiton Stakes field features just eight final acceptors including the resuming Caulfield Guineas and Coolmore Stud Stakes third-placed colt Artorius

2022 Rubiton Stakes Nominations

Racing Victoria takes the early Rubiton Stakes 2022 Nominations on the Monday of CF Orr Stakes week, the full list of entries to be published below once announced.

Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp Rating
1 116x22433x ARTORIUS C 3 Anthony & Sam Freedman 104
2 6x3121323x BELLA NIPOTINA M 4 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
3 361110x EXTREME FLIGHT C 3 Anthony & Sam Freedman 77
4 115x25125x GENERAL BEAU C 3 Mathew Ellerton 89
5 253x12938x INGRATIATING C 3 James Cummings 100
6 x567x11012 MARINE ONE C 3 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 77
7 x2159x1314 MILEVA M 4 Phillip Stokes 100
8 14x46129x MR MOZART C 3 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 83
9 114x2316x OXLEY ROAD H 4 Peter G Moody 96
10 5415×56178 RIVER TWAIN G 4 Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) 76
11 1x297x1111 RULE OF LAW G 4 Bjorn Baker 89
12 x11276135x SWORD OF MERCY M 6 Mathew Ellerton
13 x5411313x3 THE ASTROLOGIST G 5 Leon & Troy Corstens 104

Table Credit: Racing Australia.

Rubiton Stakes Tips

Rubiton Stakes tips include backing sprinters with form in Melbourne over 1100m – 1200m that have previously won at the Caulfield track.

Looking for the best out of the tougher races the previous spring that are drawn well is another good Rubiton Stakes betting tip as is betting first-up runners with a good record fresh.

2022 Rubiton Stakes Tips

Our exclusive Rubiton Stakes 2022 tips will be available below the week of the race so stay tuned.

  • To Win: #8 Marine One ($4.80 at time of publish) 

Small field and open edition of the Rubiton where Marine One looks at a good price to keep the consistent form going. The 54kg light weight of the field, jumps from barrier two with Jamie Kah aboard the classy Capitalist colt from the Maher/Eustace stable. Three-time winner from nine starts but yet to win over further than 1000m. Needs to just get that extra 100m here, which he nearly did last month at the track/distance narrowly beaten with 58.5kg. Fit, up in grade but down in weight, looks well placed.

Rubiton Stakes Form Guide

The Rubiton Stakes form guide details all the information punters need to know before placing a bet on the CF Orr Stakes Day showdown including the lead-up form and barrier draw of all the runners in the field.

The Rubiton Stakes form has stacked up in plenty of tougher Group 1 races in both Melbourne and Sydney over the autumn and spring in recent years.

2022 Rubiton Stakes Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Rubiton Stakes 2022 Form Guide will be available below the week of the race.

Rubiton Stakes Results

The Rubiton Stakes results are usually dominated by above average sprinters with previous form in Melbourne over similar distance.

Notable recent Rubiton Stakes winners include Nature Strip (2019), back-to-back winning mare Super Cash (2017-18), Chautauqua (2015), Lankan Rupee (2014), Here De Angles (2008 and 2010) and triple champion Super Elegant (2003-05).

Rubiton Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2022 Marine One Oxley Road Sword Of Mercy 1:03.28
2021 Prophet’s Thumb Bold Star Garner 1:03.08
2020 Anaheed Bold Star All Too Royal 1:02.12
2019 Nature Strip Jungle Edge Thermal Current 1:03.18
2018 Super Cash Flamberge Merchant Navy 1:04.54
2017 Super Cash I Am A Star Chautauqua 1:02.57
2016 Heatherly Politeness Just A Bullet 1:02.2
2015 Chautauqua Flamberge Atmospherical 1:02.3
2014 Lankan Rupee Iconic First Command 1:02.5
2013 Adebisi Rescue Mission Big Buddie 1:03.3
2012 Eagle Falls First Command Hot Spin 1:03.8
2011 Catapulted Avenue Solar Charged 1:02.2
2010 Here De Angels Lucky Secret Rostova 1:01.7
2009 Mind Your Head =2 Happy Glen =2 Lucky Secret 1:03.4
2008 Here De Angels Let Go Thommo Raid The Royals 1:03.8
2007 Dance The Waves Barabba Road Message Bank 1:02.9
2006 Bomber Bill Whats The Mail Live In Vain 0:56.6
2005 Super Elegant Truly Wicked Sensational Spot 1:03.4
2004 Super Elegant Ruben Step Ahead 1:02.3
2003 Super Elegant Azevedo Sir Chuckle 1:02.9
2002 Intelligent Star Bomber Bill Sudurka 1:01.6
2001 Appoint Bomber Bill Cullen 1:02.4
2000 Miss Pennymoney St Chrisoph Paint 1:02.4