The Kosciuszko 2022

Saturday October 15, 2022

The Kosciuszko is a recent edition to the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and is the key support act on The Everest Day at Royal Randwick in mid-late October.

Belflyer The Kosciuzko winners & form -

Belflyer won the inaugural edition of The Kosciuszko. Photo: Steve Hart.

Looking to challenge Racing Victoria’s premier spring races from late September – November, Racing NSW have recently added a host of lucrative Special Condition races across what is being dubbed The Everest Carnival with over $45 million in prize money on offer.

Australia’s richest race is the $15 million The Everest (1400m) and The Kosciuszko is held at the same track and distance on the same day offering $1.3 million in stakes. The Kosciuszko race is run under set weights plus penalties and is a open only to NSW and ACT country trained horses giving sprinters from the state’s provincial stables the chance to run on one of the biggest race days of the year.

First run in 2018, the inaugural The Kosciuszko winner was Grafton galloper Belflyer who took out the world’s richest race for country trained horses.

Potential lead-up races into The Kosciuszko include Grafton’s Listed Ramornie Handicap (1200m) in the winter, the Tamworth Cup (1400m) and the Country Championship series of races across NSW.

Adding to the popularity and intrigue of The Kosciuszko race, tickets are available for the public to purchase a potential part-share in a horse running in the event. The winning tickets are determined via The Kosciuszko sweep and give the winning entries the chance to select an eligible horse to race in their entry.

The Kosciuszko Calcutta Draw then provides additional winning tickets whose holders earn a cash prize equal to 50% of the bid proceeds that their horse, which is randomly selected, attracts at a public auction. A concept traditional to bush racing, The Kosciuszko auction is the country’s largest calcutta.

The Everest Day featuring The Kosciuszko takes place on the same date as Melbourne’s Caulfield Cup, a classic lead-up to the iconic Melbourne Cup on the first Tuesday of November, and the other key races on the program are the Group 3 $750,000 Craven Plate and Group 3 $500,000 Sydney Stakes (1200m).

The next edition of The Kosciuszko runs on Saturday October 15, 2022 as part of The Everest Day in Sydney. 

2022 The Kosciuszko Results

The Kosciuszko 2022 results & finishing order will be provided below once the $1.3 million Restricted event is run and won on Saturday October 15, 2022.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

The Kosciuszko Race Info

  • Date: Saturday October 15, 2022
  • Track: Royal Randwick Racecourse
  • Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: Set Weights + Penalties – NSW & ACT Country-Trained Horses Only
  • Status: Special Conditions
  • Prize Money: $1.3 million
  • First Run: 2018

The Kosciuszko Betting

The Kosciuszko betting is led by the best-performed country NSW and ACT trained horses that have experience at the bigger city tracks.

Horses with Group race experience, stakes winning form and the current season’s Country Championships winner dominate The Kosciuszko betting odds.

It’s Me ($2 in 2020) followed by Art Cadeau ($4 in 2021) are the latest favourites in The Kosciuszko betting to win.

2022 The Kosciuszko Odds

The latest The Kosciuszko 2022 racing odds will be provided below as soon as the markets on the world’s richest race for country-trained horses open.

Early market betting odds on the 2022 The Kosciuszko will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit

The Kosciuszko Field

The first The Kosciuszko field in 2018 had a capacity 12 runners. The Kosciuszko field size increased in 2019 to a maximum 14 starters.

There are no class or gender restrictions for runners in The Kosciuszko field, but horses must be NSW or ACT country trained and aged at least three-years-old.

Group 1 winners after December 31, 2018 are ineligible for The Kosciuszko field.

2022 The Kosciuszko Field

The official The Kosciuszko 2022 field and barriers will be announced by Racing NSW with final acceptances to be published below.

The line-up of The Kosciuszko horses is known once all slot-holders confirm their runners, while the barrier draw is conducted the Wednesday of race week.

The field attracts horses from all around the country NSW racetracks including southern regions including as Goulburn and Queanbeyan, to northern regions like Tamworth and Coffs Harbour.

Although looking all but confirmed, the 14 horses in The Kosciuszko 2022 field can be swapped in and out right up until 7:30am (local time) on The Everest Day.

The The Kosciuszko 2022 Field is listed below featuring horses from all over the country tracks in NSW and the ACT.

2022 The Kosciuszko Nominations

The official The Kosciuszko 2022 nominations will be provided below once released.

The Kosciuszko Form Guide

The Kosciuszko form guide provides all the must known horse stats and race facts for punters to place a well-informed wager on the $1.3 million country NSW and ACT trained feature. The Kosciuszko form shows the runners in the event, barriers, jockeys, lead-up form and track / distance records.

It is also worth following The Kosciuszko form in the following year’s autumn and winter racing carnivals in both Sydney and Brisbane, as well as the summer’s Magic Millions Carnival at the Gold Coast for eligible horses.

2022 The Kosciuszko Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive The Kosciuszko 2022 form guide and race betting preview will be provided below the week leading up to The Everest Day.

The Kosciuszko Tips

The Kosciuszko tips to take to the bookies in the spring include backing country-trained horses that have previous race experience at the Randwick track, looking for the class runners with Group race experience and those genuine sprinters that can run a speedy 1200m race.

2022 The Kosciuszko Tips

Our insider Ladbrokes’ The Kosciuszko 2022 racing tips for Everest Day will be available right here closer to the meeting.

  • To Win: TBD

The Kosciuszko Results

The Kosciuszko results show the complete finishing order of all the horses in The Kosciuszko race, their starting prices, margins and dividend pay-outs.

Belflyer was the inaugural The Kosciuszko winner in 2018.

The Kosciuszko Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2021 Art Cadeau Handle The Truth Spiranac 1:10.07
2020 It’s Me Redouble Man Of Peace 1:09.60
2019 Handle The Truth Victorem Bobbing 1:08.21
2018 Belflyer Suncraze Awesome Pluck 1:12.01