Wakeful Stakes 2021

Saturday October 30, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Wakeful Stakes – VRC Oaks double is a popular spring punt!

The Wakeful Stakes is a Group 2 race run at Flemington Racecourse on the Saturday before the Melbourne Cup, held traditionally on the first Tuesday of November, as part of Victoria Derby Day.

Victoria Derby Day kicks off the four-meeting Melbourne Cup Carnival and features four Group 1 events – the Victoria Derby (2500m), Kennedy Cantala (1600m), Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) and Empire Rose Stakes (1600m).

Also on the card are the Group 2 Salinger Stakes (1200m) for the sprinters and the Wakeful Stakes run over 2000m and open only to three-year-old fillies. Wakeful Stakes is a set weights plus penalties clash offering $300,000 in prize money and fillies often back-up just five days later in the Group 1 VRC Oaks (2500m).

The latest fillies to achieve the Wakeful Stakes – VRC Oaks double include Miami Bound (2019), Aristia (2018), Kirramosa (2013), Brazilian Pulse (2010), Faint Perfume (2009) and Serenade Rose (2005).

In 2020 Personal ran second in the Wakeful as the beaten favourite before atoning with a VRC Oaks success next-up.

The next edition of the Wakeful Stakes runs on Saturday October 30, 2021. 

2021 Wakeful Stakes Results

The full Wakeful Stakes 2021 Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the Group 2 runs on VRC Derby Day, Saturday October 30, 2021.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Wakeful Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday October 30, 2021
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse
  • Distance: 2000m
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights + Penalties
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $300,000
  • First Run: 1932

Wakeful Stakes Betting

Wakeful Stakes odds are led each Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival by smart fillies showing the potential to stay with winning form at least up to 1600m.

Previous winners in Group company over the season and those with a proven ability at Flemington Racecourse also feature high up the Wakeful Stakes betting markets, which are released on the Wednesday leading up to Derby Day.

Upsets are not uncommon in the race a recent winner to jump at double-figures in Wakeful Stakes betting was subsequent VRC Oaks runner-up Thunder Lady ($31 in 2014).

2021 Wakeful Stakes Odds

The season’s updated Wakeful Stakes 2021 betting odds and links to our markets will be provided below as soon as available so stay tuned for the best prices on the potential Oaks fillies in the Wakeful Stakes field this spring.

Wakeful Stakes Tips

Top Wakeful Stakes tips to take to the bookies on Victoria Derby Day include looking for fillies with winning form over 1600m and further, those proven in similar company and in-form Sydney visitors who have a good recent strike rate over the locals in the Melbourne Group 2.

Favourites only have a fair recent record, so looking for fillies that fit the brief further down the markets is also a good Wakeful Stakes betting tip, as is looking out for the last start winners of the key lead-up races including the Etheral Stakes.

2021 Wakeful Stakes Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Wakeful Stakes 2021 betting tips and Flemington racing selections for Derby Day will be detailed below the week of the race so stay tuned for the fillies to back and sack.

Wakeful Stakes Field

The Wakeful Stakes field attracts a quality line-up of three-year-old staying fillies, some looking to back-up on the quick five day turnaround into the Group 1 VRC Oaks (2500m) back at Flemington on the first Thursday of November.

Wakeful Stakes odds online - Ladbrokes.com.au

Kirramosa (2013) is one of the more recent fillies to complete the Wakeful Stakes – VRC Oaks double. Photo Credit: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Fillies come into the Wakeful Stakes field including the Group 3 Ethereal Stakes (2000m) on Caulfield Cup Day, which last produced recent Wakeful Stakes winner Aristia (2nd in 2018) who went on to win that year’s VRC Oaks.

Earlier, Ambience (3rd) in 2015 and Tiamo Grace (2nd in 2016) were also Wakeful Stakes winners out of the Ethereal Stakes. Ambience backed-up to cross third to Jameka in the 2015 VRC Oaks next run. In 2013 Solicit ran second in the Ethereal Stakes, third in the Wakeful Stakes and third in the VRC Oaks.

In 2014 winner Thunder Lady also ran second in the Crown Oaks. Wakeful Stakes runners may also have had a previous lead-up in Caulfield’s Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m) the month before, and in 2013 May’s Dream ran second in both races. In 2012 Zydeco won the event on the back of a Thousand Guineas third and also finished second in that year’s Crown Oaks to Dear Demi.

Wakeful Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday with the final acceptances and barrier draw out on the Wednesday.

2021 Wakeful Stakes Field

The official Wakeful Stakes 2021 Final Field & Barriers are announced on the Wednesday of race week and will be published in full below so stay tuned to see what potential Oaks fillies line-up in the event.

Wakeful Stakes Form Guide

The Wakeful Stakes form guide details all the must know information on the race and its runners including the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the fillies in the field.

Fillies coming out of the race have franked the Wakeful Stakes form in tougher races a number of times in the past decade including Kirramosa (2013), Aristia (2018) and Miami Bound (2019) who all won the VRC Oaks next-up.

2021 Wakeful Stakes Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Wakeful Stakes 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Wakeful Stakes Results

The Wakeful Stakes results have been dominated by smart fillies in the past decade, many of the place-getters from which back-up to finish in the money in the VRC Oaks next start.

Notable recent winners of the race include Miami Bound (2019), Aristia (2018), Kirramosa (2013), Atlantic Jewel (2011), Brazilian Pulse (2010), Faint Perfume (2009), Tuesday Joy (2006) and Serenade Rose (2005).

Wakeful Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Victoria Quay Personal Tyche Goddess 2:01.9
2019 Miami Bound Vegas Jewel Palumbo 2:04.4
2018 Aristia Qafila El Dorado Dreaming 2:01.0
2017 Luvaluva Glam Guru Rimraam 2:03.9
2016 Tiamo Grace Sebring Dream Missrock 2:04.4
2015 Ambience Beluga Blue Muzyka 2:04.7
2014 Thunder Lady Abduction Fenway 2:03.3
2013 Kirramosa May’s Dream Solicit 2:05.1
2012 Zydeco Maraatib Transonic 2:02.8
2011 Atlantic Jewel Rahveel Dowager Queen 2:04.9
2010 Brazilian Pulse Placement Heartsareforlove 2:04.2
2009 Faint Perfume Silent Surround Melito 2:03.2
2008 Rocha Miss Scarlatti Estee 2:05.5
2007 Zarita Riva San Katherine Gold 2:05.8
2006 Tuesday Joy J’adane Anamato 2:02.7
2005 Serenade Rose Astronomia Zenarta 2:02.5
2004 Hollow Bullet Storm Alert Mango Daiquiri 2:02.1
2003 Timbourina Special Harmony Dane Beltar 2:05.5
2002 Hierogram Its Who Deanie Lashed 2:02.9
2001 Quays Gold Lottery Li Lo Lill 2:01.2
2000 Lolita Star Lang Kwai Fong Tanith 2:04.7